Customer Reviews for

They Cage the Animals at Night

Average Rating 5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    This is one of the best books I ever read. It is a heartfelt book that teaches you that there are always mean people in life.Howerever, you can find good to in your life. Jennings is a very thoughtful kid. It really impressed me. A great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Loved It!

    I read this book in my sophomore year of high school and I still like to read it! It was so touching and it brought tears in my eyes at the end. Just last week we had Jennings Michael Burch come to our school and talk about the book and it was such a great expierience! I recommended this book and Jennings' message to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Wonderful read...

    Ive read this book 3 times, and have never enjoyed it more. First time was as a req. reading for school when I was 12, and now at 20, Im picking it up again. Its touching & heart whelming. It definitely puts you in his shoes and takes you along his journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    they cage the animals at night

    i didnt read this yet but i loked at and andread the back and i was touched so when i get the chance i WILL read it !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Loved this

    This book is inspiring. I counldn't put it down. The author shared his trials and tribulations in a book for everyone to read. You will be filled with different emotions as you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book that will change you.

    I was given this book as required reading in high school. They Cage the Animals at Night is a heart warming memoir written by Jennings Michael Burch. Jennings was just 8 years old when his mother gave him up for adoption saying " I'll just be right back". As you can guess,she never did. We follow jennings through his life living in a orphanage and living in a total of 32 Forster homes. A must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Touching!!!!!!

    A true, touching story about the authors childhood. This book was a heart crusher. I cryed at the end.Read this book if you want something that is deep. It's really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    Survival at all costs

    This book captured me page by page. Ashamed of how anyone could treat a child...so innocent and so pure, it made me cry. Unfortunately, some people were never nurtured themselves to be able to care for anyone else...and so the suffering of the innocent. It took guts to relive this early life, but it is a wonderful story of hope and perseverence. Instead of sheltering our children today, this should be a reading requirement ...at least at middle school level. This child, and many others, withstood the horror that others felt powerrful to inflict upon them. This could teach great lessons in compassion for those whose lives are touched by circumstances beyond one's control. Well done! God bless Jennings and all the other children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    amazing book!

    My teacher read this book to our class when I was in sixth grade and I loved it. It was really moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    WISH I COULD GIVE 10 STARS!!

    I was blown away by the honesty and the storytelling of Jennings Michael Burch. I couldn't put the book down. The story made me want to laugh and cry many times. I wished the story was longer or it was part of a five book series so it carried on. I'm thinking about turning around and reading the story again. Job well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Excellent powerful book

    This Book Was About a Boy Named Jenny And his mom was to sick to take care of him and they took him to different homes And The Theme of the book was survival there was only 1 home he liked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    My 7th grade granddaughter asked me to read this because she thought it was such a wonderful book. She was right!!! Excellent read 'and I am an avid reader of many genre of books'. It's real - it's deep - it will make you smile - it will make you cry. And it is very uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    mind attracting book

    this is a great book that attracts your attention. it starts off a little slow but once you get in it you just cant put it down it is a great book to read and learn you will cry but i promise once you start it you cannot put it down it is very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    it was a good book...

    i read this book when i was an 8th grader last year and i just couldn't put the book down. sure it was sad but it does grave your attention. you will cry through most of the story 'like i did'. it teachs you about life and life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Outstanding They Cage the Animals at Night

    They Cage the Animals at Night is a great heartwarming book. This book will make you appreciate your family and loved ones. A young boy is faced with having to go to multiple homes for orphans and leaving his family. He will face abuse from his caretakers and the loss of many friends. This true story will make you laugh, cry, and jump for joy. It will make you look at your family and friends in a new light. This is the only book that I would ever consider reading a second time. I highly recommend this book to both sexes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Jennings the Brave

    This book is absolutely amazing! From the very beginning to the end, once you pick it up, you can't put it back down. It's a true story about a little boy who is sent too many foster homes because his sick mother is constantly going to the hospital and cannot take care of him. Jennings makes many friends, but also meets very cruel people who abuse, beat, and starve him. He is pretty much alone throughout the whole story, but he manages to get through the tough times and he learns to be brave and how to stand up for himself. There are many things I loved about this book. I liked the fact that it¿s a true story, because it lets the reader learn what these small children go through, and it may also teach others how to be more considerate. The book just makes you fall in love with Jennings, his brothers, and the wonderful friends he makes. The one thing I didn¿t like was the fact that this book is so sad. He looses so many close friends, and you can just feel the pain Jennings is going through. But at the same time, this is what makes it such a great story! I recommend this book to everyone, you will definitely enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    An extraordinary book

    They Cage the Animals at Night is an extremely good book that will keep your attention to the very end. It is a true story about a boy who spends a lot of his childhood in a foster home. This book is sad and heart wrenching, but it shows you what some kids go through in life and how they handle it. Jennings is the boy¿s name and all throughout his life he meets different kinds of people who helps and encourages him with different things he goes through. All throughout this book Jennings learns lessons that help him out later on in his life. I really like this book because it has a good ending. This is one of those books that you need a box of tissues but you won¿t regret reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    They Cage the Animals at Night Great book

    They Cage the Animals at Night by Jennings Michael Burch is a great book. This book is about the struggles a young boy has while having to live away from his family. This book really helps you realize how lucky you really are. This book is so well written and will keep you interested the whole time you are reading it. I think that this book is one of the best I have read in a while. In the book, the author describes everything in great detail. He really makes you think about how the characters in this book feel and what they are going through. This book has many sad situations you will feel so bad for the little boy and all of his problems. That is the only thing that I didn¿t enjoy. It was sad how the little boy was separated from his family and doesn¿t know why. Even though there were some sad parts, for the most part the book was great. I would definitely recommend They Cage the Animals at Night to anyone who loves to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    They Cage the Animals...is a tear jerker!

    I really loved reading this book because it tugged at my heart. At first I thought the book was going to be too sad and that I wouldn¿t like it, but when I started reading more I changed my mind. I realized that the story was about how strong this young boy was when he was going through his difficult childhood. Jennings was beaten, starved and embarrassed while sent from one orphanage to another and still managed to keep a good attitude about life. He also made a friend or two. Jennings taught me to keep a positive attitude and to have hope because all bad things will pass over and things will be okay. When you¿re going through a hard time, keep your head up. Just because you don¿t think you can see the light at the end of the tunnel doesn¿t mean there isn¿t an end at all. I would recommend this book to anyone. If you see it, pick it up and you will become hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    They Cage the Animals at Night is a great book!

    They Cage the Animals at Night is one of my favorite books. The book is the autobiography of the Author Jennings Michael Burch. He tells the story of his childhood living in orphanages and foster homes. He was abandoned by his mother at a young age and was constantly moved around between homes. The book tells of how Jennings was able to survive through this life and keep a positive attitude. The book makes you appreciate those less fortunate. The author uses very descriptive words to tell you about what happened to him, and the story comes to life. You really feel you know the people and feel very sorry for the abuse and neglect he had to go through. Jennings grew up so lonely and wanted to be loved by someone. He only has his stuffed animal for comfort. This is a real eye-opening book. Even though it¿s sad, it¿s a story of hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7