Customer Reviews for

Thinner

Average Rating 4
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

First Book i ever read ! Tina. Portland ,Oregon.

Suffering from dyslexia , learning to read was hard, when i finally did learn to read.this book was my choice.I owe Mr King A Debt of gratitude,since reading this book,i have read everthing i could get my hands on, for the last twenty years..its an oldie but a goodie .....
Suffering from dyslexia , learning to read was hard, when i finally did learn to read.this book was my choice.I owe Mr King A Debt of gratitude,since reading this book,i have read everthing i could get my hands on, for the last twenty years..its an oldie but a goodie .. The Stand is my Faverite. But thinner is near and dear to my Heart. Thank you Mr King.

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book had such potential. Then Stephen couldn't figure out,

This book had such potential. Then Stephen couldn't figure out, as is often the case, how to end the book. Bad, really bad ending.

posted by bbb57 on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2015

    Book Review of Thinner Stephen King's Thinner was quite an int

    Book Review of Thinner

    Stephen King's Thinner was quite an interesting read, in my opinion. Surprisingly, the book was not as scary as it seemed from the description. It was more suspenseful, I would say, in terms of feelings that it evokes. Likewise, this book could be considered a psychological thriller than that of a real horror book. This is due to how it made the reader think throughout the course of the book. Everything plays out in the mind and leads the reader to questioning not only the book, but also their own lives and actions, as well. There were a number of times while I was reading that I was shocked by what was happening. Several twists within the plot threw me off, but it added another element of diversity to the story line, which I found made the book even better to read. The story appears to be very original, to me, because I have never heard of a book about a person cursed and following them as they try to get the curse taken off of them, but adding side stories and such to create more depth. Personally, although I am a fan of psychological thrillers, I thought the book could have been scarier. Even though it was not as scary as expected, it was still written well and was an easy, enjoyable read for me. Compared to other types of horror books, this book differs slightly due to the fact that it talks about Gypsy magic. In most horror books, it seems, that there is a crazy murderer, or black magic, maybe even voodoo brought into the picture. This is more of a unique concept for a plot line than most books. The subject of Gypsy magic has often been heard, but is not often described, especially in a book, at least to my knowledge. Also, in comparison of writing style or how the book is set up, I would compare Thinner to that of one of James Patterson. I say this because in Patterson's novels he tends to write from multiple perspectives and not just within the same chapter, but from separate chapters viewing the same situation from mulitple people's perspective. To me, Thinner had a similar quality to this in how it was presented to the audience. Although the multiple perspectives were not always broken into multiple chapters they were still present, adding a nice effect.

    There were a number of quotes that I found to be helpful in choosing to read this book due to their content. These quotes came from both professionals and from average readers alike. Kirkus Reviews stated that they had “Genuine Chills” from reading the book. This quote was enticing and made me question as to where the chills were coming from and what or who had been their cause. Thriller lover, a reader and reviewer of the book, wrote: “This book isn't necessarily horrific or scary, but it's pretty suspenseful.” To some this quote may have been a reason to put the book down, but to me it was an encouragement to read more because I wanted to find out whether I agreed or not. Lastly was the quote from Booklist that simply states: “Superbly crafted . . . extraordinary.” This was probably the most memorable of the quotes because it may have a double meaning to it. I was curious to see whether the extraordinary was meant about how the book was written or extraordinary in the sense that there something not human in the book that was causing it to be so great. Also there were several quotes from the book that were memorable to me as a reader. The first is stated by Billy Halleck, the main character, and it says: “But it's hard for a man to give up all his pleasures, even when they don't pleasure him no more.” This quote is meaningful to me because it is relatable for mot people because as humans we are creatures of habit that don't want to change even if those constants in life no longer make us happy or help us. The next quote was said by Taduz Lemke, the “bad guy” of the book, and he states: “I never take it off. I die with it in my mouth.” Again there is deeper meaning behind these words. Many people in this world would go to the grave holding a grudge or being angry at something or someone just because they can. This stubbornness is shown through the character and reflects on many people within today's society. Also stated by Taduz Lemke was the quote “Justice, ain't bringing back the dead, white man. Justice, is about justice. Your friend the policeman, your friend the judge, they make sure nothing happen to you. They help you safe. But I make sure something happen to them. That justice, white man. Gyspy Justice!” This is again a reflection of today's society and how although there can be “justice” provided by a person or a court it may not be fair, but someone else will find a way to make things fair and just in their own sense of the word. Lastly is another quote from Billy Halleck and it states: “Some guys – a lot of guys – don't believe what they are seeing. Especially if it gets in the way of what they eat or drink or believe.” This last quote resonated with me because it is so true, people always have and always will see what they want to see as long as they are content. As soon as something disturbs their personal life then there are issues. Overall there were a lot of great quotes from the book, but these were some of my favourites.

