Customer Reviews for

Thirst No. 1: The Last Vampire/ Black Blood/ Red Dice

Average Rating 4
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Completely intriguing!!!

So I randomly bought it at Barnes & Nobles because I was out of new books to read. I looked at the description and figured it would be some ordinary vampire book. Oh I was very wrong, from the very first page Christopher Pike had me addicted to this story. I seriously c...
So I randomly bought it at Barnes & Nobles because I was out of new books to read. I looked at the description and figured it would be some ordinary vampire book. Oh I was very wrong, from the very first page Christopher Pike had me addicted to this story. I seriously could not put it down! I'm completely astounded that I haven't heard of him before because apparently he wrote these books a long time ago! My advice is if you like to read books that are constantly witty, indulging, thrilling, and completely romantic you have to read this book NOW!

posted by NicoletteMaria on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

I started this book thinking it would be a cool romance. But it sucked. I hated the main character. I couldnt connect and the writing style just gave me a headache. There was no meaning to the book and was too fast to really connect with. Also the romance was too fake a...
I started this book thinking it would be a cool romance. But it sucked. I hated the main character. I couldnt connect and the writing style just gave me a headache. There was no meaning to the book and was too fast to really connect with. Also the romance was too fake and not real at all. really bad book. I have read many romance and vampire books and this one doesnt even compete. I really don't recommend it.

posted by Detwilover_wentz on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely intriguing!!!

    So I randomly bought it at Barnes & Nobles because I was out of new books to read. I looked at the description and figured it would be some ordinary vampire book. Oh I was very wrong, from the very first page Christopher Pike had me addicted to this story. I seriously could not put it down! I'm completely astounded that I haven't heard of him before because apparently he wrote these books a long time ago! My advice is if you like to read books that are constantly witty, indulging, thrilling, and completely romantic you have to read this book NOW!

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My absolute FAVORITE vampire series...

    I first read these books when I was 12. Because of Christopher Pike I am a huge reader. The Last Vampire series is my favorite of all time. I am currently 26 and have read the series many times over the years. They never get old! I love all 6 of the books as much as I did then. Sita is the ultimate vampire to me. I love that she is nothing like the traditional vampire. She is my favorite character in all fiction. :~) I cannot wait to get the new release of the series this August!!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Old Favorite

    Like the first reviewer, I read this series over 10 years ago. Others have said the story doesn't add up or make sense, but that may be because it's the first 3 novels of a 6 book series. Of course it "doesn't add up at the end" - it's not the end. Also keep in mind, many of Christopher Pike's novels were written for the young adult (ie. teen) genre in the 1990s. They weren't meant to be romance novels for adults. That said, it has always been one of my favorite series and I can't wait for the second half of the series to come out next year!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this fantastic book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    Will get in your blood

    This series will rock you. Using an intelligent and powerful voice, the last vampire, Sita, tells her five-thousand year story of light and darkness, evil and profound spirituality...in this series you will witness Sita's beginning and her end, and afterwards you will walk away shaken and hungry for more.

    Pike re-imagines the vampire legend, giving us vampires who are more powerful, more sophisticated and more dangerous than those in other teen-vampire books. Sita has lived and loved well throughout her life, and because of these vast experiences she is proficient in everything human--from our arts to our weapons to our hearts and souls, Sita is an expert. And that is good, because she'll need these skills to resist those who know what she is. Once they have her powers they intend to kill her. But even after five-thousand years, Sita is not ready to die. She still has too much to love.

    Pike's best character EVER. The master of horror at his absolute peak--this is more than a vampire series, it is a dance with the spiritual side of life and death.

    Marvelous.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great! Great! Great!

    Simply a kickass book

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    i was thirsty for thirst!

    i loved this book for many reasons. i have read ALOT of vampire books and they are all diferent in diferent ways. this was the first vampire book that really religous. it was in a good way and i loved that even though sita was in a way ruthless, she never forgot her god and what she believed in. i love the charchter of alisa and the hold she has over victims and lovers alike. it caught my attention and i never once thought what was going to and it actually happened. pike really kept me guessing and i again loved the spiritual aspect of it all. i reccommened this book to all who love vampire books. you wont be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Vampire Fans, be warned – this is not some love story wher

    Vampire Fans, be warned – this is not some love story where girl meets vampire and lives forever. Christopher Pike's Thirst pulls you into a world you probably never thought possible. A mash of writing and adventure like James Pattersons Maximum Ride and a not-so-lovey vampire story. Alisa Perne is definitely my hero. Alisa is the only vampire – other than her creator – on earth. This reissue as an omnibus lets the reader delve into Alisa’s life both in the present and looking back into her past in three novels that suck you in and never let go. Violence, major action, laughs, sarcasm, some romance, and blood drinking has been combined into one book. This series has definitely changed my view on vampires. I honestly wish I could give it more than 5 stars.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thirst NO. 1 Christopher Pike

    I have never read one of Christopher Pike's books before. I loved every minute of it. I will continue to read his books after this. I can't wait for Thirst NO. 2 to come out in Jan. Christopher writes in such detail. I could see myself as Alisa. What she was wearing, how she was moving in a fight. I loved it how he would go into the past and tell us what happened and then put it in the present time. He descriped Eddie with having a scared face from acne, and I could see it every clear, as if he was standing in front of me. I have read many vamprie books and nothing like this. I couldn't put the book down. I read it in 2 weeks, with work, kids, being in the military. I would requimend this to anyone and every one that reads fiction books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Reading for the first time since I was a teen

    I remember reading and rereading these books when they first came out. As an adult, they are still that good. In my opinion, they are better than the Twilight series because of the mature tint to it. The simplicity of the writing. I am disappointed to know the remainder of the series won't come out until January 2010. Christopher Pike was one of my first favorite authors and I am sad that most of his books are out of print. I hope this will help his publishers think about reissuing the books. I am going to check to see if any others have been reissued. I would like to read the others again as an adult as I think some of the themes were a little advanced for a 13 year old. I will be passing my copy of this book on tomorrow. I just bought it yesterday.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Want a journey?

