Customer Reviews for

Thicker Than Blood

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A story of love, forgiveness and redemption

In Thicker than Blood, Christy Williams is a book lover. More than that, she's an antique book lover, fast becoming an expert. She works at her dream job in an antique book store, while the owner's son preps her to become a buyer at auction. Then a stolen Hemingway firs...
In Thicker than Blood, Christy Williams is a book lover. More than that, she's an antique book lover, fast becoming an expert. She works at her dream job in an antique book store, while the owner's son preps her to become a buyer at auction. Then a stolen Hemingway first edition leads her back to the younger sister she abandoned years ago, fearing for her life. Christy and May have a bittersweet reunion, but seek to discover if family ties are thicker than blood.

This is a novel that I was able to really sink my teeth into. One of those books with meat to it, if you know what I mean. The characters aren't all shiny, perfect, goody-two-shoes. On the contrary, they have messy, mixed-up lives. Christy is an alcoholic and a smoker. In fact, she nurses a bottle or lights up a cigarette pretty frequently throughout the story, especially when things get rough, as would any real person with addictions. Another thing about her is that she had been living with her unsavory boyfriend, and left him, but allows him to lure her back to his place after bailing her out of jail. See what I mean? Messier by the minute, just like real life, which makes the payoff and the takeaway all the more sweet. There's more, but I don't want to reveal too much.

Thicker than Blood is a Christian Writers Guild award winner, so you can trust its excellence. I intend to watch for more from C.J. Darlington, because I think she'll go far in the Christian publishing business.

posted by DebPiccurelli on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting First Novel

It was a good book for a first novel. I did have difficulty getting involved in the story. It seemed to move slowly but about half-way through it picked up and by the end I was definitely involved with the characters. The author has shown a familiarity with both booksto...
It was a good book for a first novel. I did have difficulty getting involved in the story. It seemed to move slowly but about half-way through it picked up and by the end I was definitely involved with the characters. The author has shown a familiarity with both bookstores, book antiquities, and ranchland living at the edge of the Western mountains, two very diverse cultures. The characters are believable and their reactions to their circumstances understandable within the context of the story. The raw emotions and flashbacks of the one sister contrasted nicely with the peaceful but frustrated emotions of the other sister who was trying to learn who her sister really was under the walled layers. I look forward to C.J.'s second novel.

posted by Wyn on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    A story of love, forgiveness and redemption

    In Thicker than Blood, Christy Williams is a book lover. More than that, she's an antique book lover, fast becoming an expert. She works at her dream job in an antique book store, while the owner's son preps her to become a buyer at auction. Then a stolen Hemingway first edition leads her back to the younger sister she abandoned years ago, fearing for her life. Christy and May have a bittersweet reunion, but seek to discover if family ties are thicker than blood.

    This is a novel that I was able to really sink my teeth into. One of those books with meat to it, if you know what I mean. The characters aren't all shiny, perfect, goody-two-shoes. On the contrary, they have messy, mixed-up lives. Christy is an alcoholic and a smoker. In fact, she nurses a bottle or lights up a cigarette pretty frequently throughout the story, especially when things get rough, as would any real person with addictions. Another thing about her is that she had been living with her unsavory boyfriend, and left him, but allows him to lure her back to his place after bailing her out of jail. See what I mean? Messier by the minute, just like real life, which makes the payoff and the takeaway all the more sweet. There's more, but I don't want to reveal too much.

    Thicker than Blood is a Christian Writers Guild award winner, so you can trust its excellence. I intend to watch for more from C.J. Darlington, because I think she'll go far in the Christian publishing business.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Under your skin

    Nitty gritty honest truth under your skin, but you have to turn to the page and find out what happens next.

    I have been anticipating this book as C.J. Darlington is such a great influence in the online book blogging and publication world. I was not disappointed. Especially as I am not a contemporary Christian fiction fan and yet I enjoyed this one and will definitely pick up future titles from C.J. Full of suspense and easily a page turner, this one goes on the keeper shelf.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting First Novel

    It was a good book for a first novel. I did have difficulty getting involved in the story. It seemed to move slowly but about half-way through it picked up and by the end I was definitely involved with the characters. The author has shown a familiarity with both bookstores, book antiquities, and ranchland living at the edge of the Western mountains, two very diverse cultures. The characters are believable and their reactions to their circumstances understandable within the context of the story. The raw emotions and flashbacks of the one sister contrasted nicely with the peaceful but frustrated emotions of the other sister who was trying to learn who her sister really was under the walled layers. I look forward to C.J.'s second novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great debut!

    Thicker than Blood was a great debut. The voice of the author is smooth-flowing and believable. There was nothing clunky or hard to understand. I loved the theme about collecting and selling old books and the story surrounding the sisters. I also loved how realistically domestic violence and alcoholism is portrayed. That was very well done.

    There are some great themes in this book and it has a solid message. I had difficulty putting it down because everything progressed in the story at a good pace. Also, when it comes to torturing her characters, CJ is a master. I felt so bad for these ladies. I enjoyed watching how God worked through their difficult circumstances to make something beautiful happen that would change their lives in the end. I really enjoyed this story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thicker than Blood...

