Customer Reviews for

The Third Gate

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend!!!

Love Lincoln Child...have read ALL of his books...even read the ones he recommends!!!!

posted by Meg48 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Give me a break, please.

I have read many books by Child along with collaborations with Preston. Most are good, some very good. But even the prologue in this book makes me regret purchasing it. An author's rule of thumb: if you aren't familiar with a subject but wish to write about it, you must...
I have read many books by Child along with collaborations with Preston. Most are good, some very good. But even the prologue in this book makes me regret purchasing it. An author's rule of thumb: if you aren't familiar with a subject but wish to write about it, you must do meticulous research or seek expert advice, not simply look up impressive-sounding words, inserting them wherever. This type of writing really puts off those of us who work in the field which you're pretending to know about.

p.s., paramedics neither type blood nor suture wounds. When blood type is not yet known, O-type blood is always used, usually O-neg, as it is the most compatible with all other blood types.

Simply writing ideas without putting in the work is shoddy writing, and showing off how little you know about a subject in the first few pages does not make an author look good, even an established and successful one.

posted by dudleybates on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Give me a break, please.

    I have read many books by Child along with collaborations with Preston. Most are good, some very good. But even the prologue in this book makes me regret purchasing it. An author's rule of thumb: if you aren't familiar with a subject but wish to write about it, you must do meticulous research or seek expert advice, not simply look up impressive-sounding words, inserting them wherever. This type of writing really puts off those of us who work in the field which you're pretending to know about.

    p.s., paramedics neither type blood nor suture wounds. When blood type is not yet known, O-type blood is always used, usually O-neg, as it is the most compatible with all other blood types.

    Simply writing ideas without putting in the work is shoddy writing, and showing off how little you know about a subject in the first few pages does not make an author look good, even an established and successful one.

    34 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    This is one of those books with potential that doesn't produce.

    This is one of those books with potential that doesn't produce. I straddle the fence on this, because I am a Lincoln Child fan, and I think the main character Jeremy Logan (an enigmalogist) will be one that would be fun to see again but in this book, the main character in this book doesn't have any character. He gets a great build up, solving the Loch Ness Monster mystery etc, but in this novel, you keep waiting for him to use his skills and he is more of a passive observer....other than feeling a malevolent presence -- he doesn't do much more than take air samples. I think down the road, he will be a fun character to follow but in this debut he gets over shadowed. I actually wanted to really enjoy this book -- the premise is perfect, the plot is feasible, there just isn't a payoff -- I kept reading and waiting for something to happen and nothing really does -- and the end doesn't really tie up the entire plot. Is the March character the one who was sabotaging the station? You assume that is thought Child wants you to have -- but it doesn't explain how or why he caused a generator to explode or why he electrocuted a staff worker -- and that's not the only question left without a definitive answer. Really, that is the job of the main character to pull together all of the loose ends and it doesn't happen. Plus, Logan is an individual with special skills, we never really see any of those on display -- he has misgivings, he has foreboding thoughts, but he never steps up and solves anything -- in fact, it's a minor character that comes up with the critical discovery -- while Logan is in the chamber doing nothing more than observing and again feeling that evil presence. It wasn't a bad read, it was just one of those books that left you with a "that's it?" feeling at the end, instead of a "that's good".

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Highly recommend!!!

    Love Lincoln Child...have read ALL of his books...even read the ones he recommends!!!!

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    One of his best!!

    I enjoyed Lincoln Childs' new book "The Third Gate". He always takes the time to include factual information, which he skillfully blends with his fictional story, to create a truly captivating, and believable book. Mr. Child also writes with Mr. Douglas Preston and together they put out wonderful reading experiences both fact and fiction.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Most accurate review is lots of potential with little payoff. K

    Most accurate review is lots of potential with little payoff. Kept waiting for the crescendo but it didn't really happen. Too predictable at times and too impossible at other times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Far-fetched plot. Uncompelling characters. Predictable outcome.

    Far-fetched plot. Uncompelling characters. Predictable outcome. Save your money.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book with great story line. was sorry to see it end.

    Very good book with great story line. was sorry to see it end.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    When Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child write a book together, th

    When Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child write a book together, they create gold. When Lincoln Child wrote this book, he must have been very ill, and ingested way too many medications at once.

    This was, by far, the most boring, infantile, disappointing excuse for a book that I've had the displeasure of reading in years. The only reason I continued reading it until the end, was because I purchased it on my NOOK, (NOOK purchases cannot be returned) and I figured I'd get my money's worth. NOT AT ALL.

    If you are reasonably intelligent; if you enjoy a good, mentally-stimulating read; if you DO NOT enjoy being led along by the nose through scenes that a child would be bored with, please save yourself the time, the money .toward pl

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    okay, but not more than that

    It was okay, but I expected more from the hype. To much non-detail and not enough story dialog.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    This book captured and held my attention from start to finish. G

    This book captured and held my attention from start to finish. Glad the ending fitted the story line. Hope this becomes a series!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I have read most of the Child and Preston books. This is witho

    I have read most of the Child and Preston books. This is without a doubt a triple-bogey ....don't waste your money....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Lots of potential, little payoff

    Preston and Child are favorite authors, and while the book was not poorly written, like the recent Gidein series, it was also not compelling like much of their other work. Lincoln Child has had solid solo effort and with this new character has the potentisl for some entertaining stories, but as has been said in other reviews, here the main character is little more thsn a passive observer. I hope Mr. Child will try again wuth thid character, but with more insight into hus unique skills.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Not a Preston-Child book

    I wish that my retrocognition had kept me from buying this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Don't hesitate! This book was a thrilling the moment I opened it

    Don't hesitate! This book was a thrilling the moment I opened it. I feel like this was a combination of The DaVinci Code and The Mummy (movie). I don't scare easily, and there were a few times I was actually regretting my decision to read it before bed. I see someone said that he didn't know much about the subject. For me personally, that was fine. I don't know much about ancient Egypt. I was just looking for someone to spin a good tale, and he did.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Very enjoyable read. Captured the imagination. Highly recommend

    Very enjoyable read. Captured the imagination. Highly recommend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    His best work to date. Loved it!

    His best work to date. Loved it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    If is up to his standards, it will be good

    This has not been forwarded to my account yet. June 12th.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    FANTASTIC

    Great action and suspense!
    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Scary, but disappointing

    So, i started getting into the story at about 220 pages in; the novel has 280 pages. The progression is very linear . No suspense. The only commendable thing was that he does paint a good picture. I means i was scared and had to turn my back against the wall. Didnt invest in the characters at all. So, yeah.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Predictable and disappointing

    So many potentially interesting plot lines and backstories that are never fully developed. Abrupt ending that is ultimately unsatisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6