Customer Reviews for

Thirst (Ava Delaney #1)

Average Rating 4
( 838 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(423)

4 Star

(237)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story

This story kept my attention the whole way through. I'm an avid reader of fantasy, this was exceptional. You would be sorry if u don't read this story and the second in the series Taunt. Alot of adventure and suspense keep u enthralled and wanting more.

posted by mysticbeauty on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Slow start and sudden ending...

I love book series but this one really did not hold my interest until the very end. Starts pretty slow and hard to get in to. Picks up in the las few chapters but everything happens suddenly. I really have no interest in reading book#2 of this seies. This book was free....
I love book series but this one really did not hold my interest until the very end. Starts pretty slow and hard to get in to. Picks up in the las few chapters but everything happens suddenly. I really have no interest in reading book#2 of this seies. This book was free... download it if you like vampires and don't mind being bored for the first 2/3 of the book. If you love vampire stories, a much better read is "Hollowland" by Amanda Hocking. I believe the cose is around $2.99 but it is definitely worth it and is a great alternative to this book. Happy reading!

posted by Dooneybug on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 839 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent story

    This story kept my attention the whole way through. I'm an avid reader of fantasy, this was exceptional. You would be sorry if u don't read this story and the second in the series Taunt. Alot of adventure and suspense keep u enthralled and wanting more.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this spin on a vampire with a heart of gold. Her OCD ticks are a smart detail and surprisingly deftly utilized. Definitely the first in a series and does a good job of setting up the canon and making you want to learn more about the characters. Glad i downloaded it and already lent to a friend.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Slow start and sudden ending...

    I love book series but this one really did not hold my interest until the very end. Starts pretty slow and hard to get in to. Picks up in the las few chapters but everything happens suddenly. I really have no interest in reading book#2 of this seies. This book was free... download it if you like vampires and don't mind being bored for the first 2/3 of the book. If you love vampire stories, a much better read is "Hollowland" by Amanda Hocking. I believe the cose is around $2.99 but it is definitely worth it and is a great alternative to this book. Happy reading!

    18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Eh

    Honestly, I'm not entirely sure why this is a four star book, other than the fact that it's edited pretty well.
    The story is slow. The main character is boring. There is nothing at all that draws you into the characters and makes you care if they die or not, if they make it through the night, if they hump each other brains out.
    Honestly, there was no real point to the story.
    I am all about cliffhangers, but a story that doesn't answer one question or makes you remember what the question actually is when you go into the next book, is a failure.
    If I would have paid for the book I would have wanted my money back. For a free book, it was one of the better ones but only because of it being edited enough that it was readable, and that's the sole reason it gets the additional star on the rating.

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Pretty awesome book

    I was surprised by how much I liked this book. I ended up reading the whole series in about 2 days and I'm looking forward to the fourth book.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    123

    The best book ever

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Whaaa?

    > Is this a Teen book? I am reading the reviews to decide whether I should bother and it looks like most were written by twelve year olds! Jeezus! So frustrating-Barnes and Nobles needs to clarify the genre or age range on books offered; whether free or not. I have been suckered into these 'kiddie books' several times and once you load them you get offered more on your 'nook picks' for the next month!
    Fyi girls- you are not texting your bff; you are writing a review. Take a second, for the love of god, and read what you wrote; correct your misspellings!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Refreshing Vamphire

    I enjoyed the light humorous approach Ava uses when facing adversity. Her internal conflicts due to her mixed heritage seems to reflect the struggles of many bi-racial individuals. I cheer for her to emerge victorous in her battles, and hope she finds her "Mr. Right". Ava is too nice to be punish with loneliness. I look forward to the next book. Simply Brenda

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Start to a good book

    You are crazy if you said this not a good book it is one of the best book's i have ever read yall really need to read it you will see why i put this post because it is the best book in the world

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Madie101

    I love this book its like about vampires and love and madness and sadness, its just a mix a differnt feelings , i would want you to read this book. :D

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Better than some

    I enjoyed the storyline behind this book and the idea of a daywalker (half human, half vampire). I did not like the main character's development or some of the actions that she took. Ava went from being dull to emotional to courageous to kickass to dull again...and none of the changes truely had motive or meaning (except for courageous towards the end). I am tempted to finish the series just to see if things happen between Ava and Peter, but I have an inckling that I will be disappointed....again.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Looooooved it!

    This is one of the best books I've read! I love the part of Ava, who's not jusr a halfbreed, but a person as well!!! I just wish sh could get some slack though. I don't kniw what's up with the on guy, but he's uber confusing. Other than that, bravo, and well done!!! Such a great book, I can't wait for the sequels!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good book

    Couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Frogluv

    There r 401pages great book though

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    -

    A great easy read that still keeps you on your toes and makes you want to read more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Good read

    well written, enjoyed it.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Everyone spells like tht

    As if u havnt noticed tht if u havnt noticed tht then i have no clue where u have been lol

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Fun and Fast read.

    A fun little book with interesting characters. I hope she can keep up the pace with #2.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Person

    Really good book

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    Interesting story

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 839 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42