Customer Reviews for

Things Fall Apart

Average Rating 3.5
( 420 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Things Fall Apart on Barbara Kingsolvers book list

    Classic fiction by one of Africas best authors

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Jessica

    U said to come here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    To luke

    THERE HOUSES

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Officer cody

    Yep when i say im on pratrol i drive by the house

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Annalee

    Read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Amber

    He aint scared.he aint on here rite now so stop bein rude

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Jade

    You need to shut up!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    The re jess

    That qas an imposter!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Great book...read in high school many yrs ago. Picked this up by

    Great book...read in high school many yrs ago. Picked this up by accident in a museum in DC on a high school field trip!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    this book is weird

    this is one of the wierdest books ever!! i mean i had to read it for summer reading and i really wish to throw it away but i have to read it. they change the topic so quick that there is no importance. this character okqonko or watever this guy gets kicked out of his village... hu cares the whole book is like that . maybe i am missing the point of the book or something i dun no...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    Reflections on Things Fall Apart.

    Tremendous events had occured throughout this exciting and unpridictible novel. However, one of the most major and defining aspects of the novel was Okonkwo's inclement and harsh actions. Okonkwo is the main charecter of the novel. Through the reading,Okonkwo revealed and expresed him- self as an obssesively harsh, visios and forceful person. Okonkwo had extensively revealed himself as a robust man of great fortitude and courage. He rarely expressed feelings of love, weakness or care twards others. Throughout the novel Okonkwo illustates himself notoriously, and person that didn't reveale any emotion openly unless it was the emotion of extreme anger. In the Igbo society expressing affection was a sign of weakness, the only thing worth demonstrating was strength and extreme fortitude. In some peoples point of view Okonkwo's actions revealed extreme malignance and cruelty. however, in Okonkwo's point of view his actions were correct and showing any differance in his actions would be considered as a feminon act or bieng craven. Basically Okonkwo was a part of a society of various thoughts and beliefs. Okonkwo, built his self as fearless and couragous. his word or comand was to be immedietly done. However, in various ways, i think Okonkwo tries to somehow reveal some affection twards differnt situations. Okonkwos way of treeting others remains the ideal way in his point of view. Basically, Okonkow's personality is a major aspect in structuring a massive portion of the novel. *Chinua wrote a wonderfull novel (Things Fall Apart)and revealed the influence of western society on the African culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    This Audio Book is a Disaster!!

    Before I begin my review, I must confess that I couldn't get through the first of the four tapes in the package. I come from the Igbo ethnic group of South East Nigeria where Things Fall Apart is set. I grew up on Achebe's works, I even attended the same high school that this renowned son of Igbo land attended - Government College Umuahia. All through College and Graduate school, I read, wrote about and taught Things Fall Apart both in Africa and the United States. So I was excited when I saw that an audio book version was now released. I picked up the audio book, dashed to my car, popped in the first tape and quickly pulled over to the side of the road and 'wept.' I felt ashamed, raped and simply violated. Peter Francis James is a great narrator of repute, but this is not a project that should have been given to someone because of their reputation. Things Fall Apart simply fell apart in his hands as he struggled and fought his way through the Igbo names. Achebe is a very deliberate writer, hence his choice of names for his characters are very deliberate. The Igbo language is very tonal such that a word or name could mean three or more different things depending on how it is pronounced. For example the word 'akwa' could mean cry, egg, bed, or cloth. Sadly, as Peter Francis James began to murder the names of the characters, gods and places in this incredible work of literature; the novel became something else. Maybe to the Western ear, this is not important, but names of people and gods are not taken lightly by the Igbos. This is a book about us, Achebe tells our story because he was tired of having someone else tell it. Therefore, if there is one book that deserves authenticity - Things Fall Apart is it! My simple question is why an Igbo narrator was not chosen to do this, or at the very least an Igbo coach provided for Peter Francis James to help him with the Igbo names and words. I know that with today's nonlinear editing technology, all that is needed is for Peter Francis James to sit with a coach after the narration is finished, work on pronouncing the Igbo names and words and inserting them seamlessly. I refuse to believe that out of over 25 million Igbos (over 1 million in the USA, over 500,000 in Europe); Peter Francis James was 'most proper' to narrate this story of the Igbos. Achebe has tried to tell our story through our eyes, but perhaps our accent is too strong to give voice to his words? But it cannot be our strong accent, because I know a few Igbos who are television and radio announcers and reporters for the famed US and UK media houses: CNN and BBC. As if the insult was not enough, an AudioFile review printed on the cover reads 'Full of melodic richness, [Peter Francis] James projects Achebe's genuinely African cadences with a power and dignity equal to his vision, ...' AudioFile got it all wrong! It is an insult to even pretend that this reckless desecration of Igbo names, words and gods is equal to Achebe's vision. This act which in the name of civility I will attribute to ignorance undermines the underlying message of Things Fall Apart. It only goes to show that things are still falling apart indeed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1