Customer Reviews for

Thinner

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

First Book i ever read ! Tina. Portland ,Oregon.

Suffering from dyslexia , learning to read was hard, when i finally did learn to read.this book was my choice.I owe Mr King A Debt of gratitude,since reading this book,i have read everthing i could get my hands on, for the last twenty years..its an oldie but a goodie .....
Suffering from dyslexia , learning to read was hard, when i finally did learn to read.this book was my choice.I owe Mr King A Debt of gratitude,since reading this book,i have read everthing i could get my hands on, for the last twenty years..its an oldie but a goodie .. The Stand is my Faverite. But thinner is near and dear to my Heart. Thank you Mr King.

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book had such potential. Then Stephen couldn't figure out,

This book had such potential. Then Stephen couldn't figure out, as is often the case, how to end the book. Bad, really bad ending.

posted by bbb57 on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    Bum-Rap for Thinner

    THINNER Thinner has been getting bad reviews since it's publication in 1984. It is not one of King's best, but it's not deserving of such a bum rap. True, it has your small town cruel hypocrisy, those upper crust citizens who are so willing to oust the undesirables when they have outlived their usefulness. What different about Thinner is there is not one, with the possible exception of Billy's daughter Linda, redeemable or likeable character in this story. I detect no remorse in the main character, Billy Halleck, who ran down the old Gypsy woman. He loses no sleep and suffers no lose of appetite, until his actions begin to effect him, and even then, he passes the buck on to his wife and the victim. When time is running out he turns to an old client, whom he seems to admire and trust, a mobster Ginelli. Although we all [SK fans] have a differing opinion on which book is his best, I'm sure we all agree, this book is not Stephen King's masterpiece. I consider it worth the time to read or listen to. I enjoyed listening to the book; Joe Mantegna's reading gave more depth to the story, although I will always prefer to hear Stephen King read his tales.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Great suspence and startling ending.

    As always, I love this Stephen King book. I've been reading all the ones that I've missed over the years because now I have access through my NOOK. A suspenceful story with discriptions that allow you to visualize the story!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Thinner

    This was the first book that I have read of stephan king. It was a good book and fast read I think.it didn't end the way I thought it would. But I liked the book anyway. I would it to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Unpredictable

    A story of how far one would go to find the truth. It was unpredictable and continued to surprise me until the very end. I would recommend to those interested in mystery/crime/violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    I really liked it.

    Really good book. Only complaint is the ending was slightly anti-climatic considering all the build-up in the book. However, it was a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Under-rated, good read!

    Thinner, granted is a little slower than most of King's works, but I thought it was still a great read, and the ending makes the journey worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Vintage King IBachman)

    Entertaining, but I can hardly believe how many spelling and punctuation errors there are in this ebook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Imaginative and a great thriller!

    Creepy story that is scary, funny, and dramatic all in one. Unusual plot that was fun to read and pretty captivating. It was nice to have a different kind of story rather than the Good guy/Bad guy kind of thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Not the scariest book King has wrote.

    Im not saying that it isnt scary, im just saying its not his scariest. Its still a very good and creative novel like all of Kings book. Still not my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    Surprise Ending

    Steven King has done it again. This book was great, once I started reading it I couldnt put it down. The ending was even better! I would definatly recommend this to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Thinner is a Winner

    I had to read this book for an English project, but I bought it a few months beforehand. I never fineshed the book but I decided to read the book for my ORP. It started off slow but picked up and left a few clues as to how the main character ended up in his disposition. Some say that it is King's worst, but I really liked it and look forward to reading more of his novels (is it "and am looking forward to reading more of his novels" Mrs Clark?) The book has really good views on ignorance and I recommend it to anybody who likes Stephen King novels and/or any horror novels of this nature. P.S. Clark Bars Are the Best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    "Thinner" a great read

    I really liked this book. It was a great read. It wasn't really like alot of his other stories. Which made it all the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    A GOOD READ

    I'm not a big Stephen King fan, but this one held my interest. It's short and a quick, easy read. Suspenseful and creepy and it makes you think! I would recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    Wonderful Reading

    This was the 1st King book I read and it held me in suspense during the entire reading. I felt everying was actually happening as it did happen. I highly recommend this book for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Wonderfully Chilling

    It scared the hell out of me and i can take almost anything. It wasn't the same kind of scary that you see with other books, it was more creepy than anything, but i definitly went away satisfied!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Thinner has fat, creepy plot.

    Although I read Thinner ten years ago, I recently listened to the audio tapes while driving to and from work. After reading some of King's dryer works, such as Bag of Bones and Hearts in Atlantis, it's always fun to go back and read one of his older novels. Thinner is really a creepy little novel about a gypsy's curse. The main character, Billy Halleck, is in a race against time to try and find the gypsy who cursed him for accidentally running down the old guy's daughter. You see, Billy is losing weight, and soon his weight problem becomes a very serious problem as the pounds start to melt away rapidly. Fortunately for Billy, he's got a friend to help him. A hood named Richard Ginelli comes to Billy's rescue and begins to terrorize thr gypsies, telling them to take the curse off. Meanwhile, Billy is withering away and is soon a walking skeleton at 125lbs. The reader will sense time running out for Billy and will experience the pain he's going through. The spooky tale ends with a perfect ending only King would come up with. Take my word for it, Thinner is worth the read. I just watched the movie the other night for the fourth time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Thinner was a classic King novel....sick but cool

    I just read 'Thinner' the day before and I really liked it. It was easy to identify with the characters and by the second page, I was completley hooked to the plot. This was the fifth King novel I have read and I think I am becoming a steady fan. The only part about 'Thinner' that confused me was the ending. Will all the Hallecks die now? Who knows. What I do know is that King is an extremely gifted writer who will hopefully be around for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    Good Enough To Remember

    I must say I'm surprised at the negative reviews I've read. Maybe I'm not an intellectual reader. Writing style doesn't mean much to me if the story can capture and hold my attention. I read for pure pleasure. Stephen King has become one of my favorite authors. I actually read Thinner years ago when I knew the author as Richard Bachman. I found it captivating. So much so that I have remembered it, almost in detail, for over 10 years. I'm considering using it this month for my book club choice. Just wanted to throw in my two cents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    Good First Experience of King

    Thinner was the first book I have read by Stephen King. I was kind of surprised to see that many people didn't like the book. But I have to say that I really enjoyed the book! Yes, it wasn't all too scary, but I liked the plot and I was really interested and eager to keep reading on. Thinner has been a really good introduction into the warped world of Stephen King, and you can expect me to keep reading books from this talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    It's not entirely bad...

    The fifth of the Bachman books, Thinner isn't as horrible as so many make it out to be. The usual Stephen King trademarks are there; the well-done characters, settings, and a bizarre story. While he doesn't break much new ground here, and while Thinner isn't a classic horror novel, King's story wasn't bad, but it was entertaining. P.S. The end was good, I never saw it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4