Customer Reviews for

They Almost Always Come Home

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wow!!

Lets get past the formatting issues and get to the heart of this story. Loved lt from the beginning to the end. Look forward to reading her next book.

posted by 2861755 on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE Ebook Formatting, but Good Story

Very, very difficult to read as ebook. Formatting done by an ape as far as I can tell.

The story was good, told by both the husband and wife's points of view. I was able to put up with the crappy formatting because I wanted to see what happened. Unfortunately the ...
Very, very difficult to read as ebook. Formatting done by an ape as far as I can tell.

The story was good, told by both the husband and wife's points of view. I was able to put up with the crappy formatting because I wanted to see what happened. Unfortunately the author must have gotten bored or something because the book basically just ended very quickly. I think I got it as a free book, but I wouldn't pay much for it if I had to buy it.

posted by lorabele on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Really enjoyed this!

    Be prepared to get all caught up in the emotions of these characters and their walk with a critical moment and time in their lives. The author shares spirituality so easily and naturally. I really enjoyed this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed the book and over looked the formatting issues. You w

    I enjoyed the book and over looked the formatting issues. You will be reminded that you never know how much someone really means to you until they are not there. The story makes you think about your own life, marriage and the people in it. Sometimes you don’t realize what you have right in front of you till it’s gone. Don’t pass this up because of the formatting issues it’s a very heart wrenching/healing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Formatting sucks

    Couldnt get n to book after fifty pages so im done would not recommenf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Little too Long

    This was a little too long for my taste. Reason being it was a little redundant. However, some great lessons learned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    "Who else plans out the details of their husbands funeral even though he's only an hour late?"

    I thought this was a brilliant story of a not so perfect wife analyzing details of her life. Beautifully written and engaging until the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Inspiring

    A wonderful fast inspirationl read. Could not wait to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Wonderful

    So many parts of this book rang true for me. I loved the Christian aspects and I will look for more of this author's books. I enjoyed her writing style. The formatting for Nook was atrocious but it was still a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Believable Dialogue, Moving Story

    When I first met the character of Libby Holden in the pages of They Almost Always Come Home by Cynthia Ruchti, I could relate-not so much to her plight but more to the thoughts that went through her mind. As a wife and mother I find myself like Libby planning all the "what if" scenarios while worrying about a loved one that's late. The believable mental battle Libby has with herself drew me into her life, making it easy to follow her into the Canadian wilderness to find her husband. The guilt from their daughter's death has unraveled their marriage. Greg is overdue from a two-week fishing trip, and authorities assume he is a runaway husband. Not content to wait on the police, she heads out on her own. Libby has a need to control this situation just as she has every moment since her daughter's death. Determined to find out Greg's fate in order to move on, she follows Greg's route into the wilderness. She discovers for the first time why her husband loved to traverse the wild and in that solace finds God's grace and forgiveness. The story is compelling and the ending satisfying. Cynthia has captured the struggles of mature Christians who stumble during heart wrenching trials, reminding the reader of our human frailties and God's patience and power to heal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Outstanding First Novel!

    *They Almost Always Come Home* is an intense story that will resonate with many people on different levels. From the strain of a difficult marital situation to recovery after the death of a child, from the challenges of camping out in the Canadian wilderness to the challenges of disclosure in true friendships, *They Almost Always Come Home* speaks to the heart. Cynthia Ruchti tells a simple story with powerful analogies that draw vivid pictures for the reader without distracting from the message. In spite of multitudes of problems presented in the book, some remaining unresolved, the ending carries a spirit of hope and faith.

    I have recommended this book to those whose marriages are struggling due to the death of an adult child, but it's a good read for anyone to remind us to look at the other person's point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is a great read! Ms. Ruchti really develops her characters and the plot twists are great! You will laugh, cry and be touched in many ways by this great story. Pick it up, you will not regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad for a quickie, but I expected more

    The eBook formatting was a definite distraction. Horrible.
    As for the story, I'd read the other reviews and thought I'd give it a shot. However, I found my self just thinking, blah, blah, blah at certain points. The story seemed to drag more often than not. While I appreciate the premise of the husband/wife plot, i certainly think the ending, even the epilogue could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Long....good story

    Parts of the book dragged on but overall a great story line. Thank you for being free on nook!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    poignant, powerful, fast-paced

    You know those books that change your life, stick with you long after you've reached "the end," and you know you'll read them over and over? This is one of them.

    Women's fiction is not my favorite genre - I'm a romance junkie - so I always start out reading these books a little "skeptical"... well, by about page three Ruchti had grabbed me with her character's voice and the unique beginning of this tale. "I couldn't put it down" sounds so cliche, but it is SO TRUE about this book!

    THE STORY: Libby Holden and her husband Greg have a twenty-three year long marriage - but it's on the rocks, thanks to a tragedy in their past and growing distance between them. Libby's even been contemplating leaving. So when her husband fails to return from a Canadian wilderness trek - his first solo trip - her first reaction is to think *he's* left *her*. Until the evidence starts coming in...

