Customer Reviews for

Things Hoped For

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book!

This book is about this 17 year old girl Gwen.Gwen is geting ready for her audition for New York city's best music school. she comes to find that her grandfather has left her a message on the phone that tells her that he is gone and she should not worry about him. Then ...
This book is about this 17 year old girl Gwen.Gwen is geting ready for her audition for New York city's best music school. she comes to find that her grandfather has left her a message on the phone that tells her that he is gone and she should not worry about him. Then Gwen meets Robert. As the auditions are geting closer and closer Robert and Gwen try to solve the problem of her missing grandfather.

posted by sweetpea217913 on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Chelsea Swiger's Review

Book Review Outline
Book title and author: Things Hoped For by Andrew Clements.
Title of review:
Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

Introduction
The overview of this book is about a girl who has trouble dealing with her grandpa going away, and has worries about her ...
Book Review Outline
Book title and author: Things Hoped For by Andrew Clements.
Title of review:
Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

Introduction
The overview of this book is about a girl who has trouble dealing with her grandpa going away, and has worries about her upcoming music auditions.
I think the people who would like to possibly read this book are some teenagers who don't really like action and thriller books. It can also be for senior citizens who like a calm, more mature book.
I evaluated this book the way I did because it wasn't that interesting. It was actually kind of boring in some parts. On the other hand I did like it because it made me wonder what was going to happen next.


Description and summary of main points
The summary of this book is about a seventeen year old girl who is in love with music. She plays the violin. Gwen is originally from West Virginia, but she gets invited to come live with her grandpa in Manhattan. She tries out for three schools Julliard, Manhattan, and The New England Conservatory in Boston. Gwen is hoping to get accepted from one of these schools. First she has to try out, and the pressure is really on. She has no problems until she comes home to her grandpa's house one day, and there's a message on the answering machine. He tells her he's going away for awhile, and doesn't know how long he'll be gone, only that he's going. Now she has to live with no one but herself, worry about him and the upcoming auditions, and make new friends.

Evaluation
The plot of this book is that Gwen has to handle pressure of getting into one of the three schools she has auditioned for, and deal with her grandpa's absence as well.
The characters of the book are Gwen, Grandpa, Uncle Hank, Marcy, and Robert. These are good characters and it helped me understand the character's emotions and their personality.
The theme of the book is to teach readers how to deal with school and family issues, and it shows how to handle the pressure that is put on you.
The style of this book is kind of laid back. It is calm and it is kind of boring but I think the author did a good job on describing all of the book's aspects. The style is helpful because it is very detailed and skilled.
The setting of this story takes place in Manhattan and New York. The story takes place I think in the fall or spring time, almost.
I think the purpose and the goals of this book were achieved.
The comparison of this book to other books would be the same to me, especially if they're in the same genre.




Conclusion
My thesis is that the book was skilled and detailed but in some points it was kind of boring. I only liked a few parts of it.
The brief summary of the book would be when Gwen auditions for the schools, and has to deal with the struggle on her own, and how her grandpa goes away for a while.
My evaluation of the book is that it was pretty interesting. I kept saying to myself, "what was going to happen next". It was a little boring though. I think it was a little more mature and grown up then
I'd liked it to be.

Your final review
(none)

posted by ChelsCS on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book!

    This book is about this 17 year old girl Gwen.Gwen is geting ready for her audition for New York city's best music school. she comes to find that her grandfather has left her a message on the phone that tells her that he is gone and she should not worry about him. Then Gwen meets Robert. As the auditions are geting closer and closer Robert and Gwen try to solve the problem of her missing grandfather.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Chelsea Swiger's Review

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Things Hoped For by Andrew Clements.
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

    Introduction
    The overview of this book is about a girl who has trouble dealing with her grandpa going away, and has worries about her upcoming music auditions.
    I think the people who would like to possibly read this book are some teenagers who don't really like action and thriller books. It can also be for senior citizens who like a calm, more mature book.
    I evaluated this book the way I did because it wasn't that interesting. It was actually kind of boring in some parts. On the other hand I did like it because it made me wonder what was going to happen next.


    Description and summary of main points
    The summary of this book is about a seventeen year old girl who is in love with music. She plays the violin. Gwen is originally from West Virginia, but she gets invited to come live with her grandpa in Manhattan. She tries out for three schools Julliard, Manhattan, and The New England Conservatory in Boston. Gwen is hoping to get accepted from one of these schools. First she has to try out, and the pressure is really on. She has no problems until she comes home to her grandpa's house one day, and there's a message on the answering machine. He tells her he's going away for awhile, and doesn't know how long he'll be gone, only that he's going. Now she has to live with no one but herself, worry about him and the upcoming auditions, and make new friends.

