Customer Reviews for

They Never Came Home

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

I think this book is a wonderful suspenseful novel! It's about two teenage boys who go on a camping trip, but it ends up being much more than that. This book was clearly written for entertainment purposes. It was probably directed towards middle school readers. This boo...
I think this book is a wonderful suspenseful novel! It's about two teenage boys who go on a camping trip, but it ends up being much more than that. This book was clearly written for entertainment purposes. It was probably directed towards middle school readers. This book was wonderful and I highly recommend it!
Lois Duncan is an amazing author! She started writing at age 13 and has never stopped. She has written many successful books such as Summer of Fear and I Know What You Did Last Summer. I am judging this book entirely off of entertainment reasons. That is because I feel that this is the reason this book was written.
The plot of this book is about how a kid who gets into some trouble solves his problems in the wrong way! He does this just so that he doesn't have to face what's going on. It also tells of all the lives he changed in between. This story is set in the Gila Wilderness in New Mexico. The story ends in California.
Overall I think this is a wonderful book full of suspense. It has a surprising twist at the end that makes you want to read more. Lois Duncan is an amazing author! I've loved all the books of hers that I have read. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves suspense and mystery!

posted by Maggie1154 on September 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

okay

This book was on over-all okay book, because the first part of it was very boring. As it goes on though, it gets a little bit better. These two boys go on a camping trip and never come home. The parents and the kids at school are very worried about them and think they a...
This book was on over-all okay book, because the first part of it was very boring. As it goes on though, it gets a little bit better. These two boys go on a camping trip and never come home. The parents and the kids at school are very worried about them and think they are dead. Until one day a mysterious phone call comes in from a guy, and from there it all goes down-hill. This book is a very mysterious book, and it seems to keep you on your toes. The characters are very well introduced too. You can understand what is happening in this book. They Never Came Home could've been better but it was okay the way it is.

posted by 1932114 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Great Book

    I think this book is a wonderful suspenseful novel! It's about two teenage boys who go on a camping trip, but it ends up being much more than that. This book was clearly written for entertainment purposes. It was probably directed towards middle school readers. This book was wonderful and I highly recommend it!
    Lois Duncan is an amazing author! She started writing at age 13 and has never stopped. She has written many successful books such as Summer of Fear and I Know What You Did Last Summer. I am judging this book entirely off of entertainment reasons. That is because I feel that this is the reason this book was written.
    The plot of this book is about how a kid who gets into some trouble solves his problems in the wrong way! He does this just so that he doesn't have to face what's going on. It also tells of all the lives he changed in between. This story is set in the Gila Wilderness in New Mexico. The story ends in California.
    Overall I think this is a wonderful book full of suspense. It has a surprising twist at the end that makes you want to read more. Lois Duncan is an amazing author! I've loved all the books of hers that I have read. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves suspense and mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    okay

    This book was on over-all okay book, because the first part of it was very boring. As it goes on though, it gets a little bit better. These two boys go on a camping trip and never come home. The parents and the kids at school are very worried about them and think they are dead. Until one day a mysterious phone call comes in from a guy, and from there it all goes down-hill. This book is a very mysterious book, and it seems to keep you on your toes. The characters are very well introduced too. You can understand what is happening in this book. They Never Came Home could've been better but it was okay the way it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    14 Year Old Opinion

    This book They Never Came Home is a good book. When Larry and Dan does not come back from camping there famil get worried. The family recived a phone call saying that Larry owes some one up to two thounds dollors. Do they find them? Is the phone tellin the truth about Larry owes him up to two thounds dollors?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Sucks

    Doesnt even deserve 1 star i knew how it ended before i was even half way through the book nothing in it suprised me at all do not waste your time reading this garbage of a book boooooooooo :(

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Okay Book.

    Overall book was a pretty good book to me. It is very suspenseful and a real page turner. This book is fiction but could really happen. I would recommend this book to others if they were looking for a good mystery to read. I liked it. The author of this book Lois Duncan who is a very suspenseful writer. She has written many other scary stories and mysteries. I have read many other mysteries books in my life by other authors but Lois Duncan is my favorite. She makes you wait and want to read to find out what happened, at least that's what she did for me. I hope you enjoy this book! `

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    They Never Came home By Louis Duncan

