Customer Reviews for

Thief of Shadows (Maiden Lane Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I feel like I've been waiting for this book for forever! After w

    I feel like I've been waiting for this book for forever! After what felt like a lifetime, I have read, finished and loved Thief of Shadows!

    The fourth book in The Maiden Lane series, Thief of Shadows finally focuses on the Ghost of St. Giles, who was revealed in the previous book (Scandalous Desires, which has been my favorite book of the series) to be none other than Winter Makepeace, the staid and respectable headmaster of the Home for Unfortunate Infants and Foundling Children, located in London's most notorious slum.

    Who would have thought right? When I first met Winter it was in the first pages of Wicked Intentions, the first book in The Maiden Lane series. He was described as tall, with a long, thin face and he wore ill fitting clothing. Hardly the description of a character like the Ghost of St. Giles. As the series progressed however, there were more and more signs that the Ghost was one of the reoccurring characters and I became anxious to know his identity.

    Once the identity of the Ghost was revealed, I admit I was a little surprised, amused and downright impatient to read Thief of Shadows.

    The transition between Scandalous Desires into Thief of Shadows was smooth and evenly paced, there was no long, drawn out summary of the previous 3 books which I appreciated because too much rehashing of previous books takes up too much time and space that is better used for telling a new story.

    I've been a fan of Elizabeth Hoyt's for some time. She has the most physically interesting characters and engaging story lines I've ever had the pleasure of reading. Her characters are not always classically beautiful, sometimes they have a physical feature that ordinarily would be reserved for a side kick or another minor character, however Elizabeth's writing is so full of emotion and realism that any physical "flaws" are forgotten because you're too busy falling in love with the characters she's created. Her stories are heart wrenching at times and make them all the more memorable and enjoyable.

    Thief of Shadows is no exception. The Ghost of St Giles is a hero, but Elizabeth Hoyt never makes him into an untouchable, impenetrable, larger than life creature. The reader is constantly reminded that he is a man of flesh and blood and emotions that have been kept locked away for too long. She focuses more on who he really is, Winter Makepeace, a noble, self-sacrificing man who is terribly lonely.

    Naturally, the woman who captures Winter's attention had to be a rather unique lady and quite the opposite of Winter himself. Enter Isabel, Lady Beckinhall who is everything Winter is not, social, friendly, older, flirtatious, experienced and entirely too curious for her own good.

    The banter between Winter and Isabel is something I looked forward to from the very first scene in Thief of Shadows. Suggestive, humorous and at times revealing, each scene between the two was well written and better than the one before. I thoroughly enjoyed reading their interactions, even when they were laced with insults. It made the sparks between the two more palatable and that's what makes a great romance story right? If you thought Elizabeth Hoyt's other books were hot, let me just say that this one makes the rest look like cream puffs. It's that sexy.

    Thief of Shadows definitely has more action and danger than its predecessors did and while that might not work for some people, it was a vital part of this particular book's success. What would the Ghost of St. Giles be without a villain or two to vanquish? Or a mystery to solve? He would be a boring, one dimensional character not worth remembering. Even as the Ghost himself overcomes enemy after enemy, it is Winter who faces the biggest challenges, he must become a better man, a living man instead of just existing as he was for so many years, only, he can't hide behind the Ghost's mask as he tries to rejoin the living.

    Isabel is as strong as heroines come in books. She's not the feistiest female or the boldest seductress we've seen, she's worse. She's an intelligent female with resources and hidden courage that even she doesn't know about until it's put to the test. A perfect match for Winter, even if neither knows it.

    By far, Thief of Shadows is the best book out of the series, I was afraid that all the build up in the previous books would come to nothing in this one but I should have known better. Elizabeth Hoyt doesn't disappoint readers with Thief of Shadows and she yet again begins the buildup for the next book in the series. Thief of Shadows is more action packed and steamier than the other books, when I finished reading it, I was an incoherent, babbling mess that desperately wanted a cigarette.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. one of the be

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. one of the better summer reads I enjoyed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and action packed!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    A MASKED MAN . . . Winter Makepeace lives a double life. By day he's the stoic headmaster of a home for foundling children. But the night brings out a darker side of Winter. As the moon rises, so does the Ghost of St. Giles-protector, judge, fugitive. When the Ghost, beaten and wounded, is rescued by a beautiful aristocrat, Winter has no idea that his two worlds are about to collide. A DANGEROUS WOMAN . . . Lady Isabel Beckinhall enjoys nothing more than a challenge. Yet when she's asked to tutor the Home's dour manager in the ways of society-flirtation, double-entendres, and scandalous liaisons-Isabel can't help wondering why his eyes seem so familiar-and his lips so tempting. A PASSION NEITHER COULD DENY During the day Isabel and Winter engage in a battle of wills. At night their passions are revealed . . . But when little girls start disappearing from St. Giles, Winter must avenge them. For that he might have to sacrifice everything-the Home, Isabel . . . and his life.