    To bring my review to a close, I had a few discussion questions that I wanted to ask. Why would he author give away the curse and plot of the book right from the start? Can the effects of guilt truly alter a person's character? Are side stories withing the main plot confusing or distracting to the reader? And finally, does the idea of being cursed to lose weight relate to the state of o\the country as a whole in any way?



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    I'm a King fan like others but thought that this book was a slig

    I'm a King fan like others but thought that this book was a slight change in pace from his usual stuff. I enjoyed reading this one. It did go slow in some parts but I think its a nice short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ehhh okay

    As all of kings books are, this one goes really slowly. Kindof predictable, wud be better as a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Interesting

    I remember I saw this movie on HBO on Christmas Eve 2010. The movie was very interesting and ive always wanted to read this book. Im a fan of Stephen King, and Im hoping that this will be the next book of his i read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    Read it if you have the patience

    I wanted to like this book. The plot is original and I greatly enjoyed the ending. Reading it, however, was quite a chore. King attempts to make the reader care about his characters, although they are mostly two-dimensional archetypes. Additionally, while it is apparent that King is trying to build/maintain suspense, several parts just feel like rambling and grow tiresome. In short, King is a talented writer with original ideas, but the editing could have been vastly improved. Thinner would have worked better as a novella or short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    okay

    I liked this book. it showed that you dont always get things your way. but it got kinda confusing and i hated the ending. after i finished, i looked back and was like, well then why did i spend my time reading the whole book if its just going to end like that? but very descriptive and moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Pure entertainment

    This book shows Kings raw talents. It is pure entertainment. It is not considered King's best and it isn't, but that doesn't mean that it is bad by any means. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and mowed through it pretty quickly. Anyone who likes an easy to read thriller and has some open time in their schedule should consider picking this book up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    Thinnah'

    Thinner was entertaining. It's not as scary as some of King's other novels but it's a good portrait of human psychology and it definitely shows the futility of violence as a means of revenge. Even though the main character is sinfully indulgent, the reader understands his hate for his wife and fear. It's sad how the character doesn't develop morally, King shows, in real life, people don't always progress morally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2002

    Poolside reading at its best

    When an obese Conneticut lawyer 'accidentally' kills an old Gypsy woman one night in town and gets his friends to help cover the crime, he recieves a curse from her husband, dooming him to lose weight at a life threating rate. What starts off seeming like a gift eventually drives him insane as he slowly realises that he's not the only one cursed with Gypsy revenge. The book is mildly entertaining, but hardly one of King's better books. It makes good plane or poolside reading for vacationing adults, or a mildly entertaining read for teens, but don't expect anything as chilling as The Shining from this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2002

    Good...

    Thinner is a different kind of book. It has its own way of scaring you, through its characters mostly. Although I enjoyed it, there was something about it that didn't really appeal to me. Maybe it had something to do with the whole pseudonym thing. I would read other SK books before Thinner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Good Book

    Thinner by Stephen King is one of the best books I have read in a long time. The plot is very clever and keeps the reader on edge the entire time. I recommend this book to any reader that is a fan of horror books. King once again proves that he still has it and is the 'king' of his territory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2