Customer Reviews for

The Thief Lord

Average Rating 4.5
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(331)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I Liked the Descriptions...

The descriptions in the book were phenomenal, such as, 'The moon hung high above the city as Prosper rushed out of the theater. The alley's lay empty and grew wisps of fog that floated eerily over the canals.'

I just like the way Cornelia Funke ties in her descriptio...
The descriptions in the book were phenomenal, such as, 'The moon hung high above the city as Prosper rushed out of the theater. The alley's lay empty and grew wisps of fog that floated eerily over the canals.'

I just like the way Cornelia Funke ties in her descriptions with the action parts of the book, or the slow parts of the book, or for any part of the book for that matter. Without these little tid-bits of descriptive material, then there would be only dialogue, as most books do have. Descriptive writing is what makes up any book, especially this one. I like the character development as well; at first I didn't even know the slightest information about them besides their names, such as Hornet, Bo, Prosper, Mosca, Riccio, Scipio, and many more. By the end of the book, I felt like I had a one on one connection with all of the characters because gradually, Cornelia developed her characters into their personal stories, such as their real name's or where they were actually from. Although very boring at times, this book is a good read for all age groups, I recommend this to all.

posted by Artemis15 on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

from missprint.wordpress.com

At first glance it seems likely that Cornelia Funke's novel The Thief Lord (2000) will center around the Thief Lord. All the same the story actually starts with Prosper and Bo, brothers who have run away to avoid their nasty aunt who wants to separate them. Convinced th...
At first glance it seems likely that Cornelia Funke's novel The Thief Lord (2000) will center around the Thief Lord. All the same the story actually starts with Prosper and Bo, brothers who have run away to avoid their nasty aunt who wants to separate them. Convinced that all of the wonderful stories their late mother told them about Venice will be true and keep them safe, the boys make their way to that fair city.

Unfortunately Venice is not as magical as their mother had told them (at least not right away). Just when Prosper is prepared to accept defeat and return his younger brother to the warm and safe, if not loving, home of his aunt, the boys are taken in by a very unusual band of children. Led by Scipio, the Thief Lord, the children live in a condemned theater living off the riches that Scipio steals from Venice's elite. The children know little else about Scipio, but in exchange for his support and protection they are willing to overlook that small detail.

Meanwhile, the brothers' aunt has enlisted a private investigator to locate the boys and bring Bo back to her (Prosper will be sent to an orphanage). Like any other investigator worth his salt, Victor soon picks up the trail of the children. The more this trio sees of each other, the more tenuous the children's existence in the Venice theater seems. Indeed, Victor's investigation could unearth a secret about the Thief Lord that will change all of their lives. Forever.

The Thief Lord is told in the whimsical, ethereal tone common to some fairy tales. It is entirely appropriate for this story, but also manages to make it that much harder to believe that the story is real. While the book was enjoyable, it always felt like the characters were at a remove--visible but not near enough to discern subtleties.Funke describes Venice and its landscapes beautifully but leaves the characters much less dimensional

I liked that the story had a lot of twists and turns, but by the end of the novel it felt a bit like one too many turns. Funke blends realistic incidents with pure fantasy creating an uneasy combination that sometimes works well in the text and other times left me scratching my head. In some ways it feels like the first and second half of the the story come from two different plots.

After realizing that the novel was originally written in German, I suspect that the different culture and writing conventions might have contributed to my uneasiness in deciding whether I actually liked the book. In summary, The Thief Lord was entertaining and will likely please any young fantasy readers in the house even though it was not completely wonderful.

posted by MissPrint on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 479 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    I Liked the Descriptions...

    The descriptions in the book were phenomenal, such as, 'The moon hung high above the city as Prosper rushed out of the theater. The alley's lay empty and grew wisps of fog that floated eerily over the canals.'

    I just like the way Cornelia Funke ties in her descriptions with the action parts of the book, or the slow parts of the book, or for any part of the book for that matter. Without these little tid-bits of descriptive material, then there would be only dialogue, as most books do have. Descriptive writing is what makes up any book, especially this one. I like the character development as well; at first I didn't even know the slightest information about them besides their names, such as Hornet, Bo, Prosper, Mosca, Riccio, Scipio, and many more. By the end of the book, I felt like I had a one on one connection with all of the characters because gradually, Cornelia developed her characters into their personal stories, such as their real name's or where they were actually from. Although very boring at times, this book is a good read for all age groups, I recommend this to all.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC book!

