Customer Reviews for

Think Confident, Be Confident: A Four-Step Program to Eliminate Doubt and Achieve Lifelong Self-Esteem

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Think Confident, Be Confident Leslie Sokol, PhD, & Marci G. Fox, PhD

    Think Confident, Be Confident - is a skillfully crafted book written in a plain non-technical style which any reader can understand. Doctors Sokol and Fox show the readers how their own unique mental and behavioral responses to situations over time can create misperceptions of doubt with regard to an individual's competence and desirability. By employing cognitive therapy techniques, they show how it is possible to replace feelings and thoughts of doubt with more positive feelings and thoughts based upon empirically gathered information and reinforcement. I personally found this book very insightful. I was surprised to find myself so clearly defined in its chapters. I have noticed many changes in how I view the world and myself since putting it into practice.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I didn't think I needed this book, I was wrong!

    When I began reading this book I thought I was going to read a bunch of pages written for people who don't like the way they look. That is what I think of when I think of low self-esteem, the lack of confidence physically. That is not at all what this book is like.

    Think Confident, Be Confident is about not having doubt and worry lead us into an over analyzing frenzy. I found the examples the book gave of situations in which our brain is sabotaging a situation where we need or should have confidence very accurate. There is one particular example dialogue between a husband and wife that my husband and I related to very much.

    I did learn a lot from this book, and it has changed my thinking. I am shocked to say so, because I went into this thinking I was plenty confident. Again, it's not about the lack of confidence physically. The book pretty much explains doubt and worry in situations, any situation, is our brain trying to break our confidence down in that moment. From that initial thought of doubt comes overanalyzing. For me personally, that is SO true. That is the case. I never associated that behavior as a lack of confidence, but it really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    very helpful and easy to understand

    clearly written and very informative. anyone with doubts can benefit from this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic book for lots of different people!

    I recently had the pleasure of reading Think Confident, Be Confident by Drs. Leslie Sokol and Marci Fox. This is an outstanding book for pretty much anyone because everyone has to deal with doubt throughout their lives. It's really how we learn to deal with doubt when it does surface that can determine whether or not doubt will cripple us or whether it is simply a minor annoyance.

    Thanks to Drs. Sokol and Fox and their four-step program, you can virtually eliminate doubt from your day-to-day existence. Drs. Sokol and Fox are specialists in cognitive behavior and with their guidance we can all lose self-doubt and achieve lifelong self-esteem for ourselves.

    Think Confident, Be Confident is a unique and interactive workbook allowing a person to learn quite a lot about themselves within a short amount of time. Step One (Label It) of the four-step program involves recognizing and labelling doubt when it surfaces. Step Two, Question It, addresses the reality of the doubt and whether it truly is warranted or not. Step Three, Rethink It, is fairly self-explanatory but very important. It allows the reader to replace the self-doubt with a more true and confident belief system. Only then can a person begin to smash away at the old habits and familiar patterns that we all develop over time. Step Four, Take Action, lets the reader think and behave in a much more productive and emboldened way. With this book, almost any reader can gain the proper self-tools and preparation to become a strong, confident, and uncompromising character. This is a great read and very useful for nearly any person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Need a confidence boost?

    Think Confident, Be Confident uses everyday examples that I could relate to. I never realized that the gestures from others that (purposely or accidentally) make you feel inferior can be easily ignored. Great book - I recommend it to any man or woman who has ever doubted themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    This has got to be one of the best and most informative Self-Help books around.

    I read this book and then-I read it again. It is one of the most intersting and self-motivating books I have ever read. I feel mentally capable of taking on the world because of the detailed tips you gave for improving my cognitive thinking. I can actually say that I haven't felt this comfortable in my own shoes in ages!!! Thank you so much DR. Sokol and Dr. Fox! Thank you for giving me something that I was able to take away from and for helping me improve my confidence!

    I will definitely keep an eye out for any future self-help books that you release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Think Confident, Be Confident

    This book is intelligently written. It is both informative and instructional. It provides lots of examples exemplified by 'characters' making it easy for the reader to relate to someone in the book. It also provides lots of examples of cognitive distortions and self defeating thinking so that the reader can recognize their own patterns of thought. This latter part is important as the reader will be able to relate to the thoughts without having to first generate them on their own (recognizing is easier than generating). I highly recommend it as an adjunct to therapy or as a self help book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    A Great Gift

    I read this book in two days and found it very helpful in rethinking some of the doubts I have had for years. I have thought of three friends who would benefit from this book so it will be my new gift for this season....The book is very clear and concise and easy to follow. There's much to think about after reading but I am convicned if I follow the steps given my life will become easier and many of my doubts and worries will be eliminated. The authors make it easy to follow their advice and knowledge and I am very happy I found this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bridget's Review

    For a long time I struggled with self doubt. I honestly thought that I wasn't as good as anyone else and that everything I thought, was stupid. This kind of thinking is not only harmful to you but it can actually cause your life to become miserable. I thought that I didn't deserve anything good and that led me on a downward path that just kept taking me lower and lower. I ended up marrying a guy that walked all over me and eventually turned violent. I was extremely blessed and was able to get out before the punches were aimed at me. Because I was already thinking so many bad things about myself, I thought that it was normal to hear him say those things to me as well.

    I have to admit that even though this was the lowest point of my life, I'm glad it happened and I would do it all over again. I am who I am today because of what I have been through. And I honestly believe that I went through this horrible marriage so that I could help others, so that I could find myself and realize that I deserve so much better and so that I would truly appreciate the love of a good man. For the most part, it's true: if you don't love yourself, no one else can love you.

    Anyway, even though I have come a long way and I'm continuing to educate myself on this stuff, I still have some work to do. It takes time and a lot of patience with yourself, buy you too can wake up from a fog and be who it is that you want to be. Confidence is a wonderful thing and everyone deserves to have pleasant thoughts about themselves. If you or someone you know struggles with their confidence, please, please, read this book. I'll be picking this up and re-reading it every time I need some reassurance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2