Customer Reviews for

They Almost Always Come Home

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wow!!

Lets get past the formatting issues and get to the heart of this story. Loved lt from the beginning to the end. Look forward to reading her next book.

posted by 2861755 on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE Ebook Formatting, but Good Story

Very, very difficult to read as ebook. Formatting done by an ape as far as I can tell.

The story was good, told by both the husband and wife's points of view. I was able to put up with the crappy formatting because I wanted to see what happened. Unfortunately the ...
Very, very difficult to read as ebook. Formatting done by an ape as far as I can tell.

The story was good, told by both the husband and wife's points of view. I was able to put up with the crappy formatting because I wanted to see what happened. Unfortunately the author must have gotten bored or something because the book basically just ended very quickly. I think I got it as a free book, but I wouldn't pay much for it if I had to buy it.

posted by lorabele on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Wonderful Book!

    I really enjoyed reading They Almost Always Come Home by Cynthia Ruchti. It was a different style of book than I usually read but really, really GOOD! Many thanks to KCWC for sending me this book to review.

    The author created characters that were really believable and the emotions throughout this book just tugged and tugged at my heart strings. The scripture quoted was beautiful and very meaningful.

    At times, the chapters seemed to be a bit wordy but they are important to the whole of the book. The sub-plots and twists in this book really kept me engaged and I kept saying, "okay, I'll just read one more page and then go do the dishes". Well, the dishes didn't get done till I finished this book! :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    In the middle of reading the book, I noticed that 133 to 141 are

    In the middle of reading the book, I noticed that 133 to 141 are missing... right when it was starting to get good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    This was an amazing book with wretched formatting for Nook. I al

    This was an amazing book with wretched formatting for Nook. I almost deleted it from my library because it was so diffcult to read due to the formatting, but I kept going due to the captivating nature of the words and story. Once I was able to ignore the title, author's name, and page numbers from the hard copy book that transferred randomly to the ebook as well as same line word hyphanations, I was able to imerse myself into this story. Well done, Cynthia Ruchti! I look forward to more of your work. But please! Be sure that the next book is correctly formatted for the electronic market.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Look past the dismal formatting, please! Because this book is

    Look past the dismal formatting, please! Because this book is well worth the extra effort required.

    Several reviewers have mentioned how they don't care for Libby and her "witty" comments but I appreciated them for what they revealed of her: a woman trying to mask a grief that has turned to blame and caustic bitterness which leaks out through her comments. That caustic grief has essentially destroyed Libby's marriage so when her husband fails to come back from a solo canoe trip, she doesn't know whether to be relieved or angry that he ditched the marriage first. What she does need to do is track down what happened to him. The process of retracing his last journey, along with her father-in-law and a supportive friend with troubles of her own, gives her new appreciation of her missing husband and fresh reliance on God to sustain her in her grief.
    And despite what the above sounds like, it isn't a depressing book....the twists and turns will keep you up reading late into the night.
    My one complaint (besides the formatting nightmare which is not the author's fault) is the hurried ending. Too much new information introduced in the last few pages leaves one feeling like they aren't really sure where all the characters ended up. I look forward to reading more from this talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    good read

    Enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    A test of faith....

    Great story andlesson. Really makes you think about your own life and Gods plan. Do we listen closely enough to Him or try to answer our own questions? Wonderful storyline...enjoyed the first person writing mixed with th third person. The main charaters represent so many of our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Good book

    This story was good. It made me think about things in a marriage that tears it apart, lack of communication, assuming, and not forgiving self and spouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this and couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Really enjoyed this!

    Be prepared to get all caught up in the emotions of these characters and their walk with a critical moment and time in their lives. The author shares spirituality so easily and naturally. I really enjoyed this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed the book and over looked the formatting issues. You w

    I enjoyed the book and over looked the formatting issues. You will be reminded that you never know how much someone really means to you until they are not there. The story makes you think about your own life, marriage and the people in it. Sometimes you don’t realize what you have right in front of you till it’s gone. Don’t pass this up because of the formatting issues it’s a very heart wrenching/healing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad for a quickie, but I expected more

    The eBook formatting was a definite distraction. Horrible.
    As for the story, I'd read the other reviews and thought I'd give it a shot. However, I found my self just thinking, blah, blah, blah at certain points. The story seemed to drag more often than not. While I appreciate the premise of the husband/wife plot, i certainly think the ending, even the epilogue could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Long....good story

    Parts of the book dragged on but overall a great story line. Thank you for being free on nook!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    From an Amazing New Storyteller

    What sets They Almost Always Come Home apart from so many other well-told stories is this storyteller's artfulness. With keen senses for the texture and rhythm of words, Cynthia Ruchti weaves scenes and characters with poetic skill. As Libby Holden searches for her husband, her refreshingly honest evaluations of herself and her marriage nudge the reader toward self-reflection. You cannot help but find yourself a co-journeyer in Libby's quest for hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2