Customer Reviews for

Things a Monkey Could Cook

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Love, love, love this collection of recipes and writing

This is a fantastic collection of recipes, all sorts, and many of everyone's favorite foods. The wonderful part is that they are written out so that you're getting a cooking lesson with each one. The writing is warm, witty, helpful and informative...like your favorit...
This is a fantastic collection of recipes, all sorts, and many of everyone's favorite foods. The wonderful part is that they are written out so that you're getting a cooking lesson with each one. The writing is warm, witty, helpful and informative...like your favorite aunt is talking to you the whole time, teaching you to cook. A delightful book for new or long time cooks, or if you just want to really learn how to master a dish or recipe the "right way". I've been cooking for many years, from preparing dinner every night for a house full of family to baking cakes and pies for fun, and I've got three shelves full of cook books, and I would rank this one as one of the best !

posted by mpc814 on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This sounds stupid

The summary makes me feel like a child. Very degrading, so i can't even bring myself to get it even for free.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Love, love, love this collection of recipes and writing

    This is a fantastic collection of recipes, all sorts, and many of everyone's favorite foods. The wonderful part is that they are written out so that you're getting a cooking lesson with each one. The writing is warm, witty, helpful and informative...like your favorite aunt is talking to you the whole time, teaching you to cook. A delightful book for new or long time cooks, or if you just want to really learn how to master a dish or recipe the "right way". I've been cooking for many years, from preparing dinner every night for a house full of family to baking cakes and pies for fun, and I've got three shelves full of cook books, and I would rank this one as one of the best !

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No need for hyperlinks...

    Please try the "find" feature built into the nook color to connect with the recipe you wish to turn to. I typed in Boston and it gave me a link to every page that said Boston in it. I chose the link to chapter twenty-four on Boston Cream Pie. It was quick. If you have an earlier nook, I hope you have this feature too. Very extensive free cookbook. I'm very happy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Im having fun reading this book

    I love the author's writing. She makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. Maybe because her humor reminds me of my mothers.

    She puts her words in a way that is easy for the beginner to not feel timid about learning to cook more.

    For me, I've been cooking for quite awhile having watched mom cook when I was growing up. Still I am finding great tips to help me expand my knowledge.

    Her pudding example reminds me of trying to make pasta sauce just like mom. Did it once in th 90s but thats all.

    I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I would give more stars if I could. Loved the free nook book so

    I would give more stars if I could. Loved the free nook book so much, I am ordering the hard copy to keep in my kitchen. I have been married 25 years and raised 2 kids. No one ever taught me how to put meals together or cook with less than 20 ingredients. I bought plenty of cookbooks through the years. This is by far the best. Simple, inexpensive, complete meals with most ingredients you already have on hand. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Good

    Good

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    This sounds stupid

    The summary makes me feel like a child. Very degrading, so i can't even bring myself to get it even for free.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Awsome

    Looks awsome i dont know cause im 12 but i love cooking as im a boy of course

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Love this cookbook.

    Step by step and so easy to follow. I really liked reading this cookbook. Love the pictures because they look real. This is a great book for beginners to use.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Excellent cook book, has a good variety of food and easy to foll

    Excellent cook book, has a good variety of food and easy to follow detailed instructions!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    :)

    466 pages and you can't touch to get to recipes nor any page number listed - good luck finding what you want!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Good

    This is by the far best free cookbook out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Would be much better referenced with navigation

    I hope the author does a bit more work on the Table of Contents to not only include chapter hyperlinks but also to the recipes to help locating that one you want now.
    Not read much of the book itself yet, but a brief look around shows promising recipes with some basic stuff more advanced cooks have picked up along their journey.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great cookbook

    Great cookbook

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    To:all you people

    You say the book is free but its not!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Did not like it

    Not my kind of book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Dear "poop"

    Rating a book terribly because of a joke you dont get? That is complete mattoid behavior. And yes, I'm 11.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Icefall

    A grey she cat with dark oceanic blue eyes studies the area her ears perked listening to every sound. She eats a small robin thanking StarClan for its life then takes a drink and falls asleep in the sun.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Stupid

    Doesnt make sense....thought it was stupid

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Poop

    This book was poop. Why would a monkey be in a cookbook

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1