Customer Reviews for

The Things That Keep Us Here

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Will Make You Think

Peter and Ann Brooks are married but separated when H5N1 Avian Flu hits the global human race. The virus travels and mutates so quickly that is kills 1 out of every 2 people it touches and causes communities all over the world to take drastic matters in order to survive...
Peter and Ann Brooks are married but separated when H5N1 Avian Flu hits the global human race. The virus travels and mutates so quickly that is kills 1 out of every 2 people it touches and causes communities all over the world to take drastic matters in order to survive. When their own sleepy town goes into quarantine, their two girls, Kate and Maddie, have a hard time dealing with the isolation and many deaths around them.

This is a gripping story- very sad, and all too close to home, thanks to the recent H1N1 news. The story quickly builds to the pace of a feverish thriller and keeps you on edge until the very end. The Things That Keep Us Here deals with a distinctly scary issue that makes you think about your own family and how you would react if someday this shocking situation was a reality.

Buckley will make you believe in the triumph of the human spirit through the worst of times.

posted by ChelseaW on December 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A gripping plot, likable characters, yet this one falls a bit short of its mark.

There are a lot of books out right now that deal with the end of the world, or a pandemic of some sort. This one deals with H5N1 and from its name alone, you can imagine the similarities to H1N1. As I was reading, I couldn't help but think about the H1N1 scare here, and...
There are a lot of books out right now that deal with the end of the world, or a pandemic of some sort. This one deals with H5N1 and from its name alone, you can imagine the similarities to H1N1. As I was reading, I couldn't help but think about the H1N1 scare here, and how it could have been much, much worse. In this novel, things take a turn for the worse and Ann is forced to make some tough decisions. As a mother, I could easily relate to Ann. The decisions she made were not made easily. They were made out of fear, and an intense desire to keep her family safe. I felt that the author did a good job of making Ann's situation desperate enough for the reader to understand her decisions.

There is a lot that didn't work for me though. This is a story of survival yet when opportunities present themselves, Ann and her husband Peter, don't always take advantage of them. If there is any chance of your kids starving, you are going to do what you have to do to ensure that they don't. There are moments when they do take advantage of a situation, but not always and the inconsistency bothered me. As I was reading, I found myself asking about water or food or weapons, etc. To me, these things are basic necessities when dealing with a pandemic of this magnitude.

To me, a couple of the characters really didn't have much of a purpose except to cause conflict between the main characters. One example of this is a young woman named Shazia. As I reader, I never really got to know her and I wondered what her purpose was besides the obvious, which I won't go into as it would give some of the story away. Her character, along with her back story seemed a bit choppy to me and could have been a bit more developed.

Overall, the situations that I expected to be the most difficult ended up being almost too easy. Too pat. Water becomes an issue and then all of a sudden there's a stash of water at your convenience. Not very believable. A trip to the hospital, in the middle of a pandemic. and she gets in and out in under an hour. Not likely.

I received this ARC several months ago so I don't know how the final version turned out, but the version that I received was a bit disjointed and could have used a bit more editing. There were some overused passages that could have been weeded out and perhaps a heavier hand could have been used as far as keeping things consistent. Without these distractions, I think I would have enjoyed the book quite a bit more.

I recently read In a Perfect World, which also deals with a pandemic, but it was much more moving for me than The Things That Keep Us Here. However, I would definitely read something from this author author again as this was Buckley's debut novel and parts of it did show some promise.

posted by TiBookChatter on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sad, but true

    A startling look at what our future could bring. An in depth look at getting back to the basics and caring less about material things and more about relationships, caring, and sharing. A must read for everyone. Power and wealth no longer mean anything. Hard work and teamwork are key.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Brooks family trials, tribulations and triumphs serve as a microcosm of what is faced by other people throughout the world

    Peter and Ann Brooks separate after he informs her he does not love her. A year later single mom Ann works and raises their two daughters. She learns that the virulent form of H5N1 virus has reached phase five, leading to the closing of all schools by the feds. Accompanied by her neighbor Ann goes to the store fearing quarantine so she stocks up on necessities. When Ann returns home, she finds her estranged husband and his co-worker Shazia there.

