Customer Reviews for

The Thin Executioner

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Gruesome and Uncompromising

The book The Thin Executioner is not for the fainthearted. In it, we follow the journey of a young man named Jebel Rum. Jebel lives in a world shockingly different from our own, in a country where compassion and kindness are shameful signs of weakness. Where over all th...
The book The Thin Executioner is not for the fainthearted. In it, we follow the journey of a young man named Jebel Rum. Jebel lives in a world shockingly different from our own, in a country where compassion and kindness are shameful signs of weakness. Where over all things, cruelty and bloodshed is honored. Where only the ruling Lord of the city is higher in rank than the Executioner.
Jebel's father has been the Executioner for many years and he is about to retire. Jebel has always been thin and lanky, not like his well-muscled brothers, and knows that he won't have any chance of winning his father's post as he is. Vying for his father's station, he starts out on a quest to travel to the sacred mountain of the fire god, where he will offer a human sacrifice and hope he is granted invincibility.
This story is brutal and shocking in the way it presents human suffering. It is an unrestricted, abrasive, gruesome telling of an alien society and perspective. It was captivating, in a dark way. There is no goodhearted protagonist, no evil villain to fight against, and no understanding people to help along the way. It is harsh wakeup call from all the fluffy feel-good books with happy endings.
I wasn't sure how I felt about this book until I finished it. I was shell-shocked and almost offended at how brutally straightforward this book was. Now, having had time to think about it, I decided that I like how the author was unwilling to dilute the horrors of this book. Even so, I would never recommend this book to anyone younger than 15 years old.

posted by 901470 on September 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mom wont let me get it

I have read some of the cirque du freak series highly recomend

posted by 15569873 on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!

    This is an unbelievably amazing novel! Jebel Rum begins a year long journey that changes his life and his essential character. On the journey Jebel loses his bigotry, religious intolerance and his cultural beliefs through brutal trials and experiences. His eyes are opened and his old self stripped away. I was blown away by this book and highly recommend it to everyone!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    Gruesome and Uncompromising

    The book The Thin Executioner is not for the fainthearted. In it, we follow the journey of a young man named Jebel Rum. Jebel lives in a world shockingly different from our own, in a country where compassion and kindness are shameful signs of weakness. Where over all things, cruelty and bloodshed is honored. Where only the ruling Lord of the city is higher in rank than the Executioner.
    Jebel's father has been the Executioner for many years and he is about to retire. Jebel has always been thin and lanky, not like his well-muscled brothers, and knows that he won't have any chance of winning his father's post as he is. Vying for his father's station, he starts out on a quest to travel to the sacred mountain of the fire god, where he will offer a human sacrifice and hope he is granted invincibility.
    This story is brutal and shocking in the way it presents human suffering. It is an unrestricted, abrasive, gruesome telling of an alien society and perspective. It was captivating, in a dark way. There is no goodhearted protagonist, no evil villain to fight against, and no understanding people to help along the way. It is harsh wakeup call from all the fluffy feel-good books with happy endings.
    I wasn't sure how I felt about this book until I finished it. I was shell-shocked and almost offended at how brutally straightforward this book was. Now, having had time to think about it, I decided that I like how the author was unwilling to dilute the horrors of this book. Even so, I would never recommend this book to anyone younger than 15 years old.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    WOW- but for older readers

    This is amazing but if you'rre under 14 don't read it,for example in one scene an executiner who was malpracticed tried to cut a guys head off and missed the neck and hit his head but he was still alive he was screaming he kept hitting the guys nck but he wouldn't die so when itwas hanging by a thread he ripped it off! They spared no details either but I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    A hard read, but a good one.

    Among the Um Aineh, being the son of the executioner is almost as good as being the son of the king. In a world of warriors where strength and honor are valued above all, even the youngest son of the executioner, Jebel Rum, can't get the respect he thinks he deserves with a tiny frame. He sets off on a quest to save his honor, a quest that will require him to travel the length of Makhras with a slave by his side, a slave he must sacrifice to Sabbah Eid. In return he'll be granted invincibility that will allow him to beat any man in competition or combat and gain the confidence and respect of his father and his people.

    The society in which Jebel has been raised is exceedingly violent. The executioner is an exalted member of society in the way that movie stars are exalted in ours. They are not only men who mete out "justice," but also the providers of entertainment. Anyone convicted of any crime is executed; there are no jails and little regard for human life. Slaves aren't even considered human. Slaves live in their own section of the city where the living conditions are very degraded, can be beaten without recourse, and can be sentenced to death at the wish of their owner for any reason or none at all. Tel Hesani volunteers to accompany Jebel on his quest, knowing he will be executed at the end of it, to free his wife and children from this existence.

    Once Jebel and Tel Hesani are on the road, Jebel depends on Tel Hesani's knowledge of the world and other people in it to survive, but still treats him with disdain. Because Jebel is eager to spend time with people like himself, meaning not slaves like Tel Hesani, they end up in quite a few compromising situations. The trials and tribulations add up quickly, much more quickly than the change of heart I was expecting from Jebel. Tel Hesani saves him time and time again, and yet he's still valued as slightly more than a piece of dirt by Jebel. Jebel's attitude is a lot to take. It isn't until Jebel and Tel Hesani are separated and Jebel gets to experience the life of a slave for himself that his ideas about slavery, human life, and Tel Hesani begin to change. When they're finally reunited, they continue on the quest, but Jebel (finally) seriously doubts whether he'll be able to kill Tel Hesani in the name of a god he's not sure is real in exchange for supernatural powers that may or may not exist.

