BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Things Good Girls Don't Do

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

** 3.5 stars ** So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Thin

** 3.5 stars **
So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Things Good Girls Don't Do would be a dark and twisty story. My guess would be the cover. Never mind that it doesn't really fit the characters, it doesn't fit the tone of the story, either. What Things Good Gir...
** 3.5 stars **
So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Things Good Girls Don't Do would be a dark and twisty story. My guess would be the cover. Never mind that it doesn't really fit the characters, it doesn't fit the tone of the story, either. What Things Good Girls Don't Do actually is, is a small town romance with a good girl-bad boy angle. Luckily for me, I'm a sucker for small town romance, and also of bad boys who only look bad, but definitely know how to treat a girl right.

I sometimes find myself getting tired of the naive, goody-two-shoes heroine. I'm sorry, I know I'm letting my gender down by being picky and judgmental, but it's true. In this book, though, I really enjoyed Katie. She's the town's good girl, treated like a doormat and ruled with a judgmental eye by her now-deceased mother. When Katie realizes she's still being confined by the rules, and that they've not gotten her ahead, she makes a list of no-nos that she wants to break, things good girls don't do.

So that is the heart of the story, Katie learning to come out of her shell and take complete control of her life, with the help of sexy newcomer Chase. I really felt for Chase, a good guy with a bit of a rough exterior. It's hard enough living in a small, judgmental town but when you're a newbie, it's ridiculous. People assumed because Chase had tattoos, owned a parlor, and drove a motorcycle that he was coarse and uneducated. Of course Katie and Chase's plan to not become emotionally attached, lasts about 2.5 minutes and everyone can see these two are more involved than they're letting on, maybe even falling in love. The only problem is, when with Katie and Chase realize and confess that they each want more?

Things Good Girls Don't Do had a great secondary cast that really helped move the story forward rather than just fill space. Katie great friends, Becca and Steph, who had her back and also provided a lot of comic relief. And in addition to Katie's journey, there's Chase's own issues and past with his mom. This sub-plot gave good insight into his choices and hesitation throughout the story.

This book had less steam than I was prepared for, but that's okay because what we got was really good. Chase was always flirty and (nicely) pushing Katie's boundaries. The two had loads of sexual chemistry, and the banter and innuendo between the two was a lot of fun.

Things Good Girls Don't Do wasn't the book I expected, buy I actually believe that it worked to my advantage. It was fun, charming, and sexy. I would definitely read more of the author's work in the future.

posted by Andreat78 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO EVRYONE THAT IS READING THIS I HOPE YOU HABE A GREAT DAY TODAY AND I HOPE YOU EAT GOOD I ALSO HOPE ALL OF THE PARENTS BOUGHT ALL OF YOUR KODS SOMETHING FOR CHRISTMAS

WELL I HOPE EVERY BODY IS HAPPY WE ARE EATING AT MY AUNTIE PIP HOUSE TODAY.I GOT A KARIOKIE MACHINE SOME PRETTY DRESSES I ALSO GOT MP3 PLAYER ALSO IT IS PURPLE LIKE MY HEADPHONES I WISH I COULD TALK TO TYRESE TODAY OR SEE HIM WHAT IS CHRISTMAS WITHOUT TYRESE HATINE

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    ** 3.5 stars ** So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Thin

    ** 3.5 stars **
    So I'm sitting here wondering why I thought Things Good Girls Don't Do would be a dark and twisty story. My guess would be the cover. Never mind that it doesn't really fit the characters, it doesn't fit the tone of the story, either. What Things Good Girls Don't Do actually is, is a small town romance with a good girl-bad boy angle. Luckily for me, I'm a sucker for small town romance, and also of bad boys who only look bad, but definitely know how to treat a girl right.

    I sometimes find myself getting tired of the naive, goody-two-shoes heroine. I'm sorry, I know I'm letting my gender down by being picky and judgmental, but it's true. In this book, though, I really enjoyed Katie. She's the town's good girl, treated like a doormat and ruled with a judgmental eye by her now-deceased mother. When Katie realizes she's still being confined by the rules, and that they've not gotten her ahead, she makes a list of no-nos that she wants to break, things good girls don't do.

    So that is the heart of the story, Katie learning to come out of her shell and take complete control of her life, with the help of sexy newcomer Chase. I really felt for Chase, a good guy with a bit of a rough exterior. It's hard enough living in a small, judgmental town but when you're a newbie, it's ridiculous. People assumed because Chase had tattoos, owned a parlor, and drove a motorcycle that he was coarse and uneducated. Of course Katie and Chase's plan to not become emotionally attached, lasts about 2.5 minutes and everyone can see these two are more involved than they're letting on, maybe even falling in love. The only problem is, when with Katie and Chase realize and confess that they each want more?

    Things Good Girls Don't Do had a great secondary cast that really helped move the story forward rather than just fill space. Katie great friends, Becca and Steph, who had her back and also provided a lot of comic relief. And in addition to Katie's journey, there's Chase's own issues and past with his mom. This sub-plot gave good insight into his choices and hesitation throughout the story.

    This book had less steam than I was prepared for, but that's okay because what we got was really good. Chase was always flirty and (nicely) pushing Katie's boundaries. The two had loads of sexual chemistry, and the banter and innuendo between the two was a lot of fun.

    Things Good Girls Don't Do wasn't the book I expected, buy I actually believe that it worked to my advantage. It was fun, charming, and sexy. I would definitely read more of the author's work in the future.