    Ann invites them in to stay for now but in separate beds. The Feds declare the anticipated quarantine in which everyone is to remain indoors. Over time as the pandemic spreads, the people inside the Brooks' home become claustrophobic; food supplies dwindle as she bought for herself and two youngsters and not two additional adults; electricity goes out during a storm; and firewood is low. Ann's best friend is dying from the virus so leaves her son in front of Ann's house. She fears bringing the child inside as the disease is probably incubating inside him, but Peter overrules her. Peter also takes care of a stray dog whose owner died, but Ann resents his using their dwindling food he gives to the child and canine. Everyone remains in danger unless a vaccine is manufactured as half the population is dead, others are dying, and sustenance supplies are becoming scarce.

    The Brooks family trials, tribulations and triumphs serve as a microcosm of what is faced by other people throughout the world. Some become heroic helping the needy; others try to protect their immediate loved ones; and finally those exist who commit legal and moral crimes. Ann owns this apocalyptic thriller as she feels strongly that her kids come before others in an imploding world gone mad; the opposite of Peter. In her debut, Carla Buckley provides a thought-provoking thriller that asks her readers who would they become if civilization somewhat vanished.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling, Topical and Thought Provoking

    The Things That Keep Us Here by Carla Buckley

    "The Things That Keep Us Here" is a phenomenal debut thriller about what happens to one family when a virulent bird flu pandemic hits the USA. And it has the potential to kill about 50 our of every one hundred that it infects. And then that potential turns to reality.

    This is the story of one broken family coming to grips of the reality that is America during an unseen and unprepared for emergency.

    I've read so far this year, about 250 books.this is the one that I will remember for years to come. I've just finished it and I want to grab it up and start rereading it . It was an utterly amazing book especially for a debut. The characters are so well written that I came to think of them as friends of mine. The plot was very well thought out, fast paced, chilling, thrilling and yet tender. This book preys on our deepest emotions and fears, it also makes us ask the really hard moral and ethical questions of ourselves. It makes us wonder if we could cope just half as well as the Brooks family does. If we would come out of something like this with our sanity even half as intact as they did.

    I look forward to Carla Buckley's next novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Loved this book

    Once I started, I could not stop reading. It felt like i knew these characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great read

    I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Breathtaking

    It was amazing with all the twist and turns...im only in 6th grade and i loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    disturbing but in a good way

    Had a hard time putting this book down. Really made me think what if???
    Going to go stock up on canned foods, baby wipes, firewood and a gun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!! a must have

    I love reading books. I was at school, and I saw that my friend was reading this book. So I saw the author, and she is my friend's mom. I knew I had to read it. So, I got it from my library and I read it. I could not put it down. I showed it to my mom, and she read it. Now my sister is going to read it. Carla Buckley wrote an amazing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    I waited for the price to come down on the ebook and I am so glad it finally came down into a reasonable range... This was a really, really good book...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put it down!

    This book was great! I wasn't able to stop reading it!

    From page 1, this book draws you in. This book focuses on a family trying to survive a flu pandemic. The trials and tribulations that the family goes through are real, and the panic and pain are written beautifully.

    I encourage everyone to read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Paced and thought provoking

    What would happen to each of us if we only had our immediate family to depend on? After the H5N1 pandemic breaks out killing 50 out 100 people that's exactly what happens. A true dichotomy develops between the pre-pandemic world where a structured civilization existed to the pandemic world where chaos reigns and brings out the worst in each of us.

    I could not put this book down. It was face paced and thought provoking. It might be that the timing of this book and the H1N1 virus out break grabbed my attention, but I think it was more the main character Ann who intrigued me. It made me question, what lengths would I go to protect my family and how quickly would I resort to wild west tactics when the technologically based world I come to depend on ceased to exist.

    I eagerly await Carla Buckley's next novel as "Things That Keep us Here" is truly a great read and one that I will recommend to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    excellent book

    kept my attention till the end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    What a detailed description of what life can soon become! Awesome book!

    Carla Buckley has written one of the most engrossing, and fasinating books that I have read in a long time. The in depth descriptions of her characters pull at your heart strings and you want to cheer for the family and try to help save them. Then it brings out questions in your own life, what would I do if the H5n1 flu hit our world. Do I have enough food to survive? Do I have enough medical supplies etc. I will tell you, I do now! This is a must read book. This is reality! Carla Buckley is a master storyteller. I can't wait for her next book to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1