Customer Reviews for

Third Grave Dead Ahead (Charley Davidson Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    STOP! BEWARE! CAUTION! Only read this book if you enjoy suspense, romance, mystery, wit, humor, laughing, sarcasm, and great characters woven through a wonderful novel and brought to life with amazing writing from an outstanding author!

    Thank goodness Charley Davidson is a woman! No man could multitask like Charley! She is a crime solving private investigator that is busy solving a missing persons case, while at the same time trying to keep a motorcycle gang in check and trying (hopelessly) to forget Reyes Farrow (why anyone would want to do that, I will never know). Just a little side note here.Reyes Farrow is the son of Satan. Yes, THE Satan. But serious, who cares.he is out of this world gorgeous! And, if she is not busy enough, she is THE Grim Reaper-helping those who have died pass on to the other side and helping with those little last requests. Of course, Charley could do not any of this without the help of her secretary and BFF Cookie! Gotta love Cookie! Oh.and COFFEE!

    What an amazing read!
    After reading "First Grave on the Right" I thought..NOT FAIR! NOT FAIR!
    After reading "Second Grave on the Left" I thought. AGAIN! NOT FAIR!
    After reading "Third Grave Dead Ahead" I am thinking.is there going to be a 4th book Darynda? Because if this tale you have begun to weave comes to an end.I am going to have to say.NOT FAIR!!!

    Thanks for entertaining me with a wonderful read! Waiting patiently for " Fourth Grave Right Behind" Ha-ha-ha!! Who am I kidding.I can't wait!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best in Series so far...

    My Review:

    Whoa! What a rollercoaster ride. This book was nothing short of amazing. I think that I held my breath through at least half the book. I loved everything about this book.

    First thing to know before you read this review. This is a series that you need to read every book. These are not stand-alone novels. Knowing that, this review will have some spoilers for the first two books...DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVEN'T READ BOOKS #1 & #2.

    When this book starts, Reyes is seriously ticked off at Charley because she bound his spirit to his body at the end of book #2. Now he is trapped there until she falls asleep. Somehow, Charley is calling him to her immediately when she falls asleep and they have really angry corporeal/dream sex. As a result, Charley hasn't let herself fall asleep in about 2 weeks and is more than a little loopy at the beginning of this book (and she's not what anyone could consider normal on a typical day...LOL!) The moment between the two of them at the prison...remember this is the first time that she's actually seen him face to face when they were both conscious...EVER!-- that moment and his confession just broke my heart.

    This is what Darynda does so well. Reyes is the son of Satan and he does some not-so-nice things. He should not be a character that you fall in love with, but OMG! How can you not fall in love with this guy?!?! He has these moments where your heart just crumbles for him...and he had several of those moments throughout this book. Of course, then there are the other moments where you just want to scream and yell at him and tell him to stay away from Charley and stop hurting her. *sob*

    Did I mention that I cried in this book? Twice! But that was in between huge bouts of laughter and fun and anger. OMG, this book had it ALL!!!

    And to complicate things...hmmm, there are a couple of other love prospects on the horizon for Charley. Oh my!! I honestly don't know who I even want her to end up with...that's how good this book is. It's over. The hints are there for book #4 and I don't know who I want her to be with. I ALWAYS know who I want the heroine to choose! This time...not so much. Darynda is just a brilliant writer.

    This book has everything. There are the normal mysteries happening. TONS of Charley Davidson wit and snark which constantly keeps me giggling through these books. There were several swoon-worthy moment between Charley and Reyes. Some completely fantastic new characters that I love how they are adding to the story. And a fantastic friend who's been there all along with hints of more. OMG!!

    Did I mention that I loved this book? I apologize for the bad grammar and awful writing. It's hard to gush and stay focused...or maybe Charley is just rubbing off on me. LOVE!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Another Quirky whirlwind ride!

    Everyone who enjoys humour with their UF review I was so looking forward to this book...and I wasn't disappointed! Darynda Jones's zany, at times corny but always funny humour is back. I found myself at times groaning, laughing out loud and overall just smiling. It isn't too often a book can wring all this emotion but Charley, Cookie, Reyes and all sure take you on a roller coaster. I was almost in tears at one point with Charley's relationship with her Dad hurting her so much. I could feel her pain. I enjoyed how Reyes's story unfolded and gave him a more fleshed out back ground. Most of what we learned was alluded to in previous books but it was nice to have it confirmed. We go from highs to lows back to highs and then drop us down to the lowest low and then she twists us up again with a surprise ending. Her secondary characters also jump off the pages at you. Cookie, Ubie, Garrett, and the Davidson family all bring a unique humour and help move the story ahead. I love this author she is innovative, and in a field that at times you feel you keep reading the same story over and over Charley Davidson is definitely unique. I can't wait for the Fourth book in this series! I know Charley is going to get up to no good...and what the heck is happening with her and Reyes...I need to know!!! A solid 5 stars for this fantastic tale with side splitting laughs...oh...and where does Charley get her t shirts and bumper stickers..I need to get me some of them! (less)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Awesome Series!

