Customer Reviews for

The Third Option (Mitch Rapp Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 648 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(367)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Exciting thriller

THE THIRD OPTION is the dark, dangerous world of covert operations where governments use agents to kill their enemies without sanctioning their activities. Mitch Rapp, a member of the Orion Team, has abided by the rules of the game for a decade. Now that he is in love,...
THE THIRD OPTION is the dark, dangerous world of covert operations where governments use agents to kill their enemies without sanctioning their activities. Mitch Rapp, a member of the Orion Team, has abided by the rules of the game for a decade. Now that he is in love, Mitch wants to resign after years as a patriotic universal soldier.

His last assignment calls for him to assassinate a German industrialist helping Hussein rebuild the Iraqi nuclear arsenal. After completing the mission, one of his peers tries to eliminate Mitch, but fails to kill the operative. Alone and hunted, Mitch manages to return to the States to attempt to uncover the identity of the individual paying the assassination bills. When his enemy grabs his beloved girlfriend, Mitch vows to kill everyone who might be involved even if it means raiding the Halls of Congress and the White House.

Vince Flynn, author of TERM LIMITS and TRANSFER OF POWER, writes another powerful political espionage thriller that keeps reader's interest from the first page to the last line. There are numerous interesting subplots augmenting the story line, but the heart of THE THIRD OPTION remains the protagonist. Mitch wants to come into the heat of love and out from the cold, but struggles to bury his previous life without it interring him. From almost the onset, readers know who the villains are, but that does not slow down this thrill a page novel.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Third Option a Mediocre Third Effort

As a thriller afficiando, a new friend suggested that I try Vince Flynn. I decided to start at the beginning and read his first two novels quickly as he is an easy read. I enjoyed both immensely, but Third Option failed to reach the bar Flynn set with TERM LIMITS and ...
As a thriller afficiando, a new friend suggested that I try Vince Flynn. I decided to start at the beginning and read his first two novels quickly as he is an easy read. I enjoyed both immensely, but Third Option failed to reach the bar Flynn set with TERM LIMITS and TRANSFER OF POWER. One of the problems an author faces when using the same characters in an endless series of thrillers is how to re-introduce them to the reader who already knows their history, yet make them able to stand alone for those who are new to the author. Flynn's solution to this problem in THE THIRD OPTION made for long and often boring references to numerous characters' histories and very slow going by experienced Rapp, O'Rourke, Coleman, Stansfield, & Kennedy fans. These history lessons were obviously aimed at the new reader, who Flynn tries to force feed the facts of two prior novels by going off into tangets as each of the characters arrive. Adding the president, a girlfriend and a wife to the others, this is way too much exposition for any story. If Flynn repeats this method of introduction in the future I will not get through another one of his books. Lee Child is an expert in the manner in which he re-introduces Jack Reacher to newcomers, but one character is obviously easier to accomplish that with than eight. But my criticism does not stop there. Having Mitch Rapp as a hero works well-but here he is the hero, but he did not translate well to being the target and main subject of the story. Flynn obviously knows this because this entire book is really exposition for his next novel, The SEPARATION OF POWER, which means that THE THIRD OPTION really has no ending. One critic called Flynn "shameless" for misleading his readers on with a book that ends with a sequel. I agree. But I will read the sequel anyway

posted by Brewer on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting thriller

    THE THIRD OPTION is the dark, dangerous world of covert operations where governments use agents to kill their enemies without sanctioning their activities. Mitch Rapp, a member of the Orion Team, has abided by the rules of the game for a decade. Now that he is in love, Mitch wants to resign after years as a patriotic universal soldier. <P>His last assignment calls for him to assassinate a German industrialist helping Hussein rebuild the Iraqi nuclear arsenal. After completing the mission, one of his peers tries to eliminate Mitch, but fails to kill the operative. Alone and hunted, Mitch manages to return to the States to attempt to uncover the identity of the individual paying the assassination bills. When his enemy grabs his beloved girlfriend, Mitch vows to kill everyone who might be involved even if it means raiding the Halls of Congress and the White House. <P>Vince Flynn, author of TERM LIMITS and TRANSFER OF POWER, writes another powerful political espionage thriller that keeps reader's interest from the first page to the last line. There are numerous interesting subplots augmenting the story line, but the heart of THE THIRD OPTION remains the protagonist. Mitch wants to come into the heat of love and out from the cold, but struggles to bury his previous life without it interring him. From almost the onset, readers know who the villains are, but that does not slow down this thrill a page novel. <P>Harriet Klausner

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Third Option a Mediocre Third Effort