    REVIEW: I adored this book! One word would sum it up entirely….WOW. The structure of the book was phenomenal and provided the reader with just the right amount of romance, sensuality, comedy and suspense. Ms. Hoyt did a great job in building the tension not only between these two but also on the secondary plot occurring behind the scenes. The work that went into creating drama in this story was simply amazing.

    I loved the two lead characters and love the interesting twist Ms. Hoyt did with the two of them. It was amazing how she brought two people from two entirely different backgrounds together. The surprise that occurred with these two was a knockout and the pairing simply terrific.

    The plot occurring behind the scenes was superb and gave the reader an insight into just how things were back in the days. I loved the fairy tale that ran along the actually story and found myself turning the pages wanting so much more.

    All in all, five out of five stars for a job well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I just love Elizabeth Hoyt! I also love this series and have already ordered her next book from it. Her characters are funny and so real. Mary Darling just won my heart. I also love the way her books end (happily). You won't be disappointed in this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    I have read many books by Elizabeth Hoyt and they just get better and better.

    Thief of Shadows is the fourth book in the Maiden Lane series. Even though I haven’t read the other three. I wasn’t ever lost and I never thought that I was missing anything. I love reading a series like this.

    Isabel is a woman who never shows her true face to anyone. She is a very strong willed woman who loves to read mysteries instead of romance. She is unlike any woman of the ton. She is a widow and is left with enough money that she can buy whatever she wants.

    Winter is a man who is living a double life. He is the Ghost of St. Giles, and he is also the manager of the home for infants and children. He has vowed to never get married and to help St. Giles and the kids that he is in charge of.

    When these two meet it is because the Ghost of St. Giles is wounded for saving a man from hanging. Isabel doesn’t know who the man is under the mask. I loved watching Isabel and Winter fall in love. They both fight it, and have different reasons for doing so.

    Isabel is an aristocrat and her husband had a child with his mistress. She doesn’t find this out until after he’s dead. I feel so sorry for Isabel because she has suffered four miscarriages and can never get pregnant again. She has vowed to just take in lovers and to never love and marry another man.

    Winter has vowed to never have anything to do with a woman so in other words he’s in his twenties and is still a virgin. He has a lot of responsibilities on his shoulders. Little does he know that he won’t be able to fight Isabel. When she finds out who he truly is all bets are off. She was supposed to tutor him on how to act a gentleman in public. She ends up being his tutor in sexual matters.

    Winter has to decide on what he should do. Should he fight for Isabel or should he try to find the girls that keeps coming up missing.

    I can honestly say that I really enjoyed Thief of Shadows. It has one sex scene that some might call a little dark, when Winter lets his beast out. I enjoyed it because I never knew what was going to happen next.

    Thanks Elizabeth for taking me on this wonderful journey.


    Favorite Quote: He pulled away, only far enough to whisper with smiling lips, “You’ve well and truly compromised me this time, Lady Beckinhall. I think you ought to save my poor reputation and marry me.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Truly magnificent novels

    I have read the first four in this series and I can't wait to start the fifth. Ms Hoyt's writing is terrific and you really lose yourself in her stories. I have read many historical romances but these are the first where the voices as I read are in period diction. I can hear the acents as if I were watching the characters live. She has done a terrrific job placing the reader in the period. Love this series and I can't wait go read more by this truly gifted author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Wow!

    Had not read this author before...and wasn't expecting much, but I was incredibly surprised. I tend to like my heroes to be experienced, strong, and independent but a little surprised at how much they actually need the heroine. Winter (the hero) has never allowed himself to love a woman or even have relations with one, but inexplicably finds himself quite taken with Isabel. This was not only an interesting reversal of roles, but also Isabel has the money and social standing while Winter is from a different social class. Though this plays into the angst in the relationship it in no way overshadows the story. The sexual tension and passion between the main characters is quite amazing. Would highly recommend. Look forward to reading more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Great series

    Worth the read-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Wicked Intentio

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt
    Book Four of the Maiden Lane series
    Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
    Publication Date: June 26, 2012
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: Publisher - won a giveaway

    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    A MASKED MAN . . . 

    Winter Makepeace lives a double life. By day he's the stoic headmaster of a home for foundling children. But the night brings out a darker side of Winter. As the moon rises, so does the Ghost of St. Giles-protector, judge, fugitive. When the Ghost, beaten and wounded, is rescued by a beautiful aristocrat, Winter has no idea that his two worlds are about to collide.

    A DANGEROUS WOMAN . . .