    Christy and May Williams lost their parents fifteen years earlier. They also lost touch. The death of their Aunt Edna, will bring them back together again. However much has changed in those fifteen years. They have each grown older, of course, but they each have also had their own issues and hard times to handle. Each girl has handled their own problems differently. Unfortunately Christy turned to booze to take away her pains, and now the pain of the past and the horribleness of the present is about to swallow her up.

    Accused of stealing and bilking her employers out of thousands of dollars, Christy believes it really can't get worse, she is fixing to find out it can and does get worse. Her apartment is torched and Christy turns to the only person left in her life who might care, her sister May. However, the crazy man in her life who torched her apartment is determined that if he can't have her, no one, not even her family can.

    A book filled with the sadness of facing problems, the dangers of being stalked by a madman and the uncertainity of how her relationship with her sister can be mended. C.J.Darlington has brought a book to keep you reading cover to cover. A definite hit for this young author. 372 pages $12.99 US Available January 2010 4 stars

    For more information about this author see her website C.J. Darlington.com

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no cash or payment was recieved for this review

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Captivating Story

    Thicker than Blood is a captivating story. It held my attention so much that I didn’t want to put it down. The main characters Christy and May are sisters that have not had any contact with each other for many years. The story takes us through each of their lives separately and then what happens when they are reunited. This is a beautiful story about sisterly love and forgiveness and God’s ultimate love and forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    WOW!

    I loved this book sor much. I could not put it down. It was really great and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I also recommend Bound By Guilt. It's by the same author and just as good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Thoroughly Enjoyed

    I have to say that I enjoyed the places this book took me to. The forgiveness and love between siblings that can never be forsaken. I cant imagine anyone not loving their brother/sister as much as i love mine. Mahalo for taking into account my humble opininon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Enjoyable and easy read

    Good book to read when you want something easy to relax. It is worth downloading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Unique!

    Christy Williams has cut herself off from her family, and can't seem to find her way back. Too many bad decisions. Too many disastrous relationships. The one bright spot in her solitary life is her job at the used-book barn where she has learned to value rare first editions found at auctions and estate sales.

    Christy's life spirals downward when her former boyfriend/co-worker, frames her as a thief, and she finds herself without a job. Out of necessity, she finds refuge with her sister May at the ranch, but the rift between sisters is not easily repaired. And her rejected boyfriend is seeking deadly revenge.

    An intricately woven story of rejection and restoration, misunderstandings and forgiveness, THICKER THAN BLOOD is a truly satisfying read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Sisters

    This author knows sisters. The differences, and mistakes, that can drive them apart. The bonds that tie them together.

    And apart is what the sisters in this book are. They live totally different lives, have totally different beliefs. And something one of them did fifteen years ago ended their relationship entirely. Is reconciliation possible?

    This book is about people and problems you won't soon forget, with a message not only for sisters but for any broken relationship

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Thicker Than Blood

    This is a suspenseful story of sisters Christy and May, in very different circumstances, and how they are pulled back into each other's lives. The author weaves her own interest in antiquarian book selling into the story. Though started when the author was 15, this is not a story for young readers. The struggles Christy deals with, some because of poor choices, were vividly portrayed. Her thoughts were shared as she lived through those situations and learned to hope in God.

    I received this book from the author for my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Great Debut Novel

    In the book Thicker Than Blood by C.J. Darlington there are two sisters Christy and May that are split apart after a tragic event that effects both their lives. Christy has many problems in her life and she turns to booze and cigarettes to help them all go away. When she is arrested for drunk driving she calls a coworker Vince and that is when her worst problems begin. She has to make a decision quickly in order to turn her life around. Christy has a secret that has haunted her for many years.


    Christy's sister May works on a ranch and has been wondering what has happened to her sister. She has tried to contact her many times and has had no luck. Christy shows up one day and brings her problems with her. Christy learns the lessons of compassion and forgiveness that May teaches her. There is a lot of excitement that happens on the ranch especially when Vince starts coming around.

    The book was well written. There were many different elements included in the book such as humor, suspense, mystery, emotions and Christian values. This was the author's debut novel that was written when she was fifteen years old and I am very impressed. I hope that she continues to write, and I look forward to reading her next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tale of Two Sisters

    In her debut novel, C. J. Darlington writes as if she's been a best-seller for years. No doubt her experience as a book seller/broker and book lover have aided her, but so have many years of honing her skills in other writing opportunities. It has all come together nicely with Thicker Than Blood, winner of the 2008 Christian Writers' Guild 'Operation First Novel' Contest.

    There are heroes/heroines and villains, chase scenes, fire, threats, gunshots, injuries, internal and external conflict, friendship, loyalty, betrayal, hatred, moments of enlightenment, moments of despair. All the elements are here to make a great story, and C. J. combines them deftly. Her timing is well-paced and the build-up to the climax is maddening! The beginning seems to lag a bit, but that really is normal in setting up the story and the characters. Before long, though, it picks up amd moves quickly.


    I found myself thinking about the story while was doing other things (when I wanted to get to the end but had to do the mundane stuff); I was even imagining possible ways for it all to work out. Some of my ideas were right, but others were really off in left field, out in the cow pasture. Now that I've finished, I want to go back and revisit a few places. For me, this means it's a good book.


