Customer Reviews for

Things Good Girls Don't Do

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

** 3.5 stars ** So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Thin

** 3.5 stars **
So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Things Good Girls Don't Do would be a dark and twisty story. My guess would be the cover. Never mind that it doesn't really fit the characters, it doesn't fit the tone of the story, either. What Things Good Gir...
** 3.5 stars **
So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Things Good Girls Don't Do would be a dark and twisty story. My guess would be the cover. Never mind that it doesn't really fit the characters, it doesn't fit the tone of the story, either. What Things Good Girls Don't Do actually is, is a small town romance with a good girl-bad boy angle. Luckily for me, I'm a sucker for small town romance, and also of bad boys who only look bad, but definitely know how to treat a girl right.

I sometimes find myself getting tired of the naive, goody-two-shoes heroine. I'm sorry, I know I'm letting my gender down by being picky and judgmental, but it's true. In this book, though, I really enjoyed Katie. She's the town's good girl, treated like a doormat and ruled with a judgmental eye by her now-deceased mother. When Katie realizes she's still being confined by the rules, and that they've not gotten her ahead, she makes a list of no-nos that she wants to break, things good girls don't do.

So that is the heart of the story, Katie learning to come out of her shell and take complete control of her life, with the help of sexy newcomer Chase. I really felt for Chase, a good guy with a bit of a rough exterior. It's hard enough living in a small, judgmental town but when you're a newbie, it's ridiculous. People assumed because Chase had tattoos, owned a parlor, and drove a motorcycle that he was coarse and uneducated. Of course Katie and Chase's plan to not become emotionally attached, lasts about 2.5 minutes and everyone can see these two are more involved than they're letting on, maybe even falling in love. The only problem is, when with Katie and Chase realize and confess that they each want more?

Things Good Girls Don't Do had a great secondary cast that really helped move the story forward rather than just fill space. Katie great friends, Becca and Steph, who had her back and also provided a lot of comic relief. And in addition to Katie's journey, there's Chase's own issues and past with his mom. This sub-plot gave good insight into his choices and hesitation throughout the story.

This book had less steam than I was prepared for, but that's okay because what we got was really good. Chase was always flirty and (nicely) pushing Katie's boundaries. The two had loads of sexual chemistry, and the banter and innuendo between the two was a lot of fun.

Things Good Girls Don't Do wasn't the book I expected, buy I actually believe that it worked to my advantage. It was fun, charming, and sexy. I would definitely read more of the author's work in the future.

posted by Andreat78 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO EVRYONE THAT IS READING THIS I HOPE YOU HABE A GREAT DAY TODAY AND I HOPE YOU EAT GOOD I ALSO HOPE ALL OF THE PARENTS BOUGHT ALL OF YOUR KODS SOMETHING FOR CHRISTMAS

WELL I HOPE EVERY BODY IS HAPPY WE ARE EATING AT MY AUNTIE PIP HOUSE TODAY.I GOT A KARIOKIE MACHINE SOME PRETTY DRESSES I ALSO GOT MP3 PLAYER ALSO IT IS PURPLE LIKE MY HEADPHONES I WISH I COULD TALK TO TYRESE TODAY OR SEE HIM WHAT IS CHRISTMAS WITHOUT TYRESE HATINE

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Great

    Great book. I love the connection between Katie and Chase. I will keep this in my favorites list to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Love

    Sweet sexy story, loved katie and chase cant wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Good read

    This book had me hooked the whole time. The characters are hilarious and so real. Finished in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Not impressed

    Compared to other romance books out there, this one was just ok. Not captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    :)

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Loved it

    This one is my favorite so far. Honestly anything with a tattooed man wins me over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I just recently discovered this author on Fresh Fiction. This is

    I just recently discovered this author on Fresh Fiction. This is the first book I've read by her, and let me tell you, I am SO glad that I did! Reading it kept me up until 3:45 am to finish.

    Katie is a good girl. She's well respected, always helps out a friend in need, and does the right thing. She's become tired of always biting her tongue and taking the high road. One evening she makes a list of all the things she wants to do if she could just step out of her good girl persona. Her mother raised her right, so she's afraid to break that mold.

    Roaring into town on his chopper is the bad boy Chase. He's the bachelor tattoo artist and subject of the small town gossip mill. He knows how people regard him, but he doesn't let it bring him down. He's too busy chasing a more racy kind of woman, and knows he probably shouldn't waste his time on a good two shoes like Katie.

    Everything changes when he sees Katie sitting alone at a bar completely lost in thought and jotting down a list on a napkin. Chase snatches it up and decides that he needs to help Katie check off a few items on her list of 'things that good girls shouldn't do.' Can Katie throw aside everything she was taught by her rigid mother and let loose just a little? Chase sure wants to help her try, because he see more clearly into who she really is. Chase isn't really the bad guy that people make him out to be, and Katie helps to show that people shouldn't judge a person based on appearances and preconceived notions.

    I liked the character development in Katie. She grows so much as a person as she strengthens her back bone. I like the transformation in Chase as helps Katie come out of her shell. The plot line flows well, and the cast is very relatable. I really like some of the characters that have smaller roles and would enjoy seeing them have their story told, as well. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Not bad

    Story was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    not bad

    entertaining romantic novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Loved it!

    Loved the characters & small town setting. The cover does not match the feel of the book at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    WHAT A STUPID JERK SHUT UP BOOK

    Stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    This was a great story with awesome characters all around but I

    This was a great story with awesome characters all around but I had some issues with the development. Both main characters were insecure. Neither wanted to talk things through until the pot flew off the kettle. Then they'd just make up. Character interaction was pretty funny at time, I'll give Codi that. With all that being said, I did enjoy the book and read it in one day. I think I will go on to read the rest of the books in the series and maybe hit up some of Gary's other books because her writing style is entertaining and quick. By the way, for those who are thinking of buying a book because of the cover, this is NOT an erotic fiction. Yes, there are sex scenes but like any good romance novel, they aren't the bulk majority of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    The book was ok i guess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Jay

    Gtgg

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Dani

    *she shrugs.*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    What a fun romantic read! Loved this. Don't miss out. 

    What a fun romantic read! Loved this. Don't miss out. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Things by Tyler(,= line break) sing to your own country tune

    A rock in the water sinks to the deep,
    But you and me float to the surface,
    A secret so hidden and hard to keep,
    Her head on my shoulderwere thinkin' about the past and the present,
    There are so many things kept to the hearts content like memories we've spent together,
    But love is a different thing.
    COMMENTS AND NOTES FROM TYLER:
    Sorry if you didnt know how to sing to it. The ending kind of doesnt go together.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Much better than expected

    I read the synopsis of this book and wasn't impressed. It was so much better than expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Better than expected

    I was not expecting much but the book turned out enjoyable. Will read more by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    ive only read the sample so far but it is soo GOOD and addictive it leaves you wanting more.

    Very good leaves me wanting more worth a buck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8