Customer Reviews for

The Thing About Georgie

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Smiley104<3

This book teaches not only children but everyone, that you don't have to have a "thing" just to feel like you belong in the world.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Should I get it?

Sounds amazing!

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Smiley104<3

    This book teaches not only children but everyone, that you don't have to have a "thing" just to feel like you belong in the world.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    A well writen novel for all ages to understand

    An amazing story for all ages, by Lisa Graff, is a well written novel describing an average family with a not so average son, Georgie. Georgie is a dwarf that wishes he was tall. His life was amazing until he lost his best friend and found out his mother was pregnant, with a normal sized baby. After winter break Georgie has to start a project and his partner is the meanest girl in school. Because of georgies disablitiy he is judged every where he goes,but everyone learns to over look his height and see him for him. The meanest girl in schoool is jeanie. She calls people mean names like"cheese brans and goat breath." Jeanie's nickname because of her cruel attitude is air go, jeanie the meanie. In this story georgie and jeanie hated each other in the beginning but evolved into great friends by the end. Their friendship started when ever the teacher made them work togeter as partners. After the project was over the did a school play. Georgie was abraham lincoln,who was the tallest president, but georgie was the smallest kid in the school. Jeanie was there and supported georgie and made him tall buy making him stilts and a big costume. Overall they developed greatly though the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    I think it was a great book

    Im a dwarf and i can realate to what georgie thinks or has. Great book recemeded

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    READ THIS REVIEW

    I had to read this for book club at my old school and it was good everyone liked it!!! I loved this book soo much. Good book for all ages at 8+

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Luv it! 8)

    Wow amazing book any one who has eyes and knows how to read should get this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    The thing about Gorgie

    The thing about Gorgie is awesome!!!! Full of unexpected twists and turns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Should I get it?

    Sounds amazing!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Greatest Book

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Great book

    I THINK THIS IS A GREAT BOOK FOR ALL AGES

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    Touching, yet fun

    The author has crafted a light but moving tale about a plucky character, Georgie, who has physical limitations. Through the clever use of an anonymous narrator we learn what Georgie can't do but, more importantly, what he can. The story itself is less about his physical challenges than the changes going on in Georgie's life - something all kids can relate to - but any reader will come away from it with a new respect for dwarfism.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Awesome Book

    I think that this book is good about showing kids that it is OKAY to be different. I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    U

    This book is awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Amazing and thougtful lesson

    I read this book and LOVED it! It is extremely well thought out and it is amazing read. Recomend for ages 8+!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Have to read

    I have to read this for battle of the books!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Mamitafl02

    From what i read the main idea the book was horrible

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Great book

    Great book.Teaches lots of life lessons inspire kids to stand up for anybody who's being bullied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Ash all res

    Come to ashclan, you will like it there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Swiftwater

    I will take any of you kits. Said the sweet mother who looked at all the kits and didn't know who to choose. Her mate took away her kits so she still has milk to feed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Flutterkit's bio

    NAME Flutterkit AGE 3 moons APPEARANCE yellow shekit with light pink highlights that show up really nice in sunlight, soft warm blue eyes, wings, soft kind voice HISTORY mom was killed by a fox, was left to fend for herself with only animals as her friends PERS shy, softspoken, loves animals and animals love her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great book!

    This book is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3