    I first saw this book and figured ehh I'll read it. I've got nothing else to do. I bought book 1 and 2. I had to go and buy 3 and 4. This book however isn't like any other book. The author makes you feel as if you wen't through life step by step with his character. He adds in theories based off religion, science and nature. He truely does make you go through all emotions, Kudos for that. This book is a simple read, remind you it is for a teenage reading level. I promise you that once you start reading this book you're going to want to continue the journey through with Sita 'til the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sensational!!!

    I came across these books back in the early 1990's when "The Last Vampire" book 1 first came out. I immediately fall in love with the story and was the first book that introduce me to my ongoing love for supernatural novels. 15 years later, I was wondering through the same old book store in Stinson Beach, California where I had originally found this wonderful book. I went on-line and re-bought the series. To this day I still LOVE THIS SERIES! Its been so fun to re-read these books and fall in love all over again with this story... It's a old fashion vampire story about a 5,000 year old vampire name Alisa (Sita). It has been a absolute wonderful read, even after all these years!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!

    I had read the twilight books and the house of night books and was looking for something good in the vampire category. I had seen this book around my school alot so i decided to try it out. It was one of the best decisions i have made, book wise! I honestly think that these books are better than the twilight books! Sorry stephenie meyer, but christopher pike has you beat by JUST an inch! these books are so AMAZING!! the characters are so real, and you will be on the edge of your seat to the very last page! the action is mindblowing and somehow the author NEVER loses your attention! i recommend this to anyone and everyone!! VERY good job!!
    P.S. the next books just get better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Vampire book?...I think not!! LOL

    Thirst was a different type of vampire novel. It wasnt like the other typical vampire books bit, kill, blood,and scared of sun. He went a different route with this book. I really enjoyed it. The characters felt life like and real. It made you feel like you were actually part of the story.

    The other thing I liked it had 3 different stories with 3 different bad guys in it. But all 3 stories tied in together to make a wonderful book. The last book to me, leaves you on the edge of your sit dying to get to the next book. Which is, Thirst 2.

    If you enjoy vampire novels like Anne Rice, New Moon and Twlight. You will really enjoy this New Age Vampire story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So amazing!!!

    This book completely surprised me. I'm not a big reader, but when I find a book that is good, no matter the size, I finish it in about a week. (Im a slow reader) It took me 5 days to read this book, and I was so upset when it ended, that I went to the store and bought the second one about 2 days later. I cannot think of any other vampire book where the main character will actually go back and tell about their stories from the past. You usually read how and when they were changed, but this story actually tells everything about her past, which i found very intriging. It was very hardcore. Not totally emotional, but hey, what vampire is supposed to be completely emotional?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very good book

    i liked this book.its very intersting. if you like bloodsucking with a little killing and horror you should get this book.:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    OMG AMAZING

    IM a teenage girl who doesnt usally read alot of books in fact im eaisly board with books and will stop reading them but this book keeps you wondering i cant wait too foinish this one and start on no. 2 and please christopher pike keep writting the thirst series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    thirst

    loved it. it reminded me of twilight a bit, but rougher. sita is a 5000 year old vampire who made a vow to god not to make any more vampires. all 3 books are great!!! can't wait to the next vol.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    As a 30 something adult I LOVE THIS SERIES!

    Not going to give a review with spoilers....as a fan of adult PNR books I honestly dont recall how I ended up with this book but Im sooo glad I did!! I read the entire series & just finished reading it a 2nd time approx a year later. The author adds much to the books such as religion, mystery, murder, pkots to end the world, higher life forms and even a few flashbacks to other eras, races and so much more.....Im shocked its stayed as a Teen Book as its content and style of writing are far more mature than the Twilight Series ( which I also enjoyed). I do think many people especially the over 18 crowd will enjoy the later books in the series, however by page 100 or so I knew this was a re-read series when I couldnt put it down & then raced to the store to purchase the 2nd book!! Its saying a lot as a voracious reader, I believe that Ive only re-read approx. 5 other series and I think Ill read this a 3 rd time prior to the March 2013 release of the final book in Sita's story! The books especially the later ones are full of characters that I loved & laughed with, rooted & even cried for...another rare thing for me!! I HIGHLY SUGGEST ANY PNR AND/OR VAMPIRE LOVER READ THE SERIES!! enjoy and PLEASE MR. PIKE DONT END THE SERIES IN MARCH 2013!! Also cant wait til the movie comes out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    This is one of my favorite teen vampire series. These books are

    This is one of my favorite teen vampire series. These books are not for little girls who are looking for tepid teen romances bedazzled up with sparkly supernatural-lite BS. Christopher Pike's heroine is not some boring wimpy teen. She's also not an annoyingly loud-mouthed "sassy" teen ready to kick the world's ass solely fueled on her girl power.

    Alisa is a woman (as in all grown up), and a five-thousand year old vampire, and she is as terrifying as she is funny and wise. This is a real vampire story to read at night, under the covers, when all the lights in the house are out except for the one next to your bed.

    It has horror. It has violence. It has philosophical musings that explore our fascination with immortal damned beings. And yes, it has romance. But it is believable and there aren't an inordinate amount of pages devoted to the lovers just staring into each other's eyes with unbearable longing/love/passion.

    One caveat, if you're looking for a teen vampire series heavier on the romance and teenage angst than The Last Vampire series but Twilight put you to sleep, try the original four books in L.J. Smith's Vampire Diaries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8