Customer Reviews for

Things Your Dog Doesn't Want You to Know: Eleven Courageous Canines Tell All

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    I don't know how many of you know this but I'm a huge animal lov

    I don't know how many of you know this but I'm a huge animal lover, at the last count we had 2 gerbils, 3 hamsters, 2 cats, 2 budgies and 1 golden retriever in our house that goes by the name of Annie so when my favourite book tour company sent me an invite for this book I just had to have it.

    The day I got it I remember flipping through it randomly and laughing hysterically with my mother who though the book from what she saw was the cutest thing. It also got the kiss of approval from Annie (She licks everything!). So once I got Annie's approval I knew it would be a great book and it was.

    I mean if you're looking for a serious read and came upon this then you took a wrong turn at Albuquerque Doc. This book had me giggling and laughing hysterically from page one. I loved all the dogs and their little journalish entries. Each dog had their own unique little personalities or in the case of some of the dogs big personalities.

    I loved the cleverness of the book. I love how the book was written in such a way that the reader could put it down whenever they felt like it (but let's be honest who would want to put it down?). It's a great book to read when you're a bit down, if it's a cloudy day or if you just want to have a laugh and think about what your dog might say about you if they were able to talk.

    I would recommend this book to everyone but especially the animal lovers out there, this would make the perfect birthday or Christmas present because it has something for all ages to enjoy. I know that I'm going to have a hard time getting my copy back from my mom because she likes it so much! So what are you waiting for folks?! Go get your copy!!



    *I received a free copy in exchange for my free and honest review. I was not compensated in any way and all thoughts and opinions expressed therein are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings First, what a c

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    First, what a cute concept! There are many times when I am spending time with our pup Charlotte and I am just wondering what is going on in her mind. Often I wonder why she does certain things and what she thinks about me and our life. I chuckled often reading the stories from these different dogs and the issues they had with their humans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Tell-All Book

    Dear Human! What would happen if your dog could write you a letter? Things your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know lets you in on all of those secrets your dog is thinking. Eleven dogs, Axelrod, Bandana, Dimples, Tinkerbell, Orson, Sophie, Sarge, Charlie, Moonbeam, Gabby and Rufus T. share their dog-thoughts in the form of letters to their owner/parents.

    Some of the essays are funny, some strange, and a couple brought tears to my eyes. You can pretty much guess most of the topics such as food, toys, digging, bad habits, peeing, - well, you know, dog stuff. Just as a warning, I would rate this book PG because of some of the topics discussed.

    The book is visually pleasant and fun to read. The pages have different backgrounds with some looking like stationery, paper on a clipboard and some are scrapbook style. The pages are colorful and on heavy glossy paper. So, if you are ready for 11 courageous canines to tell all, you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended- you must read it!!

    I usually give my opinion of a book that I am reviewing at the end of the review, but this time I will open with it. I found Things Your Dog Doesn't Want You To Know by Hy Conrad and Jeff Johnson to be everything a book should be. It is engaging, creative and memorable. Each of the 115 essays is presented in the words of one of eleven different dogs. After reading the first sentence of the first essay, as far as I was concerned, I believed I was listening to a dog.

    I tried to pick a favorite dog or maybe a favorite essay. I found this to be impossible. I found all the canines to be irresistible and each essay is memorable. The dogs discuss a number of topics. In I Will Never Be Full, Orson, a Bulldog, readily admits he hasn't been hungry since he was a week old. He'll be happy only when he finally explodes. He fills his days checking his food bowl and takes delight in the two dinners he gets while his humans are mad at each other. Tinkerbell, a Chihuahua, discusses birthdays in You Can Forget My Birthday. She makes it clear that she doesn't know when her birthday is and that dogs do not celebrate birthdays. "If you really want to know, we celebrate naps and escaping from the backyard and the death of cats." She doesn't want to appear ungrateful for her birthday party which was held in a tent. There were even cupcakes with lighted candles. However, all this led to the appearance of fire trucks.
    Especially moving are the words from Sophie in I'm Not Irreplaceable. She eloquently says "Maybe I'm unique because I'm part of these memories you'll never have again".

    There is a great deal more in this book and it is so worth reading. It is both humorous and touching. If a dog is a part of your life then you must read this book. If you are considering welcoming a dog into your life this book will help prepare you for what is to come. I came away wiser after reading this book. I highly recommend reading it.


    I received this book free of charge through Review the Book and I give this review of my own free will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    It was okay...

    I did not find this book laugh out loud funny. However, if you like mysteries and want to read something from a dog's point of view, I would recommend any Chet & Bernie Mystery by Spencer Quinn. That series really is laugh out loud funny and I can't seem to put those books down until I have read every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Super cute book!

    Since I received this as an ARC, it was not the complete book, so I can't really give a full review since I only got to read the first 25 pages, or the first 7 stories in the complete version of this book that people who purchase it will get. The book is written from the point of view of the dogs, which makes it all the more funny. You get a rather comical look at what might go on in their brains.

    This first story was my favorite; it reminded me of my dog, Tux, 100%. It has to do with dogs who want what we call in our house the "double feed." Our dog is such a mooch and it just made me LOL, it was so funny, I got my husband's attention and read it aloud to him. He was LOL too.

    I also liked the second story about a dog that pee's in the herb garden. It made me think, well I better be sure to wash all green things super well before I eat them!

    I wasn't much connected with the other stories, but I am sure there is something in this book for everyone. I will probably buy the actual book when it comes out because the little bit I read was so funny that I want to read more. I hope there is a story about a dog who takes forever to go to the bathroom. I want to know what is going on in my dogs head when he gets in the position like 8 times before he actually goes.

    This book, at least what I read. is appropriate for people of all ages. The pages are very colorful and it has tons of pictures to make you connect with the character telling the story. The stories are short and would make a good bedtime story book, or if you are one of those people who put books in the bathroom, it would be great in there too.

    I thoroughly enjoyed what I read of this book and am eagerly awaiting its release so that I can get the full version!

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist parents and teachers in recommending appropriate books for your kids to read.

    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1