BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thirst No. 2: Phantom, Evil Thirst, and Creatures of Forever (Last Vampire Series)

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sophisticated and Unique

    I've read (and enjoyed) just about every popular YA vampire series on the market (Twilight, Vampire Diaries, Morganville, House of Night . get the picture?) and Thirst is my absolute favorite-no contest. Sita is a five-thousand year old vampire, so while she has never been one to chew on bubblegum social issues, her struggle to find personal and spiritual maturity will intrigue any deep-thinking teenager (or adult, for that matter).

    The Thirst series doesn't waste time. This vampire's storytelling is concise, always suspenseful, heartfelt and a little ironic. Thirst No. 2 opens with Sita discovering she's human once again. With this she realizes her opportunity to create a child. A blessing that soon becomes a fast-paced nightmare-because after all, once a vampire, always a vampire. Her baby is born thirsty, and Sita's destiny, it seems, is to always be the hunter who is hunted. Without spoiling the wonders of this story, know this: the birth of Sita's child propels her toward a profound understanding of her life, opens her up to an inspired last adventure (a journey into her past!) and ultimately gifts her with an ending that is astonishing and poetic.

    Once the final pages have turned, I guarantee you'll miss her. Sita is a vampire unlike any other. And frankly, if I could have my way she would tell the stories of her long life forever. And ever.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny thing about this one...

    Thirst No 1 and 2 are compiled novels originally released in 1994. They were just released again due to renewed interest by teens in vampire fiction. What I love about these books is that they are both more original, thrilling, emotional and symbolic than any vampire novel in circulation today. The entire series truly puts Twilight to shame. Sita is a dangerous 5,000 year old murderer but at the end I felt like she was my sister. I would love to read more of Sita's adventures in the past, much like the excerpts throughout Thirst 1 and 2, but full length novels. I highly recommend these books for older readers (20s) who remember reading thrillers by Christopher Pike or R.L. Stine as young teenagers. That is probably the best market for Sita, as she will be well understood by a more mature audience. Overall, I highly suggest reading these books, they are wonderful and unique and well worth your time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Anyone posting a bad review of this book is not reading for the simple joy and entertainment that reading provides. This book is a fantastic piece of FICTION (I highlight this for those who have posts with such remarks as "aliens?, really?"), meant to help you escape into a new world, not like our own. I would recommend this book to anyone. I could not put this book down! I find myself searching for a filler as I await the release of the newest installment in August. The writing style is unique and easy to read while the subject matter is modern and intriguing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sita, The Last Vampire.

    Like many others, I read Thirst 1 before this novel and fell in love with the main charater, Sita. Christopher Pike writes a thrilling historical story of a women vampire who goes through hell and back throughout her lifetime. I'm a fan of a good vampire tale but this story far beats Twilight and many others. The characters are well developed and the story has meaning and merit. I recommend it to any SciFi lover. And look out for Thirst 3, it comes out in October, I can't wait.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a must read.

    this book is a must read ,i couldnt stop reading it.i highly reccomend this book ,thirst no.1 and thirst no.2,it is a thrilling book and doesnt bore you it makes you want to read more,its worth buying and reading.its suspenseful and it has a mix of love,action,humor,and many more. i enjoyed this book.the charachters i love.(: if you love reading and vampires you will like this book,read it,you wont regret it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    OMG BEST BOOK EVER

    Im 11
    years old and the 2nd is even better then the first just cant wait till i read the 3rd!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Thirst 2

    This is the greatest series after the sweep series....... i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    must read!!!

    I need the third book! If u liked the first one youll love this one seriously. Its more like 10 out of 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    to the christian guy/girl

    Im probay goinh to get alot of hate for this but i dont care. God/jeseus isnt real seriously get over yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    so was not what i thought but...

    I found myself falling in love with this book. the writer made me see things i didnt know was there and kept me on the edge of my seat as i read more and more and then the ending shocked me and I couldnt belive it! Now im off to read book three and i hope... so hope that it wins me over again! would recommend it to others!!! and have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I am 12 years old, and this book truly is a well-written book. S

    I am 12 years old, and this book truly is a well-written book. Sometimes the author isn't very exact about what he is explaining. But besides that its sophisticated and interesting.
    Sita is now human once again, she takes this opportunity is taken up quickly. After birth, her baby is born a thirsty vampire. She seems to be innocent..a little too innocent. When Sita realizes that she must kill her baby, it breaks her down but she continues to try. Ending up, her child was actually protecting her from the obvious..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    LOVE THE BOOK! amazing story and great author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Goood book :)

    I liked Thirst 2 better than Thirst 1. They were both really good :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!!!!! <3

    I love this series and book!!!! I think it interesting how they talk about hindu gods ,and I thought it was cool to learn a little about them. This book is great and i recommond this to anybody. I stayed up all night trying to finish it. Christopher did a great job writing it. The book was written well, interestng, and well thought out. There were times when i got a little bored wih it ,but it didn't ruin the book for me!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best vampire books ever!

    I really have to say this! I have read alot of vampire books in my life . But this one will be most rememberable of all. But first Christopher Pike is one of the Best of the Best! This character She is stunning .Who would of ever of thinking to make a vampire,back in to human? She is sharp ,she is sexy she is one bad girl! You think the first book has you, just wait till you read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    i am waiting to read this book

    i read the first one and now i wanna read the second one. the first was awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    soooooooo good

    book 1 was encredable. i may be 12 but the story was esay to read and understand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    I loved it

    I really enjoyed this book. As far as the sexual content, this book is located in the young adult section. I wouldn't necessarily consider a 12 year old a young adult. But either way...it's not graphic..and it's not like young adults don't know what sex is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thirst.

    Well I just can't wait for Thirst to comeout. Christopher Pike has lovel poetic languge. Well I know there has been complaining about Sexual things. and I alsothink about languge. Well if you walked outside there would be twice as much swearing than in the book. Well I think if you child is mature enough to read it, it is a great book! But if your Child is Immature and kiddy, thats your choice but I would say no.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4