    Lady Isabel Beckinhall enjoys nothing more than a challenge. Yet when she's asked to tutor the Home's dour manager in the ways of society-flirtation, double-entendres, and scandalous liaisons-Isabel can't help wondering why his eyes seem so familiar-and his lips so tempting.

    A PASSION NEITHER COULD DENY

    During the day Isabel and Winter engage in a battle of wills. At night their passions are revealed . . . But when little girls start disappearing from St. Giles, Winter must avenge them. For that he might have to sacrifice everything-the Home, Isabel . . . and his life.


    What I Liked:

    I did like this book, but not as much as the odd numbers of this series. The protagonists had strong personalities in this book, and definitely fit well together. I usually love the hero, and in this case, it was no different with Winter Makepeace.

    Winter is different from the other heroes of the series, because he isn't a lord, or a Duke, or some rich and mighty noble. He's a poor schoolteacher and orphan home manager. He has so much depth, but in a different way from the other male protagonists of the series. His background isn't troubled or dark (though he thinks it is), but he is filled with angst and bitterness from his work as the Ghost. Winter is so complex; he feels he has to save everyone, but he can't save himself from his depressive ways.

    Isabel is a feisty heroine, and a good match for Winter. She is different from the other heroines, save Hero, because she is a lady of rank. Maybe this is my problem with the even numbered-books? They're of ladies of rank, not poor ladies. But then. Book Five deals with Lady Margaret, so maybe not. Anyway. Isabel is a widow, and she has her own problems. I like her with Winter.

    The chemistry and romance between these two are different, because of Isabel's situation, and Winter's situation (not telling!). But, I found it at times endearing, and a tad irritating. It didn't take away from my overall opinion of the book though. 

    Another fabulous ending! I already knew the ending to this particular book, as I read Book Five before I read any of the other books. It was an excellent ending, and I am happy that this book was so fulfilling!


    What I Did Not Like:

    This book wasn't my favorite of the series. Like Book Two, I didn't really connect with the heroine. I didn't really feel Isabel as a person, and I didn't really like her intrusiveness. It just didn't work for her.

    I was also a tiny bit bored at times. Winter isn't your, um, typical male, so the chemistry between the two characters is different. Sometimes, it's a good different, but other times, not really.

    Otherwise, I really liked this books :)


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES! It's not my favorite (that would probably be Book One, Book Three, or Book Five), but I really liked this book. As always, this series is a fine example of amazing historical romance.


    Rating:

    4 stars. This one was excellent, as was the rest of the series, but it wasn't my favorite. It's definitely a great addition to the series though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Excellent Romance

    Really enjoyable characters. Not your usual innocent maiden and experienced rake historical romance - in fact, something of a role reversal... Note that sensitivity and inexperience does not in any way take away from the strong, courageous, and very masculine hero. Steamy romance, interesting storyline, plenty of action and adventure. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    THE SECOND BOOK IN A SERIES BY ELIZABETH HOYT

    Very good read. Most of the time I couldnt put it down,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    i love this series as i love this author. this is a great additi

    i love this series as i love this author. this is a great addition to the on-going story.ms hoyt's plots and characters are always well written with little deus ex machina events occuring too often in romance novels these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Read this more b/c I like the series

    I have enjoyed this whole series. This one was good but not as engaging as the others. That may just be me...I am not as interested in the emotionally torn heros. That being said, the characters are great and it is as well written as you would expect from Hoyt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Genesis vargas

    I want to know if this book is good and if kids could read this book or only adults like us my age is49and what is this book about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Favorite author.

    Elizabeth Hoyt is a fantastic writer. I preorder all her books and then I wait til the perfect time to read them. I just want to get lost in the story. The story is always fantastic and the fairytale chapter headings are wonderful. If only all authors had her gift of storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Terrific Change-Up!

    I have become so used to heroes of historical romances being rogues, scoundrels, and seducers of innocent, virginal heroines that I was thrown for a loop by this excellent story. Elizabeth Hoyt has written some very good stories with interesting characters in this series. Looking forward to the next book in the series, which is different for me in that I usually hate serials.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Read this book!

    With deep characters and uncommon plot lines this story like the others in the Maiden Lane series is very hard to put down or part with once you are done reading it. Cannot wait to "hear" Asa's story, which I hope is next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    LOVED this Series and really LOVED THIS BOOK!

    This book was the culmination of the other books of this series and it was the best by miles.

    I couldn't wait to read the next page and find out what happens next. The way the main characters evolve and learn to work together is great.

    This is a keeper on my Nook! IF it were a book--it would be a keeper on my dusty shelf on my big bookcase! LOVE this book and my Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Shadowclan territory

    Stay off

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Maiden Lane Series Best By Far

    I loved the Mikey O'Conner story but this is my favorite hands down. Winter Makepeace is a gem. Love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3