Customer Reviews for

Thinking, Fast and Slow

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Must read for students of the mind

I've read a number of books that touched upon subject matter similar to this one - Taleb's "Fooled by Randomness" and the "Drunkard's Walk" by Mlodinow. Those books cite Kahneman's research as source material, and so I was quite excited to read this book by a giant in t...
I've read a number of books that touched upon subject matter similar to this one - Taleb's "Fooled by Randomness" and the "Drunkard's Walk" by Mlodinow. Those books cite Kahneman's research as source material, and so I was quite excited to read this book by a giant in this field of research. Overall, I think this is an exceptionally readable and thorough treatment of frequent cognitive errors that people make. Even though I'd read the other two books, I still found this one to be very interesting, especially for the system 1/2 model that Kahneman puts forth. He also reinforces the material on a regular basis, so hopefully, it will be sticky and memorable. Although Kahneman is an academic, I think this book will be readable and accessible to a wide audience. So I would give him high marks for that. The only thing I am struggling with is a despair that I will never be able to overcome the shortcomings of my hardware... And oh yeah, this is a long book, but I guess you get your money's worth!

posted by StudentoftheBuddha on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

The Un-Think

Daniel Kahneman, adept at psychological sleight of cognition, gives us a two tier system that is inherently flawed. This is so because quantitative research holds that correlation does not imply causation.

This Fundamental principle follows a truth that it is always ...
Daniel Kahneman, adept at psychological sleight of cognition, gives us a two tier system that is inherently flawed. This is so because quantitative research holds that correlation does not imply causation.

This Fundamental principle follows a truth that it is always possible that a spurious relationship exists for variables between which covariance is held to some degree. In probability theory, covariance is the measure of how much two random variables vary together.

In equating these variables I find in the instance of the variable System 1 that it is above its expected value as opposed to System 2s expected use, which is below its expected value. The covariance between these two variables is deemed negative in probability theory. In this case the negativity being System 1s expected value, thus it follows a higher value is placed on System 2.

Therefore the value based derivative of System 1 when used in Kahneman's terms as a base value positive is absolutely without worth. It is trifling, manipulative bit of thought processing - it is a transparent artifice.

Chris Roberts

posted by ChrisRoberts on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Must read for students of the mind

    I've read a number of books that touched upon subject matter similar to this one - Taleb's "Fooled by Randomness" and the "Drunkard's Walk" by Mlodinow. Those books cite Kahneman's research as source material, and so I was quite excited to read this book by a giant in this field of research. Overall, I think this is an exceptionally readable and thorough treatment of frequent cognitive errors that people make. Even though I'd read the other two books, I still found this one to be very interesting, especially for the system 1/2 model that Kahneman puts forth. He also reinforces the material on a regular basis, so hopefully, it will be sticky and memorable. Although Kahneman is an academic, I think this book will be readable and accessible to a wide audience. So I would give him high marks for that. The only thing I am struggling with is a despair that I will never be able to overcome the shortcomings of my hardware... And oh yeah, this is a long book, but I guess you get your money's worth!

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thinking, Fast and Slow

    The topics that Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman addresses are both complex and integral to the human mind: He asks you to think about thinking by considering how your mind habitually contradicts itself, distorts data and misleads you. His prose is lucid, his reasoning rigorous and his honesty refreshing – more than once Kahneman illustrates conflicted thinking with examples from his own life. The result is a fairly slow read, but an ultimately rewarding experience. getAbstract recommends this book to anyone interested in neuroscience and neuroeconomics, and to all those who want to improve their thinking about thinking.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    The bad story

    This book was a great book about bad stories. I loved it!

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    This book gives a great deal of insight into the problems we're

    This book gives a great deal of insight into the problems we're having in America today. It rates high on my must read list.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Owner's manual for your brain.

    Took me forever to finish but a great book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great

    I want to read more about our body and all the "stuff" inside it. It could get me a head start on science which I really love. Hope more books can be realeased.


    From 11 yr. old kid

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    The best nonfiction book I have read in my whole life. Best non

    The best nonfiction book I have read in my whole life. Best nonfiction content in a book written. Very interesting content. High quality content, genius writing, very highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    An enlightening book

    Just excellent. Everyone should read this. Not always simple, but it would make our communal dialogue more enlightened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is outstanding. I am glad I read this book because I

    This book is outstanding. I am glad I read this book because I can apply the information within it to my daily life and also because things in life are not what they appear to be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    fascinating

    This is a book with a number of new insights into our thought processes. I will be reading and rereading part of it frequently.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    rating

    rating change

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Acat

    Kils the kit the eas it. Blood dripping from the cats mouth. (( i ignote mythical creatures))

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    You ave to read this

    I learned something today. Made my mind stretch. It will do the same for you. Get Smarter - Read This .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Amazing

    Yes!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    This is a great book that everyone should read. It is a good ins

    This is a great book that everyone should read. It is a good insight into our minds that will stun you at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Gina

    Im sorry dude. I really am. It sounds like your past was worse than carolines. Imagine getting beat the fu.ck down on a daily basis and having to lie to your parents how you got those bruises. Imagine being used for se.x. being forced to do it with someone you wish was dead. Imagine trying to kill yourself because you feel like no one is on your side. Well thats carolines life just these past few months. You claim to have cared about her.... if you did you would tell her not me. And you could be a little nicer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Greece

    Think. I....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Get this book!!!

    After reading this book, go watch ASAP Science on youtube. Thats how i got introduced to this book at first.:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Kahneman (and Tversky) are to behavioral economics what Napoleon

    Kahneman (and Tversky) are to behavioral economics what Napoleon Hill was to the psychology of success – founding fathers. This book establishes the foundation of modern behavioral economics for generations to come, and is the to-go-to reference for anyone who wants a better understanding of consumer behavior and decision-,making process. This book was very revealing and helpful to me, and I referenced it a few times in my book – Money Anxiety – how financial anxiety impacts consumer behavior and the economy, which is also on Barnes & Noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Very interesting book. It deals with our intuitive thoughts, and then our secondary cognitive thoughts and how they influence each other and how these two thought processes guide our thinking. Either thinking "fast" or "slow". The book is written in an easy to read format and is detailed with examples of Kaheman's thesis. The book can be an insightful glance into depressional issues but is not a depression guidebook. A look at how discrimination and prejudices can be applied to our thinking and many other associations. There are many theorietical conclusions that can be gleaned from this book but the book is not about those subjects. The book is about how we think and how those thoughts are created. As the title explains, "Thinking Fast and Slow". Anyone with a curiousity of how we think would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4