Customer Reviews for

They Call Me Baba Booey

Average Rating 4
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Very Good Book!

    You don't have to be a Howard Stern fan to like this book!! I like the book very much, and I would certainly recommend it to people. My only problem with it is that it seems to jump around quite a bit, and the time periods become confusing at points. Other than that, Gary offers a real interesting glimpse into his life.

    Baba Booey to ya'll!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Outstanding but not for mindless stern fans

    If you are just another mindless Howard Stern fan looking for a star book about him, forget it. But if you are a fan of radio and want to read an outstanding insider book, this is for you. Gary shares his life, from growing up with his weird but wonderful family, through the years when he found his love of Rsdio and got lucky to become a major force in it. This is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Pillars of the erth Pillars of the earth

    Fatal lies

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great read

    If you like the howard stern show you will love this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Good Very touching

    Goes way beyond his Stern career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Ba Ba Brilliant!!

    Gary is so honest and funny!! This autobiography is very well written and entertaining. You will find yourself laughing and crying. Gary did a great job and I'd recommend his book to anybody who likes biographies, not just Howard fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    belghh

    barferoni with cheese

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Big Howard Stern fan!!!

    The book was very good. I wish the book would of been more about the backscenes of the show !! But maybe that will be book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Great Insight!

    I've loved the Stern Show since I was a senior in HS and the day I heard they were moving to Sirius, I went with them and this book gives a fan who was not there or even alive from day 1 some insight into how things worked in the beginning. It also made Gary an even more likable "character," as I could relate to his family stories. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an easy and entertaining read about the show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    This book is a big surprise

    If you like Howard Stern and follow his staff, this is a must read. I was surprised how good this book was! If you're not a Howard fan and don't listen to his show, then this book will not be for you. But I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Enjoyable

    I am a huge, long time fan and listener of The Howard Stern Show. I've always held a special place in my heart for Gary. He takes tons of crap and keeps on going, like the energizer bunny! I never thought he got enough credit for what he does and he never asks for it. Very humble guy.


    They Call Me Baba Booey is not about Howard or a behind the scenes look at the show, it is Gary's book about Gary. I never knew how hard he had it growing up but he overcame all the blocks that were put in his path, his sick mother, losing a brother to AIDS and more.


    I enjoyed seeing a side of Gary that I hadn't seen before. It was interesting reading. Honestly thought? I think this is a book for fans of the show more than just your average Joe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    Fafa Fooey!

    For any Howard show fan this is a must read. Gives some insight into Gary and provides a fun quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Very much enjoyed reading this book!

    I really enjoyed reading about how Gary grew up, and learning about his family antics. It mad me laugh, and cry! I highly recommend it for all Stern fan's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BAAAAAAHAAAAAA!

    As a 20+ year listener of The Howard Stern Show, I have listened to Gary being tortured, teased, mimicked, etc. It has always been so funny as Gary is usually a pretty laid back guy. However; when he is mad, he lets loose like no other!

    And finally, we get to learn the reason behind that hidden rage. I never knew any of this stuff about Baba Booey's life! In the day that I read the book, I started feeling a bit sad for him. Yet he put the horrors of his childhood (his mom beating the neighbor with shrubbery) and stepped up to the plate (LOL on that) to become a brilliant (121), kind and giving man.

    When all is said and done, this book managed me to shout "Home run, Gary"! We love you, Baba Booey - teeth, breath and all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Very informative

    I felt the book was a true reflection of Gary Dell'abate's life growing up and really put his emotions aside and wrote a very interesting book. Gary gives you a lot of insight on his upbringing and went in depth with several of the stories that we know and love.

    As a Howard Stern listener, I would have enjoyed the book much more if Gary focused less on his family life and upbringing and more on the backstory behind many of the stories that were not as popular.

    Overall, great job and you can honestly tell that you put your heart into this product. Definitely shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Long time listener and lover of the show. Finished book and I loved it. Anyone familiar with the show will absolutely love this book. Interesting to get inside Gary's family and how he started on the show. Great job Gary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    Very Fast Read

    Being a Howard Stern fan for about 25 years, I figured I would like this book, but I LOVED it. I read it in 3 days. I Love Baba Booey more then I did before....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    love you gary

    love the book so far. haven't finished yet, just downloaded to my nook today, but haven't been able to put it down, on page 70 already. everyone has a story and garys is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11