    As a thriller afficiando, a new friend suggested that I try Vince Flynn. I decided to start at the beginning and read his first two novels quickly as he is an easy read. I enjoyed both immensely, but Third Option failed to reach the bar Flynn set with TERM LIMITS and TRANSFER OF POWER. One of the problems an author faces when using the same characters in an endless series of thrillers is how to re-introduce them to the reader who already knows their history, yet make them able to stand alone for those who are new to the author. Flynn's solution to this problem in THE THIRD OPTION made for long and often boring references to numerous characters' histories and very slow going by experienced Rapp, O'Rourke, Coleman, Stansfield, & Kennedy fans. These history lessons were obviously aimed at the new reader, who Flynn tries to force feed the facts of two prior novels by going off into tangets as each of the characters arrive. Adding the president, a girlfriend and a wife to the others, this is way too much exposition for any story. If Flynn repeats this method of introduction in the future I will not get through another one of his books. Lee Child is an expert in the manner in which he re-introduces Jack Reacher to newcomers, but one character is obviously easier to accomplish that with than eight. But my criticism does not stop there. Having Mitch Rapp as a hero works well-but here he is the hero, but he did not translate well to being the target and main subject of the story. Flynn obviously knows this because this entire book is really exposition for his next novel, The SEPARATION OF POWER, which means that THE THIRD OPTION really has no ending. One critic called Flynn "shameless" for misleading his readers on with a book that ends with a sequel. I agree. But I will read the sequel anyway

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Good Read, But Terrible Transcription

    I've read all of the Vince Flynn books in the past but I bought American Assassin as an eBook, so now I am going through them all again in the order they were written. Flynn's prose improves as he progresses through the series and The Third Option is an enjoyable read. The only problem I had with this book was, as at least a couple others have mentioned, the terrible job done converting the original book's text to eBook. There are many typos, hundreds of missing spaces between words and dozens of weirdly placed hyphens. Good reading, but pretty distracting with all of the errors. I'd give the original book 4 Stars, but this version only 3.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Good, starts slow but ends pretty intense

    It took a while to get into it.. Not as action packed right out of the gate as the first one but by the end I wanted the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Very good..

    Suspenseful...keeps you hanging, enjoying

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Getting better and better!

    This is the fifth Mitch Rapp book I've read and I really enjoyed it. The story is fast paced and has a satisfying conclusion. There are elements of the plot that remained unresolved, but it feels like this may be taken care of in a later book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Highly recommend

    Vince Flynn has developed an American Assassin worthy of American readers. Intelligently written and action packed, the Mitch Rapp series makes you want for more. Akin to Clancy's Jack Ryan Series or Ludlums Jason Bourne, these books a page burners. "Don't bother me till I finish this book, honey...."
    Devilishly quick wit and well thought out schemes and worthy research of the areas enacted in the plot. These stories make you want the 'next' book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    reading this is not an option...

    I haven't read a book in 3 years until I picked up Vince Flynn's Term Limits...I read it in 2 days...then I picked up the next in his bibliography and read it in a matter of days...then came The Third Option...it took me a little longer to read this one because of my work schedule, but I'm glad I didn't burn through it...it has going on in different offices and town than the other two did...so i had the opportunity to take in more detail, which paid off...it is a great book by a great author...If you are considering this one for your first Vince Flynn book, I would advise against it for the sole reason that some of the characters are returning from previous books he's written and you would get a better feel for them after reading his previous publications...so if this is a first VF book for you, I recommend picking up Term Limits for sure...Term Limits and The Third Option are tied for me as my favs of Flynn so far in the series...please read Vince Flynn, he's the most entertaining writer I've read...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    Good Book - bad ending

    This book makes two top tens: 1st top 10: top 10 books i've read - easily one of the better books i've read, I couldnt put the book down. 2nd top 10: top 10 worst endings - while reading the book, I couldn't wait to buy another Vince Flynn book. After the ending, I doubt i'll ever buy another one of his boooks. The story doesn't end in the ending,so you'll have to wait until the next book comes out to find out the completion of this story. I feel so used (sob)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Great

    Great character development and entertaining to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Ouyngj

    Hkhk
    Jqu

    ?jj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Misery's Rper to Uh... Zemora's Rper X3

    Lets got to the 12th result perhaps? ~Misery and all them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    AUDITION/ JOINING ROOM

    Where you join.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Good read

    The second I've read in this series and I do believe I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    Very good

    This is only the second book of Vince Flynn I have read but it has been very exciting and intriguing. I am looking forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Damn that was a great read

    Fantastic. The best one in the series so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    A must read!

    Excellent! Keeps you in suspense and your attention. Very hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    An excellent read. Tough to put down.

    Flynn is one of my favorite authors, and his books do not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is really fantastic. :D

    This book is really fantastic. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Highlyl recommended - great read

    Flynn continues to captivate the reader with suspense and intrigue. Easy to read but hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33