Customer Reviews for

Think Like a Cat: How to Raise a Well-Adjusted Cat--Not a Sour Puss

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    A book to read

    This is a book any cat lover should read...at least once in her/his life! Sure, Im absolutely serious about this: if you want to understand your cat buy this book... and read it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Pure Heaven

    I got married 8 months ago and my new husband disliked my cat. He wouldn't pet the cat or even fill his water bowl. The stress was becoming unbearable for all of us. Then I found this book. The other night, while I was getting into bed I noticed the most amazing thing...my husband was reading the book. At first he told me that he was just flipping through it but the next day he began telling me things he'd learned. Bless you, Pam Johnson-Bennett. This book is the best!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend this book for cat owners!

    Well-written and easy-to-read, this book is very helpful when it comes to figuring out why your cat is or isn't acting a particular way. Ms. Johnson-Bennett offers answers and solutions that absolutely make sense. I've read numerous books on cat behavior and highly recommend this one if you're looking for advice and answers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Gets you thinking

    This book really makes you start to think like a cat and helps you understand why cats do the things they do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Help For Shelter Cat

    I purchased this book to help our new shelter cat become well adjusted. He was either not socialized or trained to play rough. This book gave me tools to turn his behavior around. He is now becoming a pet we can enjoy without getting hurt.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Best book on cats

    This is the best cat book I have read. It is comprehensive, easy to read and full of good, useful information for cat owners. It is especially helpful for a new cat owner like me. I have read many books, web sites and magazine articles. This book has it all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Comprehensive and easy to understand

    This book covers all aspects of caring for a cat in a clear, easy to understand style. Her writing style is very entertaining while providing the reader with excellent behavior advice. I would highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Wow!

    Pam does it again! Nobody knows cats better than this woman and she proves it again in her astounding new book. This is, without a doubt, the best book on cats you'll ever read. I wouldn't be surprised to find this on the New York Times Bestseller list. I hope this author never stops writing. Wow!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Great book! I agree with most of the readers. Pam may not be a

    Great book! I agree with most of the readers.

    Pam may not be a vet but she is dead on about the canned food. Dry food has little to no moisture in it, and healthy cats need a lot of moisture in their diets. They don't eat kibble in the wild. A good balance of good quality wet and dry foods is probably ideal. What cats DO need to combat the teeth issue is regular dental care - brushing the teeth regularly or cleanings every few years is essential! If you don't believe me, answer this - how would your teeth be if you never brushed them or went to the dentist??

    If you don't believe her about the canned food, do your own research instead of just talking to a single vet! There are a lot of different schools of thought on this subject, even among the best vets and scholars. Information is readily available in bookstores or on the web.

    All in all, this is a great read, easy to understand, and I recommend this to anyone who is bringing a new kitten - young or old - into your family! As a new kitten owner, and an owner of two very healthy and happy 19 and 17 year old cats, I give this two thumbs up!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    Awsome!!!!

    This is the ultimate cat book! I really enjoyed reading it. I hope Pam will come up with another great book sometime soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Great read, lost a star for ONE reason, only!

    I read up on cat ownership sooo much before adopting a shelter kitten and found a lot of great tips in this book. My kitten turned out to be soo good (even with me as an owner) but the ONE thing I was disappointed in was that Pam claims that we should be feeding our animals canned food otherwise they won't get enough water. Turns out this isn't true and canned food actually rots their teeth faster... I had read this, but Pam is very convincing so I went with her advice, but she is a behaviorist, not a vet! My vet said I should try to get my kitten off of canned food, but it is so not easy after she's had it for so many weeks now. So, 5 stars for the tips on modifying behavior, but minus one for undermining solid veterinary medicine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1