Customer Reviews for

The Things a Brother Knows

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    One of the best books I've ever read

    Touching, tender and subtle - the story of Levi's effort to reconnect with his soldier brother Boaz is one of the best books I've ever read. Boaz returns from war and is changed; Levi wants to understand him, but can't. So Levi joins Boaz on a walk from Boston to D.C. in a story that's ultimately about connection - whether two people can or can't connect. Dana Reinhardt conveys with one sentence - sometimes even one word - what it would take lesser writers a paragraph to do. She trusts the reader implicitly to understand the big moments without ever signaling "this is a big moment." And in so doing, the story weaves its way into your heart and under your skin and stays with you long after you've finished reading. A beautiful story about humanity, connection, love and healing that should be read by everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    Amazing and heartwarming srory... loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great worth the price

    When i saw the reveiws i was undecided about if i wanted to buy a book or look in the free section for something else im super glad that i bought this book it really is a tuoching story of connection it worth the money believe me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great

    This book was assigned for summer reading and i hate reading and i read it in less then 2 days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! Boaz is coming home. That's what the reader learns early on. Boaz is everything that the narrator, Levi, is not. Boaz was the star athlete at school. He could have his pick of colleges and scholarships. And (at least according to Levi), he had the most gorgeous girlfriend in the world. But against everyone's wishes, especially their parents', Boaz enlists in the Marines. The Katznelsons had relocated to the United States from Israel. Boaz's parents can't understand his need to join the military. After all, they are not in Israel anymore, and in the United States, it's not mandatory to enlist. But Boaz has a need inside that he can't convey to his family. Now, it is three years later, and Boaz is home. THE THINGS A BROTHER KNOWS is told through the eyes of Boaz's high school brother, Levi. The two used to be close before Boaz started driving in high school. Now, Levi just wants to know what makes Boaz tick. Since Boaz arrived home, he's been locked in his room. Levi knows that something is wrong with his brother, but the rest of the family won't admit that Boaz has changed. When Boaz asks to borrow Levi's computer, Levi begins to snoop at the web sites Boaz is visiting. Levi discovers that Boaz is planning a trip to various locations down the East Coast. But he can't figure out the final destination, nor what Boaz wants to do on the trip. Boaz tells their parents that he wants to travel the Appalachian Trail. Levi knows it's a big lie, but he's consumed with the "why" of the trip rather than anything else. Levi manages to catch up with Boaz on his walk, and the two brothers work their way to Boaz's final destination. I have to admit that this is the first book by Dana Reinhardt I truly loved. I enjoyed HOW TO BUILD A HOUSE quite a bit, but THE THINGS A BROTHER KNOWS, I loved. Levi Katznelson (what a great last name!) was a spirited, sarcastic (at times) character that you just had to love. He reminded me a lot of the characters that John Green creates. The story is definitely not an easy topic and very relevant in today's climate, but it was one that needed to be told. And is told well. Levi's persistence slowly works its magic on his brother, and by the end of the story, all is revealed, though the ending may not be what the reader is expecting. There are highs and lows in the story that work beautifully together to tell the turmoil of one returning soldier, and the brother who loves him and wants to understand what happened to change him so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Love it!

    This book reminds me of my brother. I will always love him and hell him through tough times.<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Great book with real issues and views that any sibling of a sold

    Great book with real issues and views that any sibling of a soldier can understand and connect to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    A great premise, but only average execution The reader learns


    A great premise, but only average execution

    The reader learns early on that Boaz is coming home from his time serving overseas. Boaz's younger brother, Levi, excitedly awaits Boaz's return, hoping that things will go back to normal. But Boaz returns from war a changed man. He is distant, and removed. Boaz spends all of his time locked in his room, not speaking to anyone. Levi worries for his brother, and he tries and reconnect with him. When Boaz vanishes again, lying to his parents about where he is going, Levi follows Boaz. Determined to figure out how to get his brother back, Levi embarks on a journey to figure out who his brother has become after his tour, and how he can get him back home again. This novel shows just strong the bonds of brotherhood are, and what brothers will do for one another. This novel explores the relationship between two brothers and the power of family. A book not about siblings, The Things a Brother Knows also examines the lasting impacts of war. Although well done, this book was not as emotionally charged as I was expecting. It was good, but it had the potential to be great. The humor is somewhat dry, and the whole book comes across a little flat. This book is definitely more for younger readers. All in all, The Things a Brother Knows was a simple read to pass the time, nothing more, nothing less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    After reading The Things a Brother Knows by Dana Reinhardt, I re

    After reading The Things a Brother Knows by Dana Reinhardt, I realized that even though a piece of paper might say somebody is fine, they might not actually be. The book revolves around Levi Katznelson, a junior in high school whose brother Boaz has just returned from three tours of duty in Afghanistan. All Boaz does is stay locked up in his room looking at old maps. Soon enough Boaz leaves on a &ldquo;trip&rdquo; and Levi tags along to see what his brother is really up to. This is a great book, and has taught me to get down to the bottom of things when I know someone is trying to evade how they really feel. I really liked the book because it didn&rsquo;t revolve around a marine during his deployment, but after, and how Boaz has changed. It was a nice change of pace to read a book relating to war but without all the killing and shooting. -Hank

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    A little off topic.

    I want to start off by saying I loved this book. But a reveiw bptherd me alot.Someone stated to go and read the hunger games. Please, just because its realistic fiction and not mainstream Sifi, dont give it a bad reviw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Auw

    Very cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Omg : p Omg uno word :(

    Oog :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Thoughtful

    Easy to read yet makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Sweet!

    Really lightweight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Wow

    Wow this book was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2