    From the beginning, the reader knows that Libby is suffering from an event in the past, and that it's caused a big distance between her and her husband - and the reader feels every poignant emotion *with* Libby. That's the way Ruchti writes - deep so that you *are* the character and what happens to her changes your heart too.

    The visuals in this book are SO descriptive and filled with deeper meaning; they make your breath stick in your chest. There is just so much I can say about this book - it is a fast-paced, emotional roller coaster that is just wonderful.

    Highly highly recommended. I'm going to be buying copies of this book for Christmas gifts this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful and Honest

    "Do dead people wear shoes? In the casket, I mean. Seems a waste.
    Then again, no outfit is complete without shoes!"

    The first sentence startled me, but kept me reading. I was so happy to receive a review copy of Cynthia's thought provoking and honest debut novel.

    Libby's husband Greg, went camping and hasn't returned. How long do you wait to report someone missing? Cynthia Ruchti has the reader experience all the emotions and thought process someone might go through when they discover their husband is missing; but Libby has a little bit of a twist to her tale-honestly, she wanted to leave her husband before this camping trip. Libby thought she'd kept this little secret hidden. Now this might reveal it!

    Jen, Libby's best friend, tells her the police have come to her door and asked questions. Libby's worried and wants to know exactly what they asked? They can't discover what Greg and her relationship was really like! Would she be a suspect?

    The police think Greg might have left Libby for another woman, it's a natural conclusion. Libby thinks this, "If he were planning to leave me, couldn't he have had the decency to tidy up after himself and clear out the closet?"

    Frank, Greg's father says he's starting a search for his son--something's wrong. he had to get to the bottom of it. Libby goes along with things because, after all, isn't that what a caring Christian wife would do? No one would have to know she was miffed at the fact she didn't get to leave Frank first!

    There was more to this story than I suspected. Cynthia kept it suspenseful and had me guessing about Greg-the whole novel, I wondered if he was alive or dead. She did an amazing job of making me care for and understand Libby, as she goes back over things she wished she would have done differently and finally discovers what's important in a relationship with God and her husband. This is powerful!

    Nora St.Laurent
    The Book Club Network - www.bookfun.org
    Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    A Powerful New Novel by a Talented Author

    They Almost Always Come Home - Novel by Cynthia Ruchti

    Why is it that we have to lose something before we appreciate its value? Most importantly, why is that we have to lose someone before we appreciate their value? This is what I took away from the powerful debut novel by my good friend, Author Cynthia Ruchti.

    They Almost Always Come Home is a tightly written mixture of smart humor and sober life lessons. From the very first page until the last, I was drawn into the lives of its very human characters.

    I read quite a few books and many, while their subject matter is good, the writing is laborious. Reading becomes a discipline and a chore.

    But They Almost Always Come Home is neither. Cynthia's writing is so very tight, her word choice so delicate, like the painter who painstakingly chooses just the right shade for the canvas.

    The pacing is perfect. It has neither the break-neck speed of a thriller, nor the tiresome plodding of some literary novels. Cynthia carefully and methodically walks you through the real-life struggles and adventure of a woman not only searching for her lost husband, but searching for her lost heart.

    You will not only come away with a greater appreciation for the beauty of the Northwoods, you will look again at your own relationships and your own relationships, planting the seeds of selflessness and Christ-like love that help them blossom through the seasons of life.

    I highly recommend They Almost Always Come Home as a delightful and captivating summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    Keep your flashlight handy - you won't want to stop reading!

    This is a can't-hardly-bear-to-stop-reading emotional thriller. This story of self-examination, renewal and honest insight is hauntingly relevant to this era of many living alone within marriage.

    Just when Libby's quest seems to reach the point of no return, the reader is dramatically switched to Greg's side of the story, and the circle of understanding is completed. How poignant to be reminded to review all sides of an issue before allowing emotions to draw a conclusion.

    The story may be fiction, but it is so filled with reality, crisp and honest exposure of a couple's public and personal personas that one hurts and rejoices with Hannah and Greg. Further, the quality of writing and characterization compels one to look within and examine our own relationships and faith-walk.

    This is not the average superficial fiction-romance that you know will end up 'happily-ever-after", but a fictionalized intimate view of the possibilities of loss and ultimately, the hope of redemption leading to new choices based on a personal relationship with Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    From an Amazing New Storyteller

    What sets They Almost Always Come Home apart from so many other well-told stories is this storyteller's artfulness. With keen senses for the texture and rhythm of words, Cynthia Ruchti weaves scenes and characters with poetic skill. As Libby Holden searches for her husband, her refreshingly honest evaluations of herself and her marriage nudge the reader toward self-reflection. You cannot help but find yourself a co-journeyer in Libby's quest for hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5