    The Thin Executioner is a long book, and I think that a lot of the obstacles Jebel and Tel Hesani meet on their way to Sabbah Eid could have been cut out without risking important plot points or character development. Still, it can be a gripping story. I had a hard time being in Jebel's head for so much of the book when he was such a self-centered jerk, but the payout is worth it in the end.

    If LibraryThing is to be believed, Shan dedicated this book to the country of Jordan "which inspired much of this book's setting and plot, and whose landmarks provided the names of all the characters (with three exceptions) and places" (my ARC doesn't have the dedications page). Jebel also describes his crush as "a beautiful dark brown color" (2).* Based on this and a vague memory of a description of Jebel himself, I'm thinking Jebel and the rest of the Um Aineh aare middle eastern, making this a fantasy book featuring POC! A rare and wonderful thing!


    Book source: ARC provided by publisher via yalsa-bk.

    * All quotes and page numbers are taken from an ARC and

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Mom wont let me get it

    I have read some of the cirque du freak series highly recomend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Home Run

    I have read the Demonata series and the Cirque series and they were both fantastic. I love how they all tied together so well, and the gruesome Macabre that makes them all so famous. I was unsure about the book before I read it because it was not a series, which seems to be Shan's strong suit. I will admit, I was proven wrong. Even though this is definitely one of his longer books, he made it work. Jebel is a character that many people can empathize with.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for Teens Read Too

    Regardless of his size, Jebel Rum has always wanted to be the successor of his father as the executioner for his tribe, a profession that is somewhat honored and entertaining. It doesn't help when you have two older brothers who would be better fitted for the job. To make things worse, Jebel's dreams are quickly crushed when his own father does not see him as a contender. What is Jebel's solution to this problem? Find the god who will give him the power of invincibility, which will ultimately help him win the tournament against his brothers that will make him the executioner. Along with Jebel on his travels is the slave who decided to go with him, Tel Hesani, who must be sacrificed to the god in order to obtain a better life for his family. THE THIN EXECUTIONER is full of weird but somewhat relatable teen angst, a journey that not only will prove difficult for Jebel but also will allow him to grow stronger. It also includes an accomplice who becomes more than what people at that time would think of as an object. Jebel will soon discover that what lays outside his tribe is something worth experiencing. Away from the vampires and demons, Darren Shan crafts a unique and compelling story that will take readers into a whole new world they would never have imagined. Jebel is one of those characters that gives a bad impression in the beginning. Of course, his non-ethical, guiltless personality is not his fault, as such traits are actually embedded in the minds of those in his tribe. However, Jebel's growth throughout the novel to the very end allows readers to be as comfortable with him as they are with Tel Hesani, the more likeable character who most readers will automatically respect. Both characters will endure a difficult and at times deadly journey, and in the end Jebel, Tel Hesani, and even the reader will be rewarded with a conclusion that is unusual but all the more satisfying.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Never fails to impress

    I can reread anything by this author a thousand times and never tire from it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Good book

    This book was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    HOLY CAT BALL

    This is awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Forest

    Between here and border is forest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    just finished this amazing book. and holy shiz did this book lea

    just finished this amazing book. and holy shiz did this book leave me with a powerful moral. anyways, this book is absolutely amazing and is packed with suspense. i give this book a billion out of 10 and is a sgood as the whole demonata series which is hard to beat. the domnata series is also one of darren's series and is no exception. you have to read this book because it is life changing :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Terrible

    Do not buy unless you like extremely boring books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Help:( need advice

    On the last of my giftcard money dont know if i should buy need a little more info

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    :(

    I love books by Darren Shan but this is not one of my favorites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! Darren Shan is by far one of my all time fa

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! Darren Shan is by far one of my all time favorite authors. This book was gripping. I literally could not put it down. The main character Jebel goes onan incredible journey that, in the end changes his out look on his life and what he was brought up to think. I loved it and i have recommended it to manyof my friends and family. A must read for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    This book is awesome and gory

    I like the part when the little kids use the decapitated haads jamals dad cuts as soccer balls

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    One of the best book ever written and read

    Darren shan is the best author ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    I hope this helps┬┐

    This book is a really great buy! Darren Shan is a masterful writer, and gore should be his middle name. Though this book is not at all in the violence level of The Demonata, but is still great. At first the young boy Jebel was an annoying, conceded, close- minded and arrogant child, but through his suffering gains wisdom and widens his mind's perception. I would reccomend this book to any fans of Shan's work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Amazing.

    FREAKIN AWESOME BOOK. Once I started it I couldn't manage to put it down. Yeah some of the words and names were odd but you get used to it. Good read, well worth the time spent. I'd recommend this book to anyone who can handle several gory descriptions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4