    I love this series. They are funny and keep you guessing while Charley is solving her cases. All the characters in her books are great. I like the action and the mystery and I LOVE the sarcarsm!! Finally a series that gets me! ;o)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    ABSOLUTELY LOVED EVERY PAGE!

    A fresh series that is really truly original! This series has gotten better with every book. A true testament to a great author...that she can make each book outshine the last. I was either laughing out loud by all the great humor...or on the edge of my seat by the suspense. I loved it. Charley is the BEST and I do love Reyes. I am just mad at myself for devouring the book so quickly...I truly will be looking forward to the 4th book (please hurry!) This book just set up endless possibilities for future books...and I can't wait.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    I thought this series would start to wear thin after a couple bo

    I thought this series would start to wear thin after a couple books, but it just keeps getting better and more intriguing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great

    Good books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Fun and sexy

    Not so sexy that it's disgusting to older readers like myself but just the right blend of fun, sexy and bad ass action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    AWESOME AND EXCITING!

    An amazing book! I've read every single one in the series so far and i cannot put them down, i've read them over and over so many times! I wish they would make them into movies but i am perfectly happy with the books. Can't wait for "Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet" to be released, hurry up October!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Her books just keep getting better!!

    Love this series, cannot wait for the next one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Loved it!!

    By far the best in the series that I have read! I read the entire book in a day, couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Hot Stuff

    I love this fun series. Who wouldn't fall for this son of satan? I keep waiting for the Grim Reaper to figure out what her full potential is. When things started shaking in the hospital when she was mad, I found that very interesting. And what about that motorcycle gang leader? Fun, fast read but start on the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    Third Grave Dead Ahead does not disappoint. I truly felt I was b

    Third Grave Dead Ahead does not disappoint. I truly felt I was back with an old friend. It is hard for me to imagine how I would react to a friend telling me she is the Grim Reaper. For the friends of Charley Davidson it just seems natural. This little tidbit of information is not something she reveals to her clients, but her abilities and other worldly friends make her job as a private investigator a little easier. However, these friends and abilities cannot keep Charley from getting into all kinds of life and death situations. Reyes, the son of Satan [Who I personally did not think I was going to like once his true identity was revealed. At first I kind of thought Ms. Jones you have jumped the shark, but I no longer feel this way. I have accepted him for who he is and the part he will play in Charley's life.] is back and although Charley has bound his incorporeal body to his physical body, he continues to make life interesting (mentally and physically) for our main character, even though he is serving a life sentence in prison for killing his step-father, Earl Walker. There are a number of story lines in this novel and I applaud Ms. Jones for the way in which she weaves the characters and their different journeys together to make a fantastic twisting tale of excitement. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is another winner by Darynda Jones.  I have the whole

    This book is another winner by Darynda Jones.  I have the whole series so far and Charlie Davidson, just keeps getting funnier, romantic and suspenseful with each new book.  I love the paranormal aspects of this book and all of the characters are interesting, not just the main characters.  I bought this as a audiobook and the narrator Loreili King is terrific.  I can't wait for the next book, because this series is just great.  Oh, I also want some of those awesome tee shirts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Charley Davidson Book Three. It's another day in the life of

    Charley Davidson Book Three.




    It's another day in the life of Charley Davidson.  Yes, that's right...she's narrowly avoiding both death and sleep.  Now that Reyes is bound in his corporeal body, Charley is having dreams to die for...except they negate any sleep she might be having.  She's on the case of another missing wife when Reyes carjacks her and drops a bomb - he went to jail for murdering someone who is still alive.




    If you're looking for another hot, funny paranormal story, this is the book for you!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Start with book#1!!

    A friend suggested this series and I put off months reading the first book...and now I am hooked!!! I have read all six books twice now and I can hardly wait for the next book to come out.

    I have never considered joining a book club to discuss and analyze but these books make me want to do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Each book keeps getting better and better. Really enjoyed this o

    Each book keeps getting better and better. Really enjoyed this one (more than book one & and two. Very funny and emotional. Can't wait to start reading the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    awesome

    I bet you can't read just one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Another home run! Could not put this one down.

    Well done. The characters keep becoming more real!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Love it

    Good story, fun characters, keeps you turning pages and laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11