Customer Reviews for

Third Degree

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The best I've read this spring

I recently retired and have quickly read six Dean Koontz books, four Patterson and a couple of other various writers of this genre. Greg Iles stands head and shoulders above the others in his ability to write a book with a plot that works without manipulation and with f...
I recently retired and have quickly read six Dean Koontz books, four Patterson and a couple of other various writers of this genre. Greg Iles stands head and shoulders above the others in his ability to write a book with a plot that works without manipulation and with fully developed characters that are very REAL. The plot flows without those "that wouldn't happen" moments and the characters act and say what fits the situation. Every other writer had to manipulate the plot to make it work and used characters that were simply not believable. It was a bit slow in the beginning and the characters were not ones I especially liked, but that didn't change the fact that it is a very well written book. Besides the great writing, it was an exciting read with enough surprises to keep me wanting to finish whatever I had to do so I could go read more. Several times when I was pretty sure I knew what was going to happen --- I was wrong! Great books are often based on characters needing to make extremely difficult choices ... that is certainly true in Third Degree.

posted by Dave1953 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Had this been my first Iles book, I would never read another!

If, and I mean IF you can make it through this book, make sure you finish it on an empty stomach--the ending will positively make you vomit. I could have cared less about any of the characters, and the plot was unbelievably predictable. Pass on this one--even if you g...
If, and I mean IF you can make it through this book, make sure you finish it on an empty stomach--the ending will positively make you vomit. I could have cared less about any of the characters, and the plot was unbelievably predictable. Pass on this one--even if you get a free copy.

posted by BentleyCA on March 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Had this been my first Iles book, I would never read another!

    If, and I mean IF you can make it through this book, make sure you finish it on an empty stomach--the ending will positively make you vomit. I could have cared less about any of the characters, and the plot was unbelievably predictable. Pass on this one--even if you get a free copy.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    The best I've read this spring

    I recently retired and have quickly read six Dean Koontz books, four Patterson and a couple of other various writers of this genre. Greg Iles stands head and shoulders above the others in his ability to write a book with a plot that works without manipulation and with fully developed characters that are very REAL. The plot flows without those "that wouldn't happen" moments and the characters act and say what fits the situation. Every other writer had to manipulate the plot to make it work and used characters that were simply not believable. It was a bit slow in the beginning and the characters were not ones I especially liked, but that didn't change the fact that it is a very well written book. Besides the great writing, it was an exciting read with enough surprises to keep me wanting to finish whatever I had to do so I could go read more. Several times when I was pretty sure I knew what was going to happen --- I was wrong! Great books are often based on characters needing to make extremely difficult choices ... that is certainly true in Third Degree.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    His Worst!

    I hate verbose reviews, so here goes...I did not like this Iles effort at all. I thought he took an OK short story and turned it into 400+ pages of tedium as I never really cared much for the characters. I do, however, look forward to reading The Devil's Punchbowl as that returns him to his best writing and characters.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    Excellent!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fast paced and good twists make this book a must read. Fantastic! --K--

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Almost 400 pages

    I had not read a Greg Iles book in a long time. The over view made this well edited, 400 page novel sound intreging. I only cost $2.99 and had children in it, so how could I go wrong? I enjoyed this book very much even though the characters were not very likable. There is adultry, insanity, a son who refuses to mind and six year daughter, who acts like she is three. A woman named Starlette is a big part of this book, yet she never makes an apppearance. She is only talked about and refered to. I found this very odd. Shades of Jane Austin. There is talk also of sex, murder, violence, illness, the usual inept lawmen, the hero, who is very flawed, but his heart is in the right place and a rather neglected corgi. I do not even know why the dog was in the book, she did not anthing to the story. There is a lot of saddness under the plot of this book. I did not find the ending puke worthy as another reviewer stated. Instead I found the ending too pat. It had a fairy tale ending, where everyone lives happily ever after, even the tramatized children, one of which is a daughter, the father seems to forget exists. This book even with all its flaws, is very hard to put down, it is eveything a mystery should be. The ending could have been better, the characters more realistic and mature, but overall it was a very good read. Roosters and Hens will not want to leave the coop, until this book is read from cover to cover. For ages 18 and up, due to violence and subject matter, not explicit details.

    AD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Iles takes marital infidelity to a new place.

    Greg Iles is like Stephen King in that he takes the mundane, everyday occurrence and makes it explode. In Third Degree, marital infidelity leads to a hostage standoff. Added into the mix is a medical billing scam. It's amazing how the two can intertwine. And the one person who can really fix the situation is the lover of the woman held hostage by her husband. But how can he help the situation without revealing his indescretion and putting his lover in more danger?<BR/><BR/>As always, Iles interweaves story lines and leaves each chapter with a cliff-hanger that keeps you turning the pages to find out what is going to happen.<BR/><BR/>Greg Iles fans will not be disappointed with this book. For those new to Greg Iles, you will find a thrilling escape from the world you live in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Better than '24' (TV)

    Another 'you can't put it down' Greg Iles book!! We have ALL his books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Just Getting Better

    I will read anything by Greg Iles. His books draw you in immediately with the plot, characters, etc. Third Degree was fast moving, suspenseful, and I literally cound not put the book down until I finished. I think his books keep getting better and better. My favorites are any of the Penn Cage novels. I heard that there would be one more Penn Cage story and that's it. I'm hoping I heard wrong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Compelling character-driven story

    I've been a bit disappointed with Greg Iles last two books, but he has completely redeemed himself with Third Degree. I could not put it down - literally. I almost missed a flight because I was so lost in the relationships of the characters and the development of the horrendous day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Great story

    I really enjoyed this book with its flawed characters and unusual premise. I always enjoy Iles books and his stories which i have never found to be boring and they generally have unique concepts as I felt this one did which always make me think about different ppl and unusual choices made by them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Thankfully it ended

    This was the longest 333 pages ever experienced. In many places this read like a romance novel, with a far over extended hostage scene. Very disappointed with this. The author did himself and his readers a disservice with this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Get a free laptop

    Scream thrice, dabpnce like a chicken, post this on three books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Love it!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    This was probably the dumbest story I have ever read. I only ke

    This was probably the dumbest story I have ever read. I only kept reading because I thought there had to be some redeeming value coming along. Ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing drama!

    This is defintely one of my favorite Greg Iles books. He keeps you in your feet every inch of the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Third degree

    This was the first book I've read from Greg Iles. It was awesome. I literally could not put it down. I'm now looking for another of his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Greg Iles books never disappoint. Can't put it down.

    As usual, Greg Iles Third Degree is unstoppable reading. Each chapter has you wanting to find out what happens next. This book is the sixth or seventh book of his that I have read. I just seem to start another one of his books as soon as I finish with the one I am reading. I enjoy reading about the southern Louisiana and Mississippi settings for his books. It makes me want to go there. Just try one of his books and you will be hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Eh...not bad, but not great like his other books

    I was looking foward to this book and it was a good ready but it wasn't anywhere near the greatness of his other books. There was hardly any character interaction and alot of innermonolog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    NOTHING BETTER

    loved it and u will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    Riveting.

    I couldn't put this book down. I read it in 3 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5