    This is not your run-of-the-mill average Christian romance novel, and I'm relieved to pass that on because there are so many romance novels following a set, predictable fomula. I kept looking for romances that didn't happen. I think the romance-gone-bad with Vince help set me up for that. And yet...Not going to spoil it any further. Let's just say it is an excellent Christian fiction novel that doesn't really fit into one of the normal genre cubbyholes, at least as far as I can see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thicker Than Blood: Review

    SYNOPSIS:

    Christy Williams finally has her life back on track. She's putting her past behind her and working hard to build a career as an antiquarian book buyer. But things begin to unravel when a stolen Hemingway first edition is found in her possession, framing her for a crime she didn't commit. With no one to turn to, she yearns for her estranged younger sister, May, whom she abandoned after their parents' untimely deaths. Soon, Christy's fleeing from her shattered dreams, her ex-boyfriend, and God. Could May's Triple Cross Ranch be the safe haven she's searching for? Will the sisters realize that each possesses what the other desperately needs before it's too late? A stunning debut from the latest Christian Writers Guild winner. (From Tyndale Publishing website)

    AUTHOR'S BRIEF BIO:
    C. J. Darlington is the winner of the 2008 Jerry. B. Jenkins Christian Writers Guild Operation First Novel contest for Thicker Than Blood, which she began writing as a 15 year-old home school student. She has been in the antiquarian bookselling business for over a decade, scouting for stores before cofounding her own online bookstore. She also cofounded the Christian entertainment Web site www.TitleTrakk.com. Visit her Web site at www.cjdarlington.com.
    REVIEWER'S CRITIQUE:
    Thicker Than Blood is a captivating look into the lives of two sisters, Christy and May Williams, their estrangement, personal struggles, triumphs and their reunion. But it is also a book of healing and love, mercy and grace, and redemption and restoration.
    Ms. Darlington incorporates her own experience as an antiquarian bookseller into Christy's life as her career. But when accusations are made against Christy by her ex-boyfriend and fellow employee of Dawson's Book Barn, her career seems to be over and she heads for May, her sister's, ranch. Upon arrival, Christy soon learns that not all is as it seems at the ranch.
    Thicker Than Blood will cause the reader to reflect upon their own relationship(s) with family members and with God. This book is a thought-provoking and enjoyable read and this reviewer highly recommends it to all lovers of suspense novels.
    In her unique, individualistic way, Ms. Darlington has proven that love is truly Thicker Than Blood.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    Masterfully written debut novel

    Oh my....What a wonderful novel by debut author C.J. Darlington (and what does C.J. stand for - she's mysterious as well!). I'll start with the thing that I loved the most - the evangelistic angle. C.J. created characters that real people will connect with. And these characters find out, in normal conversation, why they need Jesus and the possibility their lives have if they accept Christ into their hearts. A very clever way to get the gospel across. But even more clever because the sticking points the characters had, you'll have to read the book to find out what they were, are very common. A strong salvation message that meet seekers where they are.

    Alcoholism. Physical abuse. Stealing, Lying. Trust issues. Abandonment. These issues and more are explored in this novel. Each of the characters in Thicker Than Blood sound different. The pacing is perfect. The scenes are skillfully set (I grew up on a horse farm in Upstate New York, so I can tell you the horse and farm scenes are very realistic). And the chapter endings make this novel a page turner - one you simply can't put down.

    A unique and masterfully written novel. Get it and read it - you'll be thankful you did!

    C.J has posted the first chapter on her website, check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    strong inspirational tale

    Fifteen years ago when their parents died, sisters May and Christy Williams reacted totally different though they shared in common deep grief for their loss. May became a rancher while Christy turned self destructive with alcohol and nasty relationships with a series of losers.

    However, thirty-three years old Christy is now cleaning up her act working extremely hard at Dawson's Book Barn in Longmont as a rare book buyer. In spite of her efforts, her past indiscretions haunt her especially getting caught in a DUI on her recent birthday so when stolen valuable first editions including a Hemingway are found in her home, she is the only suspect for the thefts. Needing time to prove her innocence and having a desire to see May, who she failed years ago, Christy heads to Triple Cross Ranch unaware that her recent past will follow her there.

    Although by the book (no pun intended towards Dawson's), this is a fascinating second chance for two estranged sisters who failed each other when each needed the other to reach out of the darkness of death. May found solace in God while Christi found hers in alcohol. Fans will enjoy this inspirational tale of the two siblings although the felonious subplot seems too obvious of a solution. Still Thicker than Blood is a deep tale of love between sisters and God.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Exciting and suspenseful

    Wholesome christian story line that is exciting. A variety of cowboys, city slickers and criminals. A good read for all ages and interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Excellent

    Our bookclub really unanimously enjoyed this book ( and we don't usually agree!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Good plot. From a Christian who has not lived in that kind of world, who grew up in a Christian home and accepted Jesus at an early age, this kind of book helps me grasp more clearly the reality of a life without Jesus and the lack of understanding of God that has just been a part of my growing since young. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6