Customer Reviews for

Think and Grow Rich

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Original True Classic

This is one of the greatest self-help books ever, back in the the original 1937 text. Next to the Bible, this is my favorite book. I was introduced to Think and Grow Rich when I read former world champion and International Boxing Hall of Famer Ken Norton's autobiography...
This is one of the greatest self-help books ever, back in the the original 1937 text. Next to the Bible, this is my favorite book. I was introduced to Think and Grow Rich when I read former world champion and International Boxing Hall of Famer Ken Norton's autobiography entitled 'Going the Distance.' Norton shared in his book that he read Think & Grow Rich repeatedly and it changed his life. Norton's book states he was given Think & Grow Rich to read after he suffered his first boxing defeat and had to start over. Norton then went on a fourteen fight winning streak that lasted over three years, including a huge upset over Muhammed Ali for the heavyweight title. This is an outstanding book that embodies Andrew Carnigie's philosophy of achievement to help individuals reach their full potential and succeed. Think and Grow Rich is one of the all time greats.

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Bunk

I was highly disappointed when I read this book. Napoleon Hill is dead on on some very obvious and commonsensical things but way off on tons of others. Yes, autosuggestion & visualizing your outcomes are good exercises but are common sense for most people unless you h...
I was highly disappointed when I read this book. Napoleon Hill is dead on on some very obvious and commonsensical things but way off on tons of others. Yes, autosuggestion & visualizing your outcomes are good exercises but are common sense for most people unless you have super low self-esteem. Nothing new here. Tips on how to write a resume and apply for a job are helpful to the would-be job applicant, but that isn¿t why you bought this book. My biggest bone of contention is due to the metaphysical/new-age overtones throughout the book. Napoleon Hill espouses a concept called ¿infinite intelligence,¿ but never defines it. It is something more like an omnipresent god-force or life force. This is total hogwash, and won¿t solve any MAJOR problems. You don¿t hear of scientists tapping into ¿infinite intelligence¿ to seek out a cure for cancer. How come I can't tap into this mysterious force, to say, tell me the winning lotto numbers or pick winning stocks? Maybe because it is total nonsense. Hill also commits the sunk cost fallacy in the story he tells where somebody stopped digging just three feet short from striking gold. While I see his point that many times just a little more effort will result in a sizeable payoff, sometimes one must know when to stop a futile endeavor. Hill advocates being persistent, but says nothing about how to identify situations when it should be stopped and a new goal should be sought. Hill is a strong advocate of positive thinking. Who isn¿t? Did I have to read this book to find out that it is better to think positively than negatively? No way. While positive thinking is good for many things, it cannot cure Parkinson's Disease or Alzheimer¿s. Napoleon Hill says you can be anything you want to be. Total bunk. If this is true, why didn't he become the next Carnigee or Rockefeller? Does this statement not apply to him, and if it doesn't apply to him, why should it apply to others? Hill also commits the post hoc ergo propter hoc fallacy, which is ¿Someone did x to become successful, therefore x caused their success.¿ You can't use an example of one person who achieved sucess against tremendous odds and say that therefore anyone can surmount these odds. We hear of the few who are successful against the odds but not of the many who fail. That is how the real world works. Not everyone can be a Bill Gates or a Micheal Jordan. Hill mentions nothing about realistically assessing your skillsets against your goals. He just says go for it. That is stupid. Better advice is to try lowering your standards a bit and you will find you can achieve your goals much easier. Maybe you can¿t build a huge software corporation but you can have a thriving small consulting firm. I don't care how positive you are, there's some things you can't do because of lack of competency. That¿s the sober truth, and it won't sell books.

posted by Anonymous on July 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    This is one of the VERY FEW books that promises to help you determine Who you want to become? What it is you want to do? When it's going to happen? Why THE MISSION IS POSSIBLE? And how you're going to attain it? All through the aid and application of the "unknown and unused knowledge and power" they termed the "Carnegie Secret."

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    Let life come and live generously,
    Host & Philosopher
    Juddha Shaddai Fitzgerald
    www.blogtalkradio.com/juddha-fitzgerald

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    This is one of the VERY FEW books that promises to help you determine Who you want to become? What it is you want to do? When it's going to happen? Why THE MISSION IS POSSIBLE? And how you're going to attain it? All through the aid and application of the "unknown and unused knowledge and power" they termed the "Carnegie Secret."

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    Let life come and live generously,
    Host & Philosopher
    Juddha Shaddai Fitzgerald
    www.blogtalkradio.com/juddha-fitzgerald

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    This is one of the VERY FEW books that promises to help you determine Who you want to become? What it is you want to do? When it's going to happen? Why THE MISSION IS POSSIBLE? And how you're going to attain it? All through the aid and application of the "unknown and unused knowledge and power" they termed the "Carnegie Secret."

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    Let life come and live generously,
    Host & Philosopher
    Juddha Shaddai Fitzgerald
    www.blogtalkradio.com/juddha-fitzgerald

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    This is one of the VERY FEW books that promises to help you determine Who you want to become? What it is you want to do? When it's going to happen? Why THE MISSION IS POSSIBLE? And how you're going to attain it? All through the aid and application of the "unknown and unused knowledge and power" they termed the "Carnegie Secret."

    1. Ready-Think 2. Get Set-Grow 3. Go-Get Rich

    Let life come and live generously,
    Host & Philosopher
    Juddha Shaddai Fitzgerald
    www.blogtalkradio.com/juddha-fitzgerald

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    WOW

    Anyone in this world can live a healthier, wealthier life if you just read Chapter 2....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book!