    Okay, I kind of ruined it for myself by watching the movie first! However, the movie was great, just READ THE BOOK FIRST!<BR/>The book was great too, I love Cornelia Funke as an author. I strongly recommend any of her books. Especially, Igraine the Brave, the Inkheart trilogy, and Dragon Rider.<BR/>If Prosper were real, I'd marry him! :)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    At first glance it seems likely that Cornelia Funke's novel The Thief Lord (2000) will center around the Thief Lord. All the same the story actually starts with Prosper and Bo, brothers who have run away to avoid their nasty aunt who wants to separate them. Convinced that all of the wonderful stories their late mother told them about Venice will be true and keep them safe, the boys make their way to that fair city.

    Unfortunately Venice is not as magical as their mother had told them (at least not right away). Just when Prosper is prepared to accept defeat and return his younger brother to the warm and safe, if not loving, home of his aunt, the boys are taken in by a very unusual band of children. Led by Scipio, the Thief Lord, the children live in a condemned theater living off the riches that Scipio steals from Venice's elite. The children know little else about Scipio, but in exchange for his support and protection they are willing to overlook that small detail.

    Meanwhile, the brothers' aunt has enlisted a private investigator to locate the boys and bring Bo back to her (Prosper will be sent to an orphanage). Like any other investigator worth his salt, Victor soon picks up the trail of the children. The more this trio sees of each other, the more tenuous the children's existence in the Venice theater seems. Indeed, Victor's investigation could unearth a secret about the Thief Lord that will change all of their lives. Forever.

    The Thief Lord is told in the whimsical, ethereal tone common to some fairy tales. It is entirely appropriate for this story, but also manages to make it that much harder to believe that the story is real. While the book was enjoyable, it always felt like the characters were at a remove--visible but not near enough to discern subtleties.Funke describes Venice and its landscapes beautifully but leaves the characters much less dimensional

    I liked that the story had a lot of twists and turns, but by the end of the novel it felt a bit like one too many turns. Funke blends realistic incidents with pure fantasy creating an uneasy combination that sometimes works well in the text and other times left me scratching my head. In some ways it feels like the first and second half of the the story come from two different plots.

    After realizing that the novel was originally written in German, I suspect that the different culture and writing conventions might have contributed to my uneasiness in deciding whether I actually liked the book. In summary, The Thief Lord was entertaining and will likely please any young fantasy readers in the house even though it was not completely wonderful.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    The Thief Lord written by Cornelia Funke is a wonderful fictiona

    The Thief Lord written by Cornelia Funke is a wonderful fictional story about two boys who ran away from their aunt. The story is exciting from the beginning, and the plot keeps you on a cliff hanger. Cornelia Funke does a great job of creating a setting, and it is easy to relate to the characters. As a person who finds it hard to stay interested in many books, I was not able to put this book down. Although being a quick read, The Thief Lord delivered a rich plot about how a group of street kids copes in the city of Venice. There are many twists in the plot. Cornelia Funke does a good job of writing each chapter from different points of view while still maintaining the main characters. After reading my first book written by Cornelia Funke, I will be sure to pick up another book she has written in the near future. Without a doubt I would recommend this story to people of all ages. It would keep younger kids intrigued while still providing entertainment for adults.
    To summarize, The Thief Lord is a great, exciting, and interesting book that would surely entertain whoever picks it up.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    ..

    Loved this until the ending. The book was so so wonderful, and then all of a sudden near the end, a magic carousel is introduced out of nowhere...? BUT definitely worth the read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It makes you want to talk about to ANYONE

    Its about this group of kids who live in a theater and Scipio who is the leader steals all the supplies they need and some extras so that they can sell it in town for a low profit. In this enchanting tale of magic and thievery you will not be able to let this book leave your side until you get to the amazing ending which trust me is something that you will remember for a very long time. Great for all ages and a must read for anyone who loves thrilling suspense and mysterious characters.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Sorry, I liked the Ink series better, this was slower, but still okay.

    The book was more realistic than I expected, given her other books, and the characters were not as well drawn, but the ending was more interesting and exciting. Overall, it was acceptable becuase the central conceit was interesting. Something to read when there is nothing else on the shelf.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    GOOD BOOK!

    This book is really good. It kept me absorbed, I didn't want to put it down! Cornelia Funke is a great writer, I could tell from this book. I dont like alot of books it is hard for me to find a book that i really like, but this one I really liked. I really liked the story about the runaway kids and the Venice parts, like when Cornelia describes Italy and the places like the winged lions.I felt like i was really seeing them.
    Cornelia Funke is a great author and I recomend these other books, the Inkheart series (Inkheart, Inkspell, and Inkdeath) and the Harry Potter series, also the Warrior series.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Good book

    It is not working

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    As like any other book of Cornelia Funke.