    Evaluation
    The plot of this book is that Gwen has to handle pressure of getting into one of the three schools she has auditioned for, and deal with her grandpa's absence as well.
    The characters of the book are Gwen, Grandpa, Uncle Hank, Marcy, and Robert. These are good characters and it helped me understand the character's emotions and their personality.
    The theme of the book is to teach readers how to deal with school and family issues, and it shows how to handle the pressure that is put on you.
    The style of this book is kind of laid back. It is calm and it is kind of boring but I think the author did a good job on describing all of the book's aspects. The style is helpful because it is very detailed and skilled.
    The setting of this story takes place in Manhattan and New York. The story takes place I think in the fall or spring time, almost.
    I think the purpose and the goals of this book were achieved.
    The comparison of this book to other books would be the same to me, especially if they're in the same genre.




    Conclusion
    My thesis is that the book was skilled and detailed but in some points it was kind of boring. I only liked a few parts of it.
    The brief summary of the book would be when Gwen auditions for the schools, and has to deal with the struggle on her own, and how her grandpa goes away for a while.
    My evaluation of the book is that it was pretty interesting. I kept saying to myself, "what was going to happen next". It was a little boring though. I think it was a little more mature and grown up then
    I'd liked it to be.

    Your final review
    (none)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Love

    I love this book!!!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!

    i loved this book i read it over and over!!!! it was awesome and id recommend it to anyone!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Cool

    Great book. Loved it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not As Good as the First- However, still worth the time

    The book Things Hoped For, seemed dull and slightly bad compared to its predecessor, Things Not Seen. Things Not Seens' plot was based mostly around the theme of invisibility, however, Things Hoped For's plot was based mostly on a mystery much the mystery in Things Hoped For. The ideas seemed unreal towards the end and Gwens reactions seemed as if they were written by an average fifth grader writing a short stoy for an assigment. Her reactions were VERY unrealistic to some very strange and odd-occuring events that took place. However, the beginning of this book had a great theme, plot and mystery. When the book got to about page 100 all this changed.

    In conclusion, I reccomend this book. Only because it was very entertaining and the beginning was very well written. The series will not seem complete if you didnt read the middle volume as well. Read the book, it's quick and worth your time but youu will be disapointed if you were expecting a follow up as well written as Things Not Seen.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Before you read this one you need to read the first 1 Things Noy Seen, and then after you read this 1 you have 2 read Things that are. They make more sence in order!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Smile

    I love you andrew clements you rock






    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    5 of 5

    This book is great. You need to be old enough to respect it, I read it in 6th grade and it was super good. 6th grade up would be the best years to read it. :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Hwo many page are in tjings not seen

    I want to buy it but i wantvto know hpw many pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    awesome!!!

    i luvd this book its the best book ive read in a long time,now onto things not seen (i read things hoped for before that so im on things not seen)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    I love this book.

    It was fatastic and really cool. I play cello and for a music lover this really hit the spot lol :3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    LOVE!!!!!

    I read this 4 years ago and am still obsessed with it. It is short but a really good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    hi

    luv this book. u should read it too as well as the other two books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    good book

    very excitig, great read for a

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Gwen and Robert

    Robert Phillips (Bobby) from the first book, Things Not Seen, appears in Things Hoped For. He meets Gwen from the second book, Things Hoped For. They met in Summer Camp when they were practicing their music. Robert plays the trumpet and Gwen plays Violin. I play the Viola.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Good, But Not As Good As Things Not Seen

    Things Hoped For by Andrew Clements, was a pretty decent book. It wasn't as good as the first book, but it was still pretty decent. The only problems that I had with the book were that it had nothing to do with the first book, except for having Robert in the book, until page 150, and that if I didn't know as much about the violin, or music in general as I do, I probably would have hated this book. I suggest reading this sequel to Things Not Seen, only if you enjoy music, or are really dedicated to the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Things Hoped For

    Dear internet reader you will be pleased with this book. It is completly worth it it has mystery, drama, romance, everything you can imagine you MUST read this book, but first you need to read things not seen first and than read this. At the end of this book you will be suprised what will happen. now i am on things that are, the continuation, i MUST get this boo. trust me any andrew clements book that you read will be absolutly amazing.
    keep reading

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AGAIN, EXCELLENT!

    Second book to Things Not Seen, this book was as good as the first! It even puts some christianity in it, whitch is real cool! I love how it makes fiction (turning invisible) so real, like it could happen! love it!!! get it!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    Find Out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Things Hoped For was very interesting story. I couldn¿t put it down at the end. But the begging was a little boring. Things hoped for is a mystery book. The mystery is about when Gwen¿s grandfather left. I didn¿t like when she found her grandfather in the ¿ Find out when you read the book. I liked the book when because when she traveled from West Virginia and went to New York in Manhattan. Otherwise I liked the book for many reasons.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5