Customer Reviews for

The Thief (The Queen's Thief Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Angieville: THE THIEF

This book has been sitting on my shelf for several (we won't go into how many exactly) years. I even *gasp* had both sequels sitting on the shelf next to it. And in the interest of full disclosure, I even started THE THIEF a couple of years ago, got 25 pages in, and sto...
This book has been sitting on my shelf for several (we won't go into how many exactly) years. I even *gasp* had both sequels sitting on the shelf next to it. And in the interest of full disclosure, I even started THE THIEF a couple of years ago, got 25 pages in, and stopped. For reasons I no longer recall. The fault, whatever it was, was clearly mine because this book is the beginning of something truly special. I completely understand why it won the Newbery Honor and am very glad it did.

Gen is a thief, and a rather boastful one at that. Claiming he can steal anything, Gen succeeds in making off with the King of Sounis' seal only to brag about it to the wrong man and get himself thrown in the King's prison indefinitely. Along comes the Magus, the King's senior advisor, who pulls Gen out of prison and sets him an impossible task. Journey to a hidden temple, steal a mythical artifact, and turn it over to the King. On pain of death. A long, slow, excruciating death. Not being a fool, Gen agrees to the terms and sets out on the journey accompanied by the Magus, his two apprentices Sophos and Ambiades (or as Gen likes to refer to them: Useless the Younger and Useless the Elder), and the inimical soldier Pol.

And thus begins the adventure. Set in a world that is not quite ancient Greece but looks very much like it, it is a story that builds up slowly, but surely and I won't say that I didn't wonder once or twice if it was ever going to get where it was going. But hindsight is 20/20 and I can see now just how methodically and craftily Megan Whalen Turner leads you down the primrose path into thinking it's a simple story about a simple thief. It's remarkable, really. Because the whole thing does build up into one humdinger of a climax and by the time you realize what's happened there's nothing left to do but doff you hat to the irrepressible Gen for he completely wins the day and the reader as well. Nothing in this story is what it seems and that is possibly Turner's greatest strength. She (and her Thief) have the ability to take on any guise and pull off any ruse in order to achieve the desired result. In this case, it was my unadulterated adoration and I gave it up without even a hint of regret. THE THIEF, for the two of you who haven't yet fallen victim to this wonderful series, is the first of three books in the Queen's Thief series. Word is Ms. Turner is at work on the fourth as we speak. Thank the gods.

posted by Angieville on April 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

My Thoughts So Far

Hello, fellow book readers. I would just like to tell you my, Michaela E. Age 12, thoughts on this book. So far I am enjoying it although it does say the d word quite often and I am only in the book about PG 30. It seems well written with a interesting plot subject. Re...
Hello, fellow book readers. I would just like to tell you my, Michaela E. Age 12, thoughts on this book. So far I am enjoying it although it does say the d word quite often and I am only in the book about PG 30. It seems well written with a interesting plot subject. Reading it though now is gruesome because of the slump in the book where there is no climax. Currently if you made a climax chart it would be a straight line. I congratulate anyone who can get through this part. Just to let people wondering it is 170 pages. Hope you have found my review helpful!

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    My Thoughts So Far

    Hello, fellow book readers. I would just like to tell you my, Michaela E. Age 12, thoughts on this book. So far I am enjoying it although it does say the d word quite often and I am only in the book about PG 30. It seems well written with a interesting plot subject. Reading it though now is gruesome because of the slump in the book where there is no climax. Currently if you made a climax chart it would be a straight line. I congratulate anyone who can get through this part. Just to let people wondering it is 170 pages. Hope you have found my review helpful!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    so-so

    Basicly, this book is about a teen thief named Gen in an ancient civilization. He is freed from prison to go on a hunt for a powerful stone from the gods that will grant the owner immortality. Good Plot. Gen, also Eugenides, is a funny, quick wiitted, and cheek boy who you will quickly learn to love. There are also characters that you will hate. All characters are well formed and carried out through the entire book. The letdown of this book was the execution of the plot. I WAS BORED! Walks through olive trees, stomach rumblings, and memories of Gens past come up far too often in this story. Te only exciting part is the end, which can get confusing if you do not pay proper attention. If you are busy and cannot focus on a story well this is not for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Ok

    It seemed like the book just dragged on and there was too much of the book where the author described the background I would not recommend this book to anyone 12 and under because some of the words in this book was a little advanced

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    CLICK HERE

    What is this book about? Is it any good? I havent read it yet. The three stars is because of my uncertainty.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    A friend of mine gave me this book as a gift. Being a grown woma

    A friend of mine gave me this book as a gift. Being a grown woman I was a little reluctant to read a YA novel. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself immersed in Gen's plight. I will admit it only took me a couple of hours to finsih the book, but that was due to the story being facinating as much as it was because of it being an easy read.
    The main character, Gen, was the only well developed figure in the entire book. Just when you thought you had him figured out a hidden aspect of his personality presented itself. Gen was more than a boy, more than a thief, and practically a hero. The magus was two dimensional. It was clear to me that the magus was only the tool by which Turner had chosen to bring the queen and Gen together. The author gave us only glimpses behind the facade of the queen of Attolia, but they were enough to convince me to purchas book two of the series in hopes that I might learn more about her and Gen.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Could of Been Better

    'I didn't know how long I had been in the king's prison.' This very first line in the book was enough to spark my interest. I had to read further. The main characters' name is Gen. He is a thief who got locked up in the king's prison. After a coulple of months the king's scholar wanted to speak to Gen. The scholar needed Gen's help to steal a treasure. Gen could be freed if he helped. Gen decided to do it. Magus the scholar, Gen, and some of the kings men began their journey. They traveled for several weeks through cities, deserts, and hills. Gen was given only three days to steal the treasure before the entry to the chamber would close. You'll have to read the book for yourself to find out if he was successful. When they set off on their journey the book began to get boring. All it talked about was what the scenery was like and the places where they stopped to get food. This part of the book would have been better if they would have added more excitement by solving problems or having troubles, and some kind of action. It did get better again when Gen was trying to steal the treasure which was towards the end of the book. The thing I liked about the end of the book was all the suspense and excitement when he was trying to get the treasure. I would recommend this book to people who like excitement and books that talk a lot about scenery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Love it!

    I love this book, though it discribes their traveling a little much in the begining/middle and I think could have been more exciting in the first hundred pages, but it's one of my favorites none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2001

    a pretty good book, the THEIF

    the theif was a pretty good book. I have read a lot more books that have been more exciting then this one The Harry Potter book are fabulous and they have been my favorite since they first came out. I'm 32 yrs. old and I love action packed books, especially with magic and witchcraft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    ITS O.K

    I THINK IT IS O.K BUT I BELEIVE IT COULD BE A TADD BIT BETTER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    The Thief, stealing his way to the top

    Gen is a thief who has been in jail for years and years. He sets forth a quest, a quest for treasure. To get this treasure he must overcome challenges. Some of these challenges are like climbing a towering mountain, over powering strong guards, and over coming a thing called life. I gave this book 3 stars because it can get confusing and it is really long. The good part is about this book is the adventure, lots and lots of adventure. I would recommend this to young readers who like adventure,thrills, and chills.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2