Customer Reviews for

Things Left Unspoken: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story was so captivating. Every page made me want to know

    This story was so captivating. Every page made me want to know more about these characters, this town, this house, this time and all the things ahead. There was romance, mystery, history, a promised secret and so much more. It is a good story, one that consumes your thoughts and leaves you satisfied.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Great story.

    I loved this book. The story was not what I expected when I began to read it. I love when authors can tap into my emotions and I feel like I am there with the characters. I didn't want to put the book down because I did not know how it would end. I was sad when I realized I reach the end and look forward to reading more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    I cannot leave my praise unspoken

    With each page I was pulled deeper and deeper into this slice of Southern fiction. I wanted to know the "secret" they were hiding, the secret the house held, the secret the town held. As I read, I fell in love with the lead character. She was confident, strong-willed, and yet longed for what it appeared she could not have- the respect of her husband. Then, as I was lulled into a rhythm by the daily dealings in this picturesque southern town with its vivid and rich imagery, wham, the "secret" was revealed. I may have let out an audible "Ohhh, my." I don't want to give it away, but you just have to read this book. It is so beautifully written, so true-to-form of southern towns, you'll delight in each page turn. I loved this book so much that for weeks I've been sending all my friends to go get their copies- because I'm not giving them mine!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Quenching as a tall glass of sweet tea!

    Southern charm wafts from this fragrant story of a woman at the crossroads of life, remodeling a family heirloom home in need of more than detailed renovation. Peeling back the mysteries within its walls, Jo-Lynn Hunter's heritage and failing marriage undergo rediscovery as page after page of fresh secrets draw the reader into Jo-Lynn's heart and mounting predicaments. Should she hide the startling revelations about her family, which could alter many lives in her childhood community, or let the confidential matters remain?

    The first person plot keeps pace despite deep description, although those who prefer tight prose might find the microscopic detail distracting. The house is as much a character as the eccentric story people. This captivating contemporary story is an interesting study of generations altered by decisions good and evil. Eva Marie Everson's southern drawl spins a tale as quenching as a tall glass of sweet tea. Highly recommended leisure reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Renovation or Restoration?

    Eva Marie Everson hooks you from the first paragaraph with "It snowed the day we buried Uncle Jim. Not the kind of snow that flurries about your face or drives itself sideways, turning the world into a blinding sheet of white. This was angels dancing on air."
    Jo Lynn Hunter returns home to Cottonwood, Georgia, to attend a funeral and stays to restore the family house to its former grandeur. Against her husband's wishes, Jo Lynn begins the work only to uncover family secrets - secrets that threaten not only her life but also her view of life.
    Southern charm oozes from this novel like butter in a bowl of grits. You can smell the fried chicken and hear the ice crackle in a glass of sweet tea. It's a way of life that Eva captures perfectly. You won't just read this book you will live it. Along the way, you might discover what is important and what is better left unspoken.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    Haunting tale of suspense and romance

    Things Left Unspoken by Eva Marie Everson is an enthralling book about family secrets. When Jo-Lynn's marriage starts to fall apart and her great-uncle Jim dies, she returns to her family home in Cottonwood, Georgia. Her great-aunt Stella informs her that she's selling the family home to be turned into a museum but on the condition that Jo-Lynn does the restoration. She soon finds that the renovations aren't just being done on the house, and that as the house is emptied of personal belongings, long held family secrets may come to light. Jo-Lynn is a terrific protagonist making the story immediate and real. Everson builds the suspense slowly by revealing the secrets a little at a time making it impossible to put this book down! She describes Jo-Lynn's love of family and home in a way that makes the reader fall in love with it all as well. It's a real Southern Gothic thriller with romance and faith.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Compelling, beautiful story of a family's secrets and the unraveling of those.

    Eva Marie Everson has a masterpiece here. I did not want to stop reading! With every turn of the page, you are pulled into a world of secrets kept and what happens as they are revealed. The main character is very likeable and goes on a journey of self discovery as she navigates through a restoration of an old family home that has more to it than meets the eye. Great story, has many twists and turns that will keep you guessing, and you will not be able to leave this beautiful story. It will stay with you long after you've finished reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    A true southern novel you don't want to miss!

    You can't convincingly write about the south if you haven't lived there. In her new book, Things Left Unspoken, Eva Marie Everson proves her roots...and she's southern through and through! The characters and plot are believable, as if they're real people and events from the pages of life. I remember it all so well. Compelling. You won't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Full of mystery and discovery. A great read!

    A marriage in turmoil, family secrets long kept hidden, and a renovation of the family's old southern home unravel more than enough drama to keep you turning the pages (I think I read it within 2-3 days)! Eva Marie Everson has created a wonderful novel, full of mystery, a little danger, and discovery. Discovery about the family's secrets? Yes. But also discovery for the main character about what has been truly missing up until this point in her life.

    Will it save her marriage? Will she regret finding the answers, to the secrets hidden in her family's past? Have they put her in real danger? You'll have to read the book to find out.

    Eva has woven a great story about several generations of a family. When main character, Jo-Lynn Hunter, takes on the task of renovating the family home in the dwindling town of Cottonwood, Georgia she desires nothing more than the satisfaction of a job well done, on her own terms (and a little time away from the stress growing in her marriage).

    But the past doesn't always desire to stay hidden. And even family members you know quite well, may have things they are trying desperately to hide.

    Get the book. You won't be disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    Great writing, good plot. Good rainy day novel!

    I don't often take the time to read novels these days, but when my friend Eva Marie Everson wrote Things Left Unspoken, I had to read it. Reading a novel is a guilty pleasure for me, and if I take the time to read, I want it to be good.

    Things Left Unspoken did not disappoint. Each chapter pulled me into the next. I found myself living the life of Jo-Lynn as she struggled with her own now-empty marriage, and found the perfect work project to buy her time while she sorted through her thoughts and feelings. Marriage is often hard, and many women will identify with this angst. I am so committed to the sanctity of marriage, but I didn't want to see any superficial treatment here.

    And I didn't. There was depth of character throughout, and twists and turns of plot to keep me guessing right to the end.

    I'm going to recommend this to my friends. And I am already looking forward to Eva Marie's next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Learning Secrets of the Past, Treasures of the Future, & Things Best Left Unspoken

    Things Left Unspoken by Eva Marie Everson is three hundred and eighty-one pages of pure Southern delight. The novel allows the reader to adventure through life, romance, true love, wisdom gained with age and life experiences, dealing with life's curve balls, conflicts of love and life, heartaches that make us stronger, and God's fingerprints on our lives to make us the people He wants us to become. If you enjoy Southern fiction, you'll love this novel. I devoured it in a couple of days.

    Jo Lynn Hunter and her Aunt Stella make it women's fiction. Jo Lynn deals with current marriage problems and feels she's not at home in the life her husband has chosen for them. Something is missing and leaves her feeling empty inside. At life's crossroads, she takes on a project to rebuild an old Southern family home and finds herself restored in the process. Family secrets reveal their ugly challenges and place Jo Lynn in extreme danger. She rises to the challenge and refuses to be chased from her project of love.

    Aunt Stella illustrates true love and the wisdom of ripe old age. Valentine, her teenage love, grows into a wise elderly man, who declares if the foundation is strong, anything can be rebuilt. Jo Lynn learns the secrets of the past and the treasures for a happy future, even as she learns some things are best left unspoken.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1