Customer Reviews for

Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics

Average Rating 4
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

93 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.

Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.  Even those who strongly disagree with him, acknowledge that he is a brilliant man.  Calling him names adds nothing to the forum...perhaps people should read the book with an open mind and comment on the c...
Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.  Even those who strongly disagree with him, acknowledge that he is a brilliant man.  Calling him names adds nothing to the forum...perhaps people should read the book with an open mind and comment on the content instead of showing their ignorance.  People of all political stripes should find it interesting and informative reading. 

posted by deidre35 on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I knew this book was an accumulation of the author's columns but I really thought the content would be more current. Krauthammer's use of foreign phrases to describe an event is really meant for the New York City crowd, certainly not for me. I admire the author and re...
I knew this book was an accumulation of the author's columns but I really thought the content would be more current. Krauthammer's use of foreign phrases to describe an event is really meant for the New York City crowd, certainly not for me. I admire the author and respect what he is doing for conservatism but his musings on events of the past 4-5 years would be much more interesting.

posted by Noskcire on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.

    Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.  Even those who strongly disagree with him, acknowledge that he is a brilliant man.  Calling him names adds nothing to the forum...perhaps people should read the book with an open mind and comment on the content instead of showing their ignorance.  People of all political stripes should find it interesting and informative reading. 

    93 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Dr. Krauthammer is a brilliant man.  He is a Harvard-educated do

    Dr. Krauthammer is a brilliant man.  He is a Harvard-educated doctor as well as a Pulitzer Prize winner.  Even if you don't agree with his politics, his intelligence cannot be disputed.  I would love to be able to have him as a dinner guest.

    That said Cheyl44CP is obviously unable to accept anyone whose views do not match with hers and I suspect the only prize she has ever won is a Moon Pie at a tractor pull.

    49 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Cheryl44CP must have stumbled on this site looking for free stuf

    Cheryl44CP must have stumbled on this site looking for free stuff... Her comment would indicate that the most intellectual thing she does is read the back of cereal boxes...

    42 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Very intelligent Man

    Very intelligent Man

    31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Intelligent and truthful, best political commentary out there an

    Intelligent and truthful, best political commentary out there and just a brilliant man.

    24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Krauthammer is a brilliant and impressive man.  It's easy enough

    Krauthammer is a brilliant and impressive man.  It's easy enough to simply be in awe of him purely because he refused to let his physical fate dictate the rest of his life.  He is truly a hero in that sense and everyone should be able to see that regardless of your politics.  What impresses me the most is his ability to think and to translate his thoughts into a product that is easy to clearly follow.  It's a great talent and he does it with style.  For those who oppose his political views it is clear to see they don't have anything of real substance to counter with so they simply resort to pettiness.  It's a bit pathetic and quite typical.  There is no real substance to the complaint.  I suspect the anger results more from the lack of their own ability to say anything meaningful.  After all, so few people are really able to think things through these days.  To respond to the specific comment that it would have been better to focus on events in the past 4-5 years…  that simply wasn't the focus of this book.  He clearly stated that in his foreword.  Studying psychology, historical politics and how it relates to present day is essential.  If you are unable to unravel and understand the past, you'll be doomed to repeat the same mistakes in the future.  Unfortunately, when a large majority of society is comfortable letting other people make decisions for them, we may very well be heading in that direction.       

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    My politics run deep blue yet Things That Matter is a great read

    While Mr. Krauthammer and I would disagree on many policy issues and how to best revitalize America's place in this competitive world; reading such a compendium of his writing on a wide range of topics was truly enjoyable and a wonderful reminder that while we live across a vast expanse of geography we are individuals with many shared interests. It would make a great Christmas gift for anyone on your list.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Charles Krauthammer is one of the most thoughtful and intelligen

    Charles Krauthammer is one of the most thoughtful and intelligent political analysts of our time.  When anything major hits the news, I am always looking for what Charles has to say about it.  This book is no exception ... Very well constructed perspectives informed by facts.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    I am a fun of Charles Krauthammer. I turn up the volume on my T

    I am a fun of Charles Krauthammer. I turn up the volume on my TV when it is his turn to speak on Fox Special Report .
    Very intelligent.


    always have interesting to say that Ilearn from him even at my age.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    A Brilliant Read From A Brilliant Mind

    Charles Krauthammer's "Things That Matter" is a retrospective ride through the headlines via the eyes of one who has observed the intricacies of life with an objective eye, acute observation skills, eloquent diagnostics into man and his place in the workings of society. All told with a voluminous, colorful vocabulary and often with tongue in cheek humor.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Outstanding¿.our federal government leaders should all read and take Charles's advice!

    So much common sense in his articles. America needs to hear the conservative side of issues loud and clear to offset our mostly liberal media opinions. Well done, Charles!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Excellent reading! Krauthammer is one of the most knowldgable and revered people of our times. It was wonderful to be able to learn more about what makes this super-intelligent and insightful man tick.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Great book that is well worth the time and money. Brilliant man

    Great book that is well worth the time and money. Brilliant man who is both wise and well spoken.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    A Must Read

    The final article in this book is the absolute best article I have ever read! It decimates liberal foriegn policy in a elegant and thorough way that asserts itself and has no counter arguement. A MUST READ

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    I would vote for Charles for President. Some intelligent common

    I would vote for Charles for President. Some intelligent common sense would do wonders for this country.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Excellent read. As an "Independent," I find Krauthamme

    Excellent read. As an "Independent," I find Krauthammer a "stand-alone" in his ability to add 
    rational, provocative, intelligent thought to current political narratives. Highly recommend. 

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    WOW!!! I'm telling the everyone I know about this remarkable boo

    WOW!!! I'm telling the everyone I know about this remarkable book and Mister Krauthammer! Much todo about EVERYTHING !!! 

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Highly recommended-not for the faint of political heart

    This author is a historian of political history. Exceedingly well-written, witty, and at times
    frightening in its revelations about current events, the essays kept me close to my dictionary and riveted to the pages from beginning to end.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    The final chapter says it all

    The final chapter succinctly outlines the choices we face as a nation and contrasts our current path of apology and self deprication versus the possibilties we have as a nation, although sometimes flawed, but a nation that never ceases to provide relief to the world's disasters and has served as a balance for the world against the tyranous desires of countries like North Korea,Iran and perhaps in the future,China. As i read that last chapter I could help reflect on several books I read about our involvement, albeit late, in World War II. Our can do attitude at home mobilized our manufacturing capability to supply almost the entire allied effort and our GI's , numbering in the millions, sacrificed so much to save the world from the tyranny of Nazism. How sad a contrast that the determination and "pride in America" of that generation has neen replaced by the apologetic, self doubt that has become a hallmark of the current administration.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Great book

    Clear, insightful and necessary information for anyone interested in what is happening to this country at the highest political levels.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5