Customer Reviews for

Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

90 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.

Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.  Even those who strongly disagree with him, acknowledge that he is a brilliant man.  Calling him names adds nothing to the forum...perhaps people should read the book with an open mind and comment on the c...
Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.  Even those who strongly disagree with him, acknowledge that he is a brilliant man.  Calling him names adds nothing to the forum...perhaps people should read the book with an open mind and comment on the content instead of showing their ignorance.  People of all political stripes should find it interesting and informative reading. 

posted by deidre35 on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I knew this book was an accumulation of the author's columns but I really thought the content would be more current. Krauthammer's use of foreign phrases to describe an event is really meant for the New York City crowd, certainly not for me. I admire the author and re...
I knew this book was an accumulation of the author's columns but I really thought the content would be more current. Krauthammer's use of foreign phrases to describe an event is really meant for the New York City crowd, certainly not for me. I admire the author and respect what he is doing for conservatism but his musings on events of the past 4-5 years would be much more interesting.

posted by Noskcire on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    If Charles is an idiot, then what does that make you pal. Kraut

    If Charles is an idiot, then what does that make you pal. Krauthammer is thoughtful in his writings and also thorough.

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Pure Krauthammer with all his wit and wisdom. Highly recommend.

    Dr. Krauthammer is one of the most interesting, erudite people I've read or heard, and this book proves it. A discussion between him and Buckley would have been interesting.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    An amazing fellow! Dr. Krauthammer is an amazing intellect, let

    An amazing fellow!
    Dr. Krauthammer is an amazing intellect, let alone a delightful philosopher [I can't help identifying with his basic drive to find a congruent structure for the human events that make up our history, especially since we have 2 mind-blowing centuries of scientific discovery happening simultaneously!] But have no doubt- His mental faculties are not only much more impressive than a lot of the "talking heads", but his is a wonderful, refreshing perspective of the good-bad-and-ugly of the last couple hundred years. And some sweet reminiscence of our better [moral] past. In just the first chapter you get fresh insights on where some of the global politics have gone hay-wire. Buy all means, I mean by all means buy it and see for yourself! Kentu

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Recommend

    In the middle of reading it, very good read! But then I like Charles!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    A Must Read

    This is a compilation of editorials written by Krauthhammer that provide an interesting foray through the mind of a converted liberal. I had heard him on the FOX channel a few times and wasn't quite sure what his leanings were but this cleared things up completely.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    So often, important things go unremarked...

    I've always had great respect and appreciation for Charles Krauthammer's wisdom and insight. This book is primarily a compendium of highlights of his articles over the last twenty or so years. The content and context of topics varies widely, but they are universally well done. I found it to be a very enjoyable read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    great read

    I enjoy Mr. Krauthammer's articles in the newspaper and this book is
    a compilation of many of his columns. He is a brilliant and interesting man. Good read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    A must for all Krauthammer fans

    Thought provoking, somwetimes quite surprising. Sometimes a little difficult to grasp the sublties of his references to film or book characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended if you like Charles

    Written only as Charles can do so. Very pithy.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    ENJOYED HIS INSIGHTS ON DIFFERENT SUBJECTS. VERY INTELLIGENT MAN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2