    This book was full of suspense and mystery. But, like any other Cornelia Funke book, it ended with an amazing flourish. The ending was very surprising. Really,really good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book

    All I am going to say in this review sums up in that this book is that it's great. It has the suspense of a mystery but has a story safe enough for a child to read. I'm not saying that this book is just for kids, though. It's good for adults too. As you read, you will be intrigued by the 'Thief Lord' Scipio, feel the internal struggles of Prosper, and be excited by the mysteriousness of the Thief Lord's life. This book is so good that I wish Funke would write a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    This book is just amazing!!!

    I really did like it. It was a great book that kept me reading till I finished the whole book....<333333

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was VERY disappointed since I very much enjoyed Inkheart and Dragon Rider. I was waiting during the whole book for the plot to actually warm up, and it never did! I liked a lot of the other books by Cornelia Funke and suggest the author to you, but this book was one of the least enjoyable books that I have ever read!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    poor

    Too slow got to about the 20th page and couldn't keep reading it. Inkheart and Inkspell were great books so i was disappointed with Funke.I thought I would get more out of the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Love this book

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! I would recommend this book to anyone who loves reading books about adventure. There is some magic in it, but to me it feels kind of subtle, which I actually like. I never wanted to put the book down while reading it. Also there is a movie to the book and I feel like they followed the book really close.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Thief lord

    If you want to be swept off to a land of mystery and twist endings, this is the book for you. I truly loved it and I now dream of going to venice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My son had to read this for school, and I like to know what he i

    My son had to read this for school, and I like to know what he is reading so I picked it up also.

    This is a really great book about friendships and growing up (or not). My son enjoyed it very much (he is 11). It story is set in Venice, and you really get a feel of the area while reading this book.

    The story centers around two brothers -- Prosper (age 12) and Bo (age 5) who have run away from their aunt Esther because she only wants to keep Bo and send Prosper away to a boarding school. The boys can't stand to be apart and run away to the streets of Venice where they meet up with several other children. All of these children are lead by a boy known as Scipio (or, the Thief Lord). Meanwhile, the lovely aunt Esther has hired a private detective to look for the boys.

    The story line was a little slow to take off, but once it started moving, it never slowed down. It is a magical story that left me with a smile on my face. Lots of twists and turns in this story, and the ending was absolutely fabulous. We will definitely look for more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Peter Pan Meets Annie, Oliver Twist and Harry Potter Cornelia F

    Peter Pan Meets Annie, Oliver Twist and Harry Potter Cornelia Funke's
    young-adult classic, &quot;The Thief Lord&quot; is a wonderful amalgam
    of Annie, Harry Potter, Oliver Twist and Peter Pan based in the
    true-to-life fantasy-land of Venice, Italy. The story centers around
    the run away brothers Prosper and Bo, whose mother recently passed away
    but left her boys with vivid stories of a city without streets and only
    canals, boats instead of cars, and palaces interspersed with a
    never-ending maze of teetering homes. Their Aunt Esther is only
    interested in adopting the younger Bo, and when faced with the prospect
    of being separated, the boys run from their native Germany to the Venice
    of their mother's bedtime tales. The boys hook up with a colorful band
    of other homeless children, led by the enigmatic leader Scipio, known as
    The Thief Lord. Using a recently abandoned movie theater as their home,
    the children have carved out a reasonable existence for themselves,
    until Aunt Esther employs Venice detective Victor Getz to track down
    Prosper and Bo. The homeless children engender the Lost Boys from Peter
    Pan, while a combination of character qualities encapsulate Peter Pan
    himself. The story is actually quite simple and reads very quickly at
    almost 350 pages. My 7th-grade son read the book in advance of our
    family trip to Venice and couldn't wait for me to read it as well. My
    4th grader shouldn't have any problem with the readability and concepts,
    and I think even my High Schooler will enjoy the simple innocence of the
    characters as well as the solidly colorful sense of Venice that Funke
    provides. The sweet spot for the story is probably high-reading 4th
    graders through 6th grade. And I'd highly recommend this for any
    children traveling to Venice. There's a rather dramatic shift towards
    fantasy in the last third of the book. It took me by surprise, since the
    first two-thirds are quite realistic and down to earth. At first thrown
    off and not particularly appreciating the shift, I've found myself
    thinking about the conclusions and simple messages of the story and
    found myself rather liking it. While rich with the emotions of the
    homeless children, Prosper and Scipio in particular, the story is very
    appropriate for most ages, with no violence, and clear children's-story morality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    The thief lord

    The thief lord is a MUST READ.I rate it a billion stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    HORRIBLE

    This is VERY slow-moving and boring! I'm surprsed though because Cornelia Funke is an AMAZING writer. I LOVED the Inkheart trilogy!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 479 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24