BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thirst (Ava Delaney #1)

Average Rating 4
( 849 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(431)

4 Star

(238)

3 Star

(121)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story

This story kept my attention the whole way through. I'm an avid reader of fantasy, this was exceptional. You would be sorry if u don't read this story and the second in the series Taunt. Alot of adventure and suspense keep u enthralled and wanting more.

posted by mysticbeauty on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Slow start and sudden ending...

I love book series but this one really did not hold my interest until the very end. Starts pretty slow and hard to get in to. Picks up in the las few chapters but everything happens suddenly. I really have no interest in reading book#2 of this seies. This book was free....
I love book series but this one really did not hold my interest until the very end. Starts pretty slow and hard to get in to. Picks up in the las few chapters but everything happens suddenly. I really have no interest in reading book#2 of this seies. This book was free... download it if you like vampires and don't mind being bored for the first 2/3 of the book. If you love vampire stories, a much better read is "Hollowland" by Amanda Hocking. I believe the cose is around $2.99 but it is definitely worth it and is a great alternative to this book. Happy reading!

posted by Dooneybug on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this spin on a vampire with a heart of gold. Her OCD ticks are a smart detail and surprisingly deftly utilized. Definitely the first in a series and does a good job of setting up the canon and making you want to learn more about the characters. Glad i downloaded it and already lent to a friend.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Refreshing Vamphire

    I enjoyed the light humorous approach Ava uses when facing adversity. Her internal conflicts due to her mixed heritage seems to reflect the struggles of many bi-racial individuals. I cheer for her to emerge victorous in her battles, and hope she finds her "Mr. Right". Ava is too nice to be punish with loneliness. I look forward to the next book. Simply Brenda

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good book

    Couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Fun and Fast read.

    A fun little book with interesting characters. I hope she can keep up the pace with #2.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    Interesting story

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Recomend everyone read.

    This is a very good read, kept me wondering what would happen.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Great books

    Awsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Enjoyed this book

    Enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I enjoyed this more than I expected. It was different from most

    I enjoyed this more than I expected. It was different from most of the PNR books I read. It was a little slow to get going, but there was enough there to hold my interest. I look forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Good book

    Can't wait to read the next in the series to find out what happens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Love

    I love this series. And the bolks only get better as you continue with the story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Enjoyed..

    Im a picky reader.. A book really has to have the right pace,characters,and writing to hold my interest. This story has a good story line to begin with,and has many interesting characters along the way.. I liked it enough to read the next book.. I will say that it is not my favorite by any means, but its a good read that has me interested enough to see how the story unfolds.. The vampire theme with all the twists in it keeps you wanting to find out whats next..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    I liked this story. I loved how it kept me interested. I am def

    I liked this story. I loved how it kept me interested. I am def going to buy the next one. Great job Claire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Nice spin on the "girl/hybrid trying to be normal" bei

    Nice spin on the "girl/hybrid trying to be normal" being thrust into the supernatural world against her wishes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I will admit, i only read this book because I thought the cover

    I will admit, i only read this book because I thought the cover was cool and it was free but it hooked me right from the start. Could not put it down. Storyline is interesting and characters are great. Would definitely recommend this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    good main character,someone to cheer for

    good vampire story.lots of action. sympathetic main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Loved it.

    This series rocks. Can't wait to read book 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Do you like vampires? - read this!

    I gravitated to teen fiction after being slaughtered with crude sexual scenes. Twilight, before its popularity, was one of the series that I read. I enjoyed Twilight greatly for its new approach to vampires among us. The same is true in this town. "Thirst" was free. I read it based on a suggestion from a friend who like myself enjoyed the vampire-based themes. While the main character is young, you find yourself enjoying the book even as an adult. The twists and turns, as well as the unique approach, are what kept me captured. I have enjoyed this and consider it light reading, being that the books are relatively short 190-240 e-book pages, but absolutely enjoyable!

    Read the first. You have nothing to lose!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Great paranormal with a new twist

    Enjoyed this book and am reading the second ava delaney book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    If you like vampire stories, this is the one to read

    A vampire war is about to start. A female vampire turns some guy into a vampire and he follows her around like a puppy; she can't get rid of him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12