Customer Reviews for

They Almost Always Come Home

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wow!!

Lets get past the formatting issues and get to the heart of this story. Loved lt from the beginning to the end. Look forward to reading her next book.

posted by 2861755 on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE Ebook Formatting, but Good Story

Very, very difficult to read as ebook. Formatting done by an ape as far as I can tell.

The story was good, told by both the husband and wife's points of view. I was able to put up with the crappy formatting because I wanted to see what happened. Unfortunately the ...
Very, very difficult to read as ebook. Formatting done by an ape as far as I can tell.

The story was good, told by both the husband and wife's points of view. I was able to put up with the crappy formatting because I wanted to see what happened. Unfortunately the author must have gotten bored or something because the book basically just ended very quickly. I think I got it as a free book, but I wouldn't pay much for it if I had to buy it.

posted by lorabele on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    HORRIBLE Ebook Formatting, but Good Story

    Very, very difficult to read as ebook. Formatting done by an ape as far as I can tell.

    The story was good, told by both the husband and wife's points of view. I was able to put up with the crappy formatting because I wanted to see what happened. Unfortunately the author must have gotten bored or something because the book basically just ended very quickly. I think I got it as a free book, but I wouldn't pay much for it if I had to buy it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Wow!!

    Lets get past the formatting issues and get to the heart of this story. Loved lt from the beginning to the end. Look forward to reading her next book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Formatting is horrible!

    I might have given this 4 stars but the formatting is the WORST I've seen so far in an ebook. Hyphens where they aren't needed and missing where they are needed. The author's name and the name of the book show up randomly in the middle of the page throughout the book. It was bad enough that it took away from the story for me. That being said, the story was really good, and I would read more by this author. The characters were well developed and believable, and the couple's struggle with grief and guilt seemed very true to life.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Wonderful Book!

    I really enjoyed reading They Almost Always Come Home by Cynthia Ruchti. It was a different style of book than I usually read but really, really GOOD! Many thanks to KCWC for sending me this book to review.

    The author created characters that were really believable and the emotions throughout this book just tugged and tugged at my heart strings. The scripture quoted was beautiful and very meaningful.

    At times, the chapters seemed to be a bit wordy but they are important to the whole of the book. The sub-plots and twists in this book really kept me engaged and I kept saying, "okay, I'll just read one more page and then go do the dishes". Well, the dishes didn't get done till I finished this book! :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Probably a bad copy

    Maybe I did something wrong but my copy of this book came out weird. Some sentences are centered and the next line is not, some sentences do not have proper capitalization....sigh. I give up...I am not reading anymore.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Realistic struggles

    It is not surprising that this book is a finalist for the 2011 Carol Award from American Christian Fiction Writers. Cynthia Ruchti's writing is gripping. The strong, irreverent voice of a woman who "would leave her husband if she could find him" draws the reader in immediately. Ruchtie understands the stresses even Christians feel as they confront tragedy and events beyond their understanding. There are no easy answers here, but there is a rock bottom assurance of God's presence. I could have done without the extra complications introduced in the epilogue, but Libby's thoughts on miracles and half miracles, waiting and trusting, are perfect. I highly recommend this book. It is adventure more than romance, internal struggle in the midst of major external challenges, spiritual reality told in a powerful way. And the setting is spectacular.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fresh New Voice In Christian Fiction

    This story rings true and although another reader mentioned slow spots, I didn't notice any. Sometimes a book needs a bit of breathing room so tense pacing with a few slower passages make a good read. I'm going to have to figure out how to get Cynthia to be my critique partner. I could learn a lot from her writing skills.

    Enough said about that.

    Sometimes when our friends are hit by ill health, death, or financial problems it can tear up a marriage. I was intrigued by how real Libby was. And how her mourning for loss made her unable to see the other persons suffering. I liked reading the story and seeing God work in her life as she searched for her husband . . . or his body. She needed closure and in her angst she wasn't sure which would be the more satisfying ending.

    If they ever make this into a movie it will be a tear producer. I look forward to Cynthia's next novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    They Almost Always Come Home

    When I first received my copy of They Almost Always Come Home, I thought it sounded like a good story. When I first started reading it, I was intrigued, for a little while. I soon found the story slow and I started to get bored. I was actually on the verge of giving up and not finishing the book, but a little voice told me to keep going. I mean, I really did want to see how it would send, so I kept reading. I can honestly say that if I had quit reading the book, it would have been a huge mistake. The slow spot passed and I found myself turning pages and not wanting to put the book down.

    They Almost Always Come Home is a powerful story about love, forgiveness, healing, and God's grace - all the really good stuff! Greg and Libby's marriage was on the brink of disaster and Libby's faith was running on empty when Greg went missing in the wilderness of Canada. Libby gets past her anger at Greg for leaving her, or so she thinks, long enough to go looking for him. What she finds will change her life and her faith forever.

    This book really had me taking a hard look at my marriage and had me asking questions like, "If my husband were to go missing, would his annoying little habits really seem all that annoying?" and "Would are problems really be that big?" The answer is no. This story puts perspective on those little things that seem like big things at the time. I honestly think this book can do for marriages the same thing the movie Fireproof did for marriages. God has a prominent role in this story as He guides His children where He wants them to go.