    35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was probably like most readers and expecting something a litt


    I was probably like most readers and expecting something a little steamer because of the title. However, I wasn’t disappointed by this tale at all.


    I loved this tale, maybe like many women I have struggled at being a good girl in public, a what would my father say if he say me type. My upbringing wasn’t the complete same as Katie’s but I felt the need to maintain my reputation, most of the time. She needs to let go and once Chase gets hold of her list she has no choice.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story, the characters are believable as well as the situations. I will be watching out for further books by Codi Gary as these are very important elements she took care of during her writing. Can’t wait for more …

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Great read

    I loved every moment of reading this book, the characters are dynamic and the chemistry between Chase and Katie was pretty amazing. I loved that they both bring out the other's better half, and they complement each other beautifully. I would definitely recommend this book to others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Loved it

    I read this book in a day because I couldn't put it down. I loved it! It has some very sexy parts and is overall a good story. The writing was okay and parts were quite predictable. It definetely could have been better. But for a dollar, it was a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Good read

    This book had me hooked the whole time. The characters are hilarious and so real. Finished in a day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Loved the humor that was included with exceptional writing. I was laughing at Katie's wit. Great writing not exactly what I was expecting by the title but enjoyed just the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Cute.

    Sweet story with a little steam. Good for readers who like romance without the smut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Not bad

    Story was pretty good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    not bad

    entertaining romantic novel

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Jay

    Gtgg

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Better than expected

    I was not expecting much but the book turned out enjoyable. Will read more by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Loved it

    Great story. I was hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Great Book

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Nice easy read.

    I really enjoyed this book. It has been hard to find something to hold my interest latley and this was a nice, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Decent

    It was okay, very easy read. Could have had better dialogue and story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book

    Reading this book, I didn't think it was going to be as raw as it turned out to be, but it never lost my interest for a second. I definitely recommend this to anyone like myself who doesn't really care for cheesy boring romance novels. I like a twist, and this book definitely has it. Codi Gary is officially on my list of favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Worth it

    Worth the 99cents I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Great read

    This was a cute story that I really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    I love my romance novels to be realistic with a happily-ever-aft

    I love my romance novels to be realistic with a happily-ever-after. Characters can be placed in extraordinary situations, but if the beta hero suddenly goes all alpha, or the heroine does an uncharacteristically or unexplained stupid move, I become exceptionally disappointed.

    This book was not disappointing in the least.

    Katie is working hard to figure out who she wants to be. It's taken awhile - including the death of her mother and being dumped by her long-time boyfriend - for Katie to realize that she's sick and tired of doing what everyone expects - which is to say, a doormat.

    Katie was raised by a mother who drilled good manners and good breeding into her core. Katie is a lady - doesn't yell, doesn't argue, and and doesn't do anything outside of her mother's (and society's) good-girl standards. But after she has just a couple of drinks at a bar (a no-no), she draws up a bucket list of sorts - a Things Good Girls Don't Do list. She resolves to check each and every one of them off her list...and she would've simply tossed the list in the trash when she sobered up, if it hadn't been for Chase Trepasso talking a very close, very embarrassing look at the list - and holding her to it.

    The romance between these two evolves quite naturally. On the surface, each is the opposite of the other. One is rough-and-tumble, drives a motorcycle, and is a tattoo artist. The other is sweet, fresh-faced and strives to put her best face forward, always. The people they are beyond what the world sees are complex. They face the same battles we all have - bucking society's conventions, breaking free from our parents' expectations, and finding that one imperfect person who is perfect for us.

    I thought I'd get annoyed by Katie and all her do-goodiness, but I was thrilled to be wrong. It is with a significant effort and a lot of self-growth that she's able to push her mother's voice out of her head. She held tight to the values instilled in her, but by the end of the book she refuses to let them define her anymore. I actually said, "Bravo!" aloud (which raised The Husband's eyebrows, but he knows me enough now to just shrug his shoulders and keep on doing whatever it is he does while I lose myself in a book).

    Chase isn't off the hook, either. He comes out of the gate as closed-off, rough, and uninterested in a relationship. But he's a caring person, and after a few times taking care of Katie (he brings pizza to her house, and she's - of course - worried about the gossip mill in town; he brushes the gossip off in such a logical way, it makes you laugh), it's apparent that there is WAY more to Chase than what he allows people to see. Katie's personality really works its magic on him - it's almost with bemusement that he finds himself missing her presence when she's not near, and his jealousy is not over the top in some effort to prove to the reader that he really does love her.

    Everything in this story just fit. I was able to so fully lose myself because there wasn't any part where I thought, Yeah, right. Like that would ever happen. Jealousy between the characters? No one was told off in an over-the-top and unwarranted way (it's always the poor waitress who somehow becomes the one to get told off in stories...). No one had a lightning bolt revelation of love. And no one had someone else point out that one was in love with the other. The big gesture in the book was not on a grand scale, and it was just right for this couple.

    The only issue I had was the best friend, Steph. She came across as trying to step in as the mother figure, and I found her to be annoying. What saved it was when Katie did, too - a fact I really appreciated and related to.

    Seamless, flawless brilliance. We need more Codi Gary books on the shelves - I do hope she keeps writing. I can't wait to read her other titles in this series - she has two more coming next spring. I highly recommend this book.

    (Disclaimer: I was provided an digital copy from the publisher for an honest and unbiased review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Pretty good

    Can relate with the main character. Inspires me to be less of a pushover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2