    They never came home is a book full of suspense and mystery. It is one the best books I have ever read. It all started out by Larry Drayfus and Dan Cotwell went on a camping trip and they haven't returned from it yet. They have been gone for about a month or so. There families are very worried about them and they are still hoping that they are still alive somewhere, they just couldn't admit to their selves that they were dead. One day the Drayfus family got a call on her house phone from a man named Mr. Brown, he had told her that her brother Larry had owed him $2,000. Is there still hope that there alive somewhere or dead?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    ¿They never came home¿ is a thriller which I can absolutely recommend, even though I usually dislike such books - except the ones from Lois Duncan!! The matter of this book is the mysterious disappearance of Larry Drayfus and his friend Dan Cotwell in the Mogollon Mountains of New Mexico. Few weeks later Joan (Larry¿s sister and Dan¿s girlfriend) gets a call in which she comes to know that her brother had a secret job, carrying jewels from Mexico to his hometown LasCruces, on account of that he owns the caller 2000$. During she works off the debts for her brother Joan discover by chance what her real job was: smuggling marijuana. In the end she finds his brother in California, because a friend of her saw him together with Dan. Larry had kidnapped Dan because he wanted to star a new life with the 2000$ in California. The story ends after Larry jumped down from the 8th floor of an apartment because of his bad conscience bothered him terribly. Over all it was interesting to read and the comprehension was mostly not too difficult for a second-language speaker like me. The only thing which was a bit confusing at the beginning was the different storylines which go parallel to each other. To me, the book is linguistically not as brilliant as some others by Lois Duncan but it¿s still a pleasing spelling style which underlines the desperation of the main characters in their particular situation. Joan, for example, is a well reared girl who just graduated which doesn¿t know much about her family. At the beginning of the book she was a smart girl but she turned sad when she recognized how less she knows about her brother and his problems. Her brother Larry seems like a usual boy who¿s not very interested in education and sports but he turned out be just thinking about himself and how he can live with less effort but much comfort, no matter what it takes for him or for other people what he regrets at the end before he decided to die. What I particularly liked were some scenes when Duncan described the settings a bit eerily and creepily. This leads to the feeling that you¿re directly involved in the story (or even in the position of one of the characters) and you can easily imagine pictures in your mind. I gave the book five stars, because the story is very interesting and very exciting and I loved each of the 183pages. It¿s nearly impossible to lay it aside because you¿re so deepened in the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    12 yr old's opinion

    They Never Came Home is one of the best books I ever read, especially if you really like mystery and suspense. I think that Lois Duncan is one of the best authors, and that her foreshadowing is unbelievable. The book was really exciting from beginning to end, and I really like that in a book. Page after page just kept me guessing,wondering, and mostly thinking, making me want to read more. I highly reccomend this book to anyone who likes mystery and/or killing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    A shocking twist!

    This is book is very exciting and will have you sitting at the edge of your seat. There is a twist that you won't believe. If you love suspense get this. It is worth reading and is enjoyable by most teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    a kid

    it was a pretty goood book, i like it but it didint have enough action i mean the most was in the end and it was that excitng.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    True Page Turner!!!

    This book really keeps you interested in reading! i could not put this down till it was done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2003

    They Never Came Home... Or did they??

    Lois Duncun has done it again! This book is intense and mysterious all the way through it leaves you thinking up until the last page and you still wonder about it after the book is closed! It also answered my question 'They Never Came Home.... or did they??'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Awesome

    This book was totally seat-gripping the whole time. I wasn't able to set it down at all. I reccomend this book to anyone who loves susspensful books. It's a thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    not a bad book

    I gave this book 3 stars,I liked it to some extent.It's a story about a girl named Joan,her brother{Larry},and joans boyfriend{Dan}went on a 'so called' camping trip,and they ended up missing.Then Joan finds out about Larry's 'little secret',and the ending will blow you away.I liked this book, it was sort of borning in the middle but i give it a thumbs up,a very good book by Louis Duncan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    not a good book

    Two boys go camping.They don't come home.One's sister finds out that he owed money.She ies to make it back.It was a ok book.It was a boring book.It had no action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    Mysterious Novel

    Two boys went camping. Then they became missing.Their families were worried. Everybody began to think that they were dead, but they weren't! Read this book to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    A good book

    This book was very good at the beginning. As you read on, it got boring. Eventually the plot of the story got better. The ending was not nearly how I thought it was going to be.Overall this book was O.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2003

    Interesting

    This is a story a story about a girl named Joan, who's brother and boyfriend go on a camping trip and ends up missing. Joan then recives a phone call, regarding her brother's disapperance. It turns out that Larry (Joan's brother) owes the man two thousand dallors! Joan now must befriend her boyfriend's brother, and keep her mother from insanity. Will they figure it out in time, before someone finds out about Joan's brother's 'little bussiness?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    Heres a little review of the book in my opinion.

    The begginning of this book was pretty good and it left you thinking that Joan the main charecter would fall in love with her lost boyfriends younger brother. As the book progressed it began to show many charecters points of views and became a little confusing yet somehow keeps you reading. All in all this was not the best of Lois Duncans books in my opinion, but certainly not the worse. I like her books that have a bit of romance added to the story and this one did allthough it was a bit uncertain untilt he end. Just read it, and see what you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2001

    Awesome!!!!!

    It is so good because you never know what is going to happen next. It is highly recomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2