    This is one of the best books on the subject. I believe there are many other books out there like this one, but, this one is head and shoulders above the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The incredible nugget!

    This book is so helpful for anyone interested in improving your self on so many levels. It clearly reveals intrinsic ways to better understand your thinking. The stories are very easy to relate to and assist you to make the adjustments necessary for your best business and personal life.
    I highly recommend the audio version for the chance to revisit the concepts quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    loved it!

    wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Book of Champions

    Think and Grow Rich is a true classic! Next to the Bible, this is my favorite book. Think and Grow Rich is one of the greatest self-help books ever. I discovered Think and Grow Rich when I read former world champion and International Boxing Hall of Famer Ken Norton's autobiography 'Going the Distance.' Norton shared in his book that he read Think & Grow Rich and it changed his life. Norton's book states he was prescribed to read Think & Grow Rich after he suffered his first boxing defeat and had to start over. He then went on to beat Muhammed Ali for the heavyweight title. I also read the Think and Grow Rich Action Pack and highly recommend it. The aforementioned has an action manual that helps individuals put Think and Grow Rich into practice. The action manual also provides additional insights and understandings in applying the Think and Grow Rich Philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Classic career wisdom accessibly explained

    Napoleon Hill, author of this 1920s classic, will remind you of an older, wiser, slightly wacky uncle who advises you about careers, life and love. This book is a wonderful collection of tips - many based on the ideas of Hill¿s mentor Andrew Carnegie - that range from the practical (how to prepare a resume) to surprisingly New Age-like mystical talk about the infinite powers of the universe. Of course, like an old uncle, Hill can get long-winded and repetitive at times, but since he packs so much wisdom into his slender book, you will want to reread it over and over again, repetitions and all. We recommend his classic compendium to everyone who is dangling from the career ladder and wondering how to prosper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    If you want to succeed - Read this book first

    This is 'the book that defines all the steps you need to take to reach your your potential in life' Classic, practical and a must-have for your success collection

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    WOWW

    I read these reviews and no its not outdated, and its not a bible or a religion. and, no! money is not everything. As NH states whatever your religion is, its doesn't matter. Also as NH states money is last on the list and 12 other things more important then that. This is by far the best book ever written. NH study has been done with of some of the biggest names that we know today. and you say its outdated. that just sounds like unsuccessful review. this is the foundation of all successful achievement books of all time and everyone after this is based on this. Since I started reading his books i have reached the best sucess in my life apart from the financial reward that came with it. its just a must read over and over again to make sure your are following the road to sucess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Classic Book Loaded with Great Information

    This is a classic book that has a tremendous amount of valuable information, from how to harness your mind power, to using a think tank, to setting goals. It is a must read book in the self-help and motivation area and always provides a boost of excitement and motivation when I read it. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Rich Comes In Many Flavors

    If you are the kind of reader who is always looking for ways to make more money, you've come to the right place. But, Think and Grow Rich offers so much more than just financial advice. Napolean Hill teaches readers how to be 'rich' in any area of your life. In a world of get rich quick schemes this book from the past offers solid advice that stands the test of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    An Excellent Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Mr. Hill does an excellent job in explaining Andrew Carnegie's principles. I've even typed out and written the self-confidence formula from the book and put it on the wall, just to recite it. To me, this book and what it entails, are powerful and sound principles to acquire wealth. THIS IS NOT A GET-RICH-QUICK BOOK!; rather a book full of poignant examples to help the reader get on the road to riches. I also enjoyed the mastermind principle; although, the fact that he mentions speaking to Napoleon and other historical figures was a bit strange. Other than that, this book is worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Exceptional! The 'Mizraim Principles' of the secular world!'

    This book will help anyone to concentrate on what's important in life, and teach them how to focus on what life's riches REALLY are! It is packed full of useful information, and time-tested principles for success! This is the secular equivalent to the spiritual classic 'With Joseph in the University of Adversity (the Mizraim Principles)' in how the author takes (leads) the reader through the things life brings to us, and how we can can turn adversity into good! Along with 'How to Win Friends & Infulence People', this is a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    Great concepts

    Think and Grow Rich is a classic because it shows us the power of visualization and positive thinking. This book should be on everyone's bookshelf. I read certain pages every now and again to remind me to visualize success. I also love a book called Optimal Thinking-How to be Your Best Self which showed me how to overcome self-sabotage, master every feeling and make the MOST of every situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    The book that started it all

    I first read this book at the age of 18 and today I picked it up and read it again. It was one of a dozen read-throughs in the past twenty five years. It is a life altering book if you can apply the ideas and principles. I have worked to adopt these into my life and truly find that in tandem with many other books, happiness, success and a rich, full life are all possible through the lessons of others shared by Hill. Great foundation book in how to think and the power of thought. Thoughts are things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    This is no ordinary ' book'

    This is serious, for anyone out there. This is no ordinary book, it's not a magic lamp either. But it's closer to becoming the latter ! trust me, this is real deal power in every conceivable form !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Right Thinking Enriches Your Life

    Real riches, the kind that last a lifetime, the kind with eternal quality, only come to those who discover the wisdom only right thinking provides. As with the newer book, Why Didn't I Think of That? - Think the Unthinkable, Napoleon Hill's work opens your mind to new ways of thinking that not only seek truth but find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4