Customer Reviews for

The Thief Lord

Average Rating 4.5
( 477 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(329)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I Liked the Descriptions...

The descriptions in the book were phenomenal, such as, 'The moon hung high above the city as Prosper rushed out of the theater. The alley's lay empty and grew wisps of fog that floated eerily over the canals.'

I just like the way Cornelia Funke ties in her descriptio...
The descriptions in the book were phenomenal, such as, 'The moon hung high above the city as Prosper rushed out of the theater. The alley's lay empty and grew wisps of fog that floated eerily over the canals.'

I just like the way Cornelia Funke ties in her descriptions with the action parts of the book, or the slow parts of the book, or for any part of the book for that matter. Without these little tid-bits of descriptive material, then there would be only dialogue, as most books do have. Descriptive writing is what makes up any book, especially this one. I like the character development as well; at first I didn't even know the slightest information about them besides their names, such as Hornet, Bo, Prosper, Mosca, Riccio, Scipio, and many more. By the end of the book, I felt like I had a one on one connection with all of the characters because gradually, Cornelia developed her characters into their personal stories, such as their real name's or where they were actually from. Although very boring at times, this book is a good read for all age groups, I recommend this to all.

posted by Artemis15 on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

from missprint.wordpress.com

At first glance it seems likely that Cornelia Funke's novel The Thief Lord (2000) will center around the Thief Lord. All the same the story actually starts with Prosper and Bo, brothers who have run away to avoid their nasty aunt who wants to separate them. Convinced th...
At first glance it seems likely that Cornelia Funke's novel The Thief Lord (2000) will center around the Thief Lord. All the same the story actually starts with Prosper and Bo, brothers who have run away to avoid their nasty aunt who wants to separate them. Convinced that all of the wonderful stories their late mother told them about Venice will be true and keep them safe, the boys make their way to that fair city.

Unfortunately Venice is not as magical as their mother had told them (at least not right away). Just when Prosper is prepared to accept defeat and return his younger brother to the warm and safe, if not loving, home of his aunt, the boys are taken in by a very unusual band of children. Led by Scipio, the Thief Lord, the children live in a condemned theater living off the riches that Scipio steals from Venice's elite. The children know little else about Scipio, but in exchange for his support and protection they are willing to overlook that small detail.

Meanwhile, the brothers' aunt has enlisted a private investigator to locate the boys and bring Bo back to her (Prosper will be sent to an orphanage). Like any other investigator worth his salt, Victor soon picks up the trail of the children. The more this trio sees of each other, the more tenuous the children's existence in the Venice theater seems. Indeed, Victor's investigation could unearth a secret about the Thief Lord that will change all of their lives. Forever.

The Thief Lord is told in the whimsical, ethereal tone common to some fairy tales. It is entirely appropriate for this story, but also manages to make it that much harder to believe that the story is real. While the book was enjoyable, it always felt like the characters were at a remove--visible but not near enough to discern subtleties.Funke describes Venice and its landscapes beautifully but leaves the characters much less dimensional

I liked that the story had a lot of twists and turns, but by the end of the novel it felt a bit like one too many turns. Funke blends realistic incidents with pure fantasy creating an uneasy combination that sometimes works well in the text and other times left me scratching my head. In some ways it feels like the first and second half of the the story come from two different plots.

After realizing that the novel was originally written in German, I suspect that the different culture and writing conventions might have contributed to my uneasiness in deciding whether I actually liked the book. In summary, The Thief Lord was entertaining and will likely please any young fantasy readers in the house even though it was not completely wonderful.

posted by MissPrint on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    I Liked the Descriptions...

    The descriptions in the book were phenomenal, such as, 'The moon hung high above the city as Prosper rushed out of the theater. The alley's lay empty and grew wisps of fog that floated eerily over the canals.'

    I just like the way Cornelia Funke ties in her descriptions with the action parts of the book, or the slow parts of the book, or for any part of the book for that matter. Without these little tid-bits of descriptive material, then there would be only dialogue, as most books do have. Descriptive writing is what makes up any book, especially this one. I like the character development as well; at first I didn't even know the slightest information about them besides their names, such as Hornet, Bo, Prosper, Mosca, Riccio, Scipio, and many more. By the end of the book, I felt like I had a one on one connection with all of the characters because gradually, Cornelia developed her characters into their personal stories, such as their real name's or where they were actually from. Although very boring at times, this book is a good read for all age groups, I recommend this to all.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    ..

    Loved this until the ending. The book was so so wonderful, and then all of a sudden near the end, a magic carousel is introduced out of nowhere...? BUT definitely worth the read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    GOOD BOOK!

    This book is really good. It kept me absorbed, I didn't want to put it down! Cornelia Funke is a great writer, I could tell from this book. I dont like alot of books it is hard for me to find a book that i really like, but this one I really liked. I really liked the story about the runaway kids and the Venice parts, like when Cornelia describes Italy and the places like the winged lions.I felt like i was really seeing them.
    Cornelia Funke is a great author and I recomend these other books, the Inkheart series (Inkheart, Inkspell, and Inkdeath) and the Harry Potter series, also the Warrior series.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My son had to read this for school, and I like to know what he i

    My son had to read this for school, and I like to know what he is reading so I picked it up also.

    This is a really great book about friendships and growing up (or not). My son enjoyed it very much (he is 11). It story is set in Venice, and you really get a feel of the area while reading this book.

    The story centers around two brothers -- Prosper (age 12) and Bo (age 5) who have run away from their aunt Esther because she only wants to keep Bo and send Prosper away to a boarding school. The boys can't stand to be apart and run away to the streets of Venice where they meet up with several other children. All of these children are lead by a boy known as Scipio (or, the Thief Lord). Meanwhile, the lovely aunt Esther has hired a private detective to look for the boys.

