BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Third Girl (Hercule Poirot Series)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Good Book

    I enjoyed reading it again after all these years. I had all the books that Agatha Christie wrote and they had gotten lost in a move. I have slowly started replacing the ones I liked the most. This was one of them. It is a really good story and if you like Agatha Christie's murder mysterys you'll like this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Agathat Christie does it again.

    Here is another great book written by the renowned author Agatha Christie. The Third Girl features her most written about, zany, and pompous detective Hercule Poirot. Any story that begins with a girl coming to a detective saying "I think I may have committed a murder" is sure to be an instant attention grabber. All I can say is, if you like Agatha Christie, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Third Girl

    In this book, Third Girl, Norma Restarick goes to talk to Hercule Poiret because she thinks she might have committed a murder. The murder she was talking about was when Louise Charpentier was shoved out a window or threw herself out the window. Then one day Claudia Reece Holland and Frances Cary, people Norma stay with, found Norma standing over her boyfriend, David Baker, holding a knife with blood on her hands. But Hercule figures out that Norma¿s dad is really not her real dad, he died and his friend impostured him and murdered them. Frances is really Norma¿s new mom, Mary Restarick. They killed Louise because she was Norma¿s dad¿s second wife and she would recognize that the imposter wasn¿t really Andrew Restarick. David was confusing Norma for them and knew too much about them so they killed him too. I recommend this book because it is a good and exciting book. This book has a lot of different and interesting characters. Norma who is looked at as crazy or mad is totally different from David Baker who is paid by Andrew¿s imposter to make Norma think that she is crazy. Norma¿s uncle, Sir Rodick Horsefield, is old, half blind, half deaf, and practically gaga. His assistant Sonia is young, totally alert, and very helpful to Sir Rodick, so in the end, even as different as they are, they get married. This book is very confusing. There¿s so many bits and pieces that it just doesn¿t make sense. First Norma is missing, then David Baker knocks out Hercule¿s partner, Adriene Oliver, then Hercule sees that the so called Andrew wrote a check out to David for one million dollars, then Sir Rodick loses some very important papers and lastly Sonia goes to Kew Gardens and leaves a book on a bench for a man to take and keep. This book has a lot of action packed in it. There are two murders, someone gets hit by a car, someone gets knocked unconscious, and just about everyone gets followed. When Mrs. Oliver follows David, he runs to fast for her and later he hits her over the head because he knew she was following him. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat and wondering what will happen next. I recommend this book especially if you like to figure out confusing puzzles.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    One of her many 'Best Arranged Mysteries' that has not been made into a movie

    The main character has obiously never heard of The Great Hercule Piorot, and doubts him because of his appearance, but when she is truely in danger of death, he is their for her... read this book!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    good title plot not as much good

    Though i read the book faster than her other books, M'am. Christie failed to create a sensation like her other books despite Hercule Poirot and should I say Araidne Oliver. Anyhow the good part was the wierd admission of a young girl that 'she might have murdered someone, her father who had deserted her mother for some nasty woman and married someone else and of course her step mother is a general outline of the mystery. The other characters are an almost gay druggie boyfriend of hte girl and two other girls with whom the first girl shares a room. In the end i felt sort of foolish becsuse i thought i had almost guessed it but i didn't. Yes Christie has lived upto her expectation of not letting her readers guess as to who actually did it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    WONDERFUL

    Bohemian London in 1966 is the setting for this brillant novel. You can get a taste of life back then. Hercule Poirot does not like it, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    Agatha Has Done it Again!!

    This Book is great!! I loved reading it! It's hard to explain why they call it Third Girl. You have to read it to find out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1