    I thought for a short time that I would not be writing a favorable review for this book, but I'm so glad I did not give up on it. The premise of this story is original and the message will have a huge impact that will stay with you. I highly recommend this book and if you come to the slow spot and feel the same way I felt, please, do not give up on it. It really does not stay slow for long and you will be thankful you read the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Very poor formatting ruins reading experience

    This book is very poorly formatted, thus destroying any reading pleasure for me. I believe, from what little I managed to read of it, that this would be a great book to read but I am not going to waste my reading time on it. I am deleting this poorly formatted book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    In the middle of reading the book, I noticed that 133 to 141 are

    In the middle of reading the book, I noticed that 133 to 141 are missing... right when it was starting to get good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    This was an amazing book with wretched formatting for Nook. I al

    This was an amazing book with wretched formatting for Nook. I almost deleted it from my library because it was so diffcult to read due to the formatting, but I kept going due to the captivating nature of the words and story. Once I was able to ignore the title, author's name, and page numbers from the hard copy book that transferred randomly to the ebook as well as same line word hyphanations, I was able to imerse myself into this story. Well done, Cynthia Ruchti! I look forward to more of your work. But please! Be sure that the next book is correctly formatted for the electronic market.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Beautiful Blend of Page-Turning Story & Character Discovery

    For years Libby Holden has languished in a lifeless marriage. More than anything she longs to escape it. Maybe then her heart will pump breath into her life once again. But then her husband Greg fails to return from a solo canoe trip to the Canadian wilderness. Is he lost? Hurt? Dead? Or did he find a way to escape their marriage before she did? Needing to know the truth, Abby sets out to find him, taking along her father-in-law and best friend. Will the wilderness provide the answers her life desperately needs? ~~~~~ I've actually read this book twice. The first time was several months ago when I received They Almost Always Come Home as an advanced reader copy. I dove into the book and was so intrigued by the storyline that I couldn't put the book down. I simply had to find out what happened to Greg. That's a good thing right? Every author dreams of writing a page-turner. The problem was, by rushing through the story I failed to take time to appreciate Cynthia Ruchti's excellent writing voice. I failed to appreciate the complexity of Libby's and Greg's relationship. So, I had to read it again, and waited for a time when I could savor each carefully chosen word. Cynthia's unique prose is beautiful and befitting of the wilderness she's describing. It's easy to visualize yourself canoeing the Canadian waters. And while you're in the wild, the reader journeys deep inside the character's skins. You feel every sensation, and hear each thought. I love Libby's honesty and I appreciate her sarcastic wit and her confused feelings. On one hand, she's worried about her husband. Is he injured? Will he ever be found? On the other hand, Libby's certain that Greg had the guts to walk away from their dead marriage before she did. She says, "I'm angry that he left me when I was about to leave him." It's a duality of feelings Libby doesn't know how to reconcile. As for her faith, it's very human. Libby's not some "super Christian" with inauthentic faith that leaves the reader rolling their eyes. This may be Cynthia Ruchti's debut novel, but it reads like it was written by a seasoned veteran. I can't wait to read more from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll laugh and you'll cry ...

    Blending humor with heart wrenching angst and with the savvy of a psychologist, They Almost Always Come Home will make you laugh and cry, and then in a heartbeat, do it all over again. As Libby examines her marriage from beneath a star-studded sky, you'll take a new look at your own. A dramatic page-turner, They Almost Always Come Home receives a very high recommendation from Novel Journey/Reviews and me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Excellent read, one that won't be quickly forgotten AND No forma

    Excellent read, one that won't be quickly forgotten AND No formatting problems that so many reported earlier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Look past the dismal formatting, please! Because this book is

    Look past the dismal formatting, please! Because this book is well worth the extra effort required.

    Several reviewers have mentioned how they don't care for Libby and her "witty" comments but I appreciated them for what they revealed of her: a woman trying to mask a grief that has turned to blame and caustic bitterness which leaks out through her comments. That caustic grief has essentially destroyed Libby's marriage so when her husband fails to come back from a solo canoe trip, she doesn't know whether to be relieved or angry that he ditched the marriage first. What she does need to do is track down what happened to him. The process of retracing his last journey, along with her father-in-law and a supportive friend with troubles of her own, gives her new appreciation of her missing husband and fresh reliance on God to sustain her in her grief.
    And despite what the above sounds like, it isn't a depressing book....the twists and turns will keep you up reading late into the night.
    My one complaint (besides the formatting nightmare which is not the author's fault) is the hurried ending. Too much new information introduced in the last few pages leaves one feeling like they aren't really sure where all the characters ended up. I look forward to reading more from this talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    good read

    Enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    A test of faith....

    Great story andlesson. Really makes you think about your own life and Gods plan. Do we listen closely enough to Him or try to answer our own questions? Wonderful storyline...enjoyed the first person writing mixed with th third person. The main charaters represent so many of our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Loved This Book!

    I could not put this book down! It sure made me think of all the things we take for granted! Hope there is a sequel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Good book

    This story was good. It made me think about things in a marriage that tears it apart, lack of communication, assuming, and not forgiving self and spouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this and couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5