    The story line was a little slow to take off, but once it started moving, it never slowed down. It is a magical story that left me with a smile on my face. Lots of twists and turns in this story, and the ending was absolutely fabulous. We will definitely look for more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Peter Pan Meets Annie, Oliver Twist and Harry Potter Cornelia F

    Peter Pan Meets Annie, Oliver Twist and Harry Potter Cornelia Funke's
    young-adult classic, "The Thief Lord" is a wonderful amalgam
    of Annie, Harry Potter, Oliver Twist and Peter Pan based in the
    true-to-life fantasy-land of Venice, Italy. The story centers around
    the run away brothers Prosper and Bo, whose mother recently passed away
    but left her boys with vivid stories of a city without streets and only
    canals, boats instead of cars, and palaces interspersed with a
    never-ending maze of teetering homes. Their Aunt Esther is only
    interested in adopting the younger Bo, and when faced with the prospect
    of being separated, the boys run from their native Germany to the Venice
    of their mother's bedtime tales. The boys hook up with a colorful band
    of other homeless children, led by the enigmatic leader Scipio, known as
    The Thief Lord. Using a recently abandoned movie theater as their home,
    the children have carved out a reasonable existence for themselves,
    until Aunt Esther employs Venice detective Victor Getz to track down
    Prosper and Bo. The homeless children engender the Lost Boys from Peter
    Pan, while a combination of character qualities encapsulate Peter Pan
    himself. The story is actually quite simple and reads very quickly at
    almost 350 pages. My 7th-grade son read the book in advance of our
    family trip to Venice and couldn't wait for me to read it as well. My
    4th grader shouldn't have any problem with the readability and concepts,
    and I think even my High Schooler will enjoy the simple innocence of the
    characters as well as the solidly colorful sense of Venice that Funke
    provides. The sweet spot for the story is probably high-reading 4th
    graders through 6th grade. And I'd highly recommend this for any
    children traveling to Venice. There's a rather dramatic shift towards
    fantasy in the last third of the book. It took me by surprise, since the
    first two-thirds are quite realistic and down to earth. At first thrown
    off and not particularly appreciating the shift, I've found myself
    thinking about the conclusions and simple messages of the story and
    found myself rather liking it. While rich with the emotions of the
    homeless children, Prosper and Scipio in particular, the story is very
    appropriate for most ages, with no violence, and clear children's-story morality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    You should buy!

    It is a great story of two kids who ran away and are on the constant run from being found. The movies not as good but gives you an idea of what the characters are like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke is a dramatic book that tells t

    The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke is a dramatic book that tells the story of 2 kids. The book is great. It tells the story in Venice, Italy, and
     describes the city in great detail. If you like interesting novels this is a great book for you. Throughout the story you learn a lot about the
    different characters, and about how powerful friendship is. The book is great and tells a lot about the kids, and their friends. In the story
     the 2 boys ran away from home, and went to live with several other kids in an abandoned theater. A detective is hired to find them, and
     they must do whatever it takes to not get caught, while getting food, and water. They steal things in order to survive, and then pawn them.
     There are many twists, and many things the kids must do to stay alive. The story is very mysterious, and adventurous. I liked the writing
     style, and the story line, but I dislike how long it takes before the story becomes interesting and intrigues you. I would give the book four
    out of five stars because it was a great, and interesting book, but was boring at the beggining. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good

    First hearing about the movie, got the book and found it to be a really good read. The setting was also really good, especially in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Its a good book so far

    I think you should read the book if you tike myrstrey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Cool

    Bo and prosper 2 children run away from their home - - - goog book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Awesome

    This book was full of action & adventure, but with kids! It also had a hypnotic twist that was mind blowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Good...so far

    I think that this is a great book so far. The only problem is that the author has not yet mentioned if Scipio (The Theif Lord) is a girl or boy. Also I can not figure out why Prosper and Boniface's aunt only wants to adopt Bo, but not Prosper. I, personally think that she should adopt bith Prosper and Boniface.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Awesome book!!!

    This s a very detailed and descriptive book. All ages can read it and it would be a good booi for at noght to read or to be read to. This is although cpming frpm and 11 year old... but to me every book is an adventure, and this book was an adventure plus some. I love the author that wrote this book. I would recomend this book to young and old readers. I left one star off because I felt that it needed some connection to the reader. Somethibg that said oh hey this book deserves a perfect five stars. When a book has that perfect connection with the reader it means everything. A connection when the reader understands what it is like and kns the feeling. When a reader can say hey I know that feeling. Awesome book only pne improvmet I would make. I think it was almost perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Okay

    The book was awesome!!!! I love all Funke's books. The only thing I didn't like about the book was the Thief Lord became a detective and stayed a grown man, which totally sucked -.- AND redbeard took the name The Thief Lord which completely ticked me off. But the rest was good.

    -Inkheartlover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    My son liked this book very much. It has an interesting story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This riviting book takes place in senic Florence, Italy. It has a wonderful message. It is a clean book, and has no inapropriate content. I think children will learn that keeping secrets can be harmful, and that sometimes it is good to be a kid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Team peeta scavenger hunt clue #2

    The first clue was on twilight the second one. The next clue is on heartless.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Great book .

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Very good!

    If ur lookin for a good book, read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Concealed.

    *Exciting. *The pace of the storyline picks up once you read until chapter 17. *Some truly fascinating facts are concealed, and then revealed at this point in the novel; chapter 17 speeds up the adventure and action. *Your imagination will "run wild" with this work of fiction and you will want to know the outcome of this mystery. The suspense will keep you turning pages in amazement. *A delightful tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5