Customer Reviews for

The Third Heiress

Average Rating 3.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A melancholy romance if I have ever read one!

Once you get past the incredibly annoying typos from a poor digital conversion, it is a very engrossing tale. I enjoyed much of the suspense and romance and it was well written. But I found the book to be overwhelmingly melancholy, and that's hardly what I want to read ...
Once you get past the incredibly annoying typos from a poor digital conversion, it is a very engrossing tale. I enjoyed much of the suspense and romance and it was well written. But I found the book to be overwhelmingly melancholy, and that's hardly what I want to read in a romance! I felt that the betrayal of Kate was catastrophic and no amount of happiness for Jill could rectify it. Additionally, by the end of the book, I was wanting to murder every last member of the Sheldon family, save Alex. If Brenda Joyce was wanting to highlight some of the worst qualities of mankind in this book, then she succeeded brilliantly. However, it is definitely far more of a tragedy than I like to read. I want to rate it less because of how greatly I disliked where Ms. Joyce took the plot, but it *was* a novel executed well (besides the bad digital conversion).

posted by Molica-MakeBelieve on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wtf

It wont open on my Nook simple touch

posted by BreezyLvr_ForLifeXD on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great Read!

    Feeling guilty because her British fiance was died due to injuries he received in a car crash (while she was driving). Jill was determined to bring him home and find out what he meant when he said "I love you, Kate"...

    The story is riddled with old money and old fashioned family loyalty and they take a stand against the American woman who killed their baby boy. When Jill digs too deep, she finds out exactly who Kate is and realizes her fiance was in love with a ghost who looked like her. Did he really love her or was it Kate all along that he loved?

    While staying in England, Jill's life is threatened, she falls in love, and is terrified of her lover - how can you love someone who's trying to kill you?

    Secrets from the past meld in with today. Full of twists and spins and it keeps you wondering to the very end. A wonderful story.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The only thing I didn't like...ALL OF THE CONTINUAL TYPOGRAPHICAL ERRORS! Editing was seriously overlooked or not counted as important. Sometimes you have to go back and re-read what was written and then skip to the next sentence to figure out what word/words were being used. Sometimes it was frustrating other times, I worked through it fast. But it didn't stop me from reading and reading until I reached the end. I'd do it again, errors and all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Loved the story

    I thought that it was a very engrossing and well written story. Well well written if you look past the typos which I did since it was free. I'm not complaining too much when something is free. I almost feel like it was typed out by being read into a computer and it made a lot of errors. It was obviously converted in a weird way because no professional typist would make that many errors. Enjoy! I stayed up until 4am last night finishing it. lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great read, but many typos

    This book has so many typos and incorrect formatting to the point of distraction. The chapters are not separated properly and run into each other. It is especially annoying in the beginning and almost made me stop reading, BUT I am so glad I continued because this is a GREAT BOOK! I could not put it down. I definitely recommend it, especially since it is free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    GREAT READ

    Once I started I couldn't put it down Have patience with the typos BK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great

    Good read all the way thru he last 100 pages you can not put it down untill the end keeps you guessing and a great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Very awesome

    This book was far beyond what i expected it to be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    ABSOLUTELY AWESOME BOOK

    Its like 20stories rolled into one murder, mystery, romance, and a little history. Couldnt put the down. And for a free book, just ignore the typos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Wow

    Could not put it down. Some typos but fantastic story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    AWESOME!

    I have read all of Brenda Joyce's books. Read this in paperback and when I saw it for Nook I had to add it to my collection This one was the only to make me cry. Must read!
    I read past reviews that the ereader version has many typo's I hope they fix it because this is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    This was a very descriptive and detailed book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Great book

    Could not put it down. Was up all night just too find out the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Awesome!!

    Crazy good story if you can overlook the mistakes. Writer doesn't seem to take a whole lot of pride in the book but the the story line is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Great Book

    This was a great murder mystery told from 2 different times 1909 & 1999. Would read it again in a heartbeat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    I was blown away

    This is the first romance novel I have read worthy for a permanent library. The plot, the character, the emotion, the suspense are so well written and interwoven that it is not the typical one day read no-brainer romance novel. I am into romance because it is an easy read for me to decompressed from my hectic day job. But this novel has so much depth (yet very sexy) that I thought I was ready a best seller fiction instead. I never thought a romance novel could be this intellectual and has so much depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    undeniably exceptional...

    This novel was skillfully crafted in an attempt to capture the reader,emotionally and otherwise-... and it worked.The characters were unforgettable with enough tension-both emotional and sexual-to keep readers captivated.Marvelous read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    One of the best books i ever read

    this book was one of the best books i ever read. the minute i picked up the book i couldn't put in down. it has a little bit everything in it suspense, romance, intrige and history. i reccomend it to anybody no matter what kind of books they like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    EXCELLENT

    A MUST READ. EXCELLENT.......! I got very involved and was obsessed about finding out about what happened to Kate! I was guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    An Excellent Book

    This book was truly one of the best books I have read. I just couldn't get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    GREAT BOOK

    I absolutely loved this book! I haven't read such a great book in years. Definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2000

    Outstanding!!!!

    This has been the best book I've picked up in years. I really recommend it. I was unable to put it down! The mystery of it was keeping me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4