Customer Reviews for

Things I Want My Daughters to Know

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Heart warming book

    I believe this is Elizabeth's best novel. The diary and letters left by the mother for her daughters are wonderful. There are messages all mothers and daughters could learn from. It was heart warming as to how the book ended with all the sisters finally understanding each other and how they all had different relationships with their mother and step-father.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Fabulous!

    When an author "grabs me" within the first chapter, I consider the book a good read. This was a GREAT read. Couldn't put it down. Written from a Mother's heart. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    I recommended

    This is a great read, it has everything a girl wants in a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Loved it!!

    I went in half-heartedly, but was pleasantly surprised and deeply moved. Have 4 of my own (2girls/2boys) and I understood the book. I was between laughing and tears at the same time throughout the whole book :D... highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    wonderful

    i loved this! can't wait to read hrer other books. i am buying aa copy of thid in print for each of my 4 daughters! they need to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Sweet book

    I really enjoyed this book. I adored the characters. It was a very sweet story. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    LOVED this book. Starts off a little slow but if you stick with it you wont be able to put it down. I shared this book with my Mother after I read it and she calls me daily to tell me how much she loves it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Touching

    Sad, yet hopeful and romantic. You can just watch & read as each daughter faces her own challenges, as well as their father. Such a great book for people that love romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    contemporary fans will appreciate this character study

    Barbara Forbes knows she will die soon from cancer. She tells her second husband and her four adult daughters how she wants them to attend her funeral none are to weep as they have shared a great life with each other and none are to dress in graveyard black as they were, are, and will continue to be a colorful family.--------- Barbara leaves behind four letters one to each of her daughters offering wisdom from the soon to be dearly departed. Over the next year after she is buried each opens their late mom¿s last words of wisdom. Barbara encourages her oldest Lisa to allow someone to get close to her Andy would like to be that someone. To Jennifer she advises to reach out to your husband and stop worrying about fertility and offspring as the means to save her marriage. To Amanda she says to stop running away from the truth especially that her father was neither of her mother¿s husbands. To her youngest teenager Hannah she says rebellion is okay as long as it harms no one including herself, but she should take her time growing up as she has a precious life ahead of her.--------- This concept of having a deceased provide words of wisdom has been done many times before, but Elizabeth Noble keeps it fresh avoiding cliché adages by focusing on the recipients although Barbra¿s diary and letters are well written. Each of her children had a different relationship with their mom something wise Barbara recognized and encourages them accordingly she knew her children. Although the foursome heed their late mom¿s guidance too easily leading to nirvana, contemporary fans will appreciate this character study of four sisters, the men in their lives, and their mother still there for them though she passed away.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2