Customer Reviews for

Thirst No. 3: The Eternal Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hello again, Sita.

Christopher Pike's The Last Vampire series was one of my favorite things to read as a youngster. I purchased each book as it hit the shelves and devoured them gleefully. I was so terribly unhappy that the series ended in The Last Vampire: Creatures of Forever. That ...
Christopher Pike's The Last Vampire series was one of my favorite things to read as a youngster. I purchased each book as it hit the shelves and devoured them gleefully. I was so terribly unhappy that the series ended in The Last Vampire: Creatures of Forever. That said, however, the ending of that book, the end of the series, was perfect. All the loose ends were tied up into a nice little bow. All questions answered. It was over.

Imagine my surprise (and from what I've seen by poking around the internet, the surprise of many) when I saw that there was going to be a 7th book. What? But Sita's story was over! Done! Finished! We, her devoted fans, knew precisely what happened, we knew her story, we knew the truth, we'd read THE END. Boy were we fooled.

Like many others I wondered how, after such a solid ending to the series, Christopher Pike could bring Sita back into the limelight. I imagined it would be stunningly brilliant, written eloquently and beautifully...the story would flow from the pages into my brain and I would sigh in utter bliss.

Yeah, no.

By the end of Chapter 2, I was so thoroughly and completely disgusted with the blatantly SILLY way that he brought her story back into play that I had to place my bookmark on the page, close the book, and walk away. It was that, or fly to Christopher Pike's house and ask him very plainly, "What were you THINKING?". And where was his EDITOR? Seriously?

Of course, it's -Sita-, man. You have to find out what happens to her, you have to see. After a day or two, when my level of rage over the absolutely insanely boring way he explained things, I picked up the book again.

Boy am I glad I did. I know that not everything Christopher Pike writes is a masterpiece. He's not the most brilliant author, at times his writing is choppy and he is repetitive in a way that makes me grit my teeth, but the story - ah the story! By the end of Chapter 3 I was hooked. I forgot, since it's been nearly a decade since I've read a Christopher Pike novel, that sometimes he starts slow. But then the flow happens and you're drawn into the tightly woven story that keeps you snugged tightly in its arms until it darn well chooses to release you. For me, that was at the very last page, the whispered words that sealed that particular portion of the novel also assured that I will be anxiously awaiting, and pre-ordering, Thirst No. 4. Yes, people, there's another coming. Summer of 2011, it says. Read stories 1 - 6 (or Thirst No 1 and Thirst No 2), Read Thirst No. 3: The Eternal Dawn. Sita dazzles, but not in that sparkly glittery craptastic way that Dear Eddie does...I promise you'll be enchanted.

posted by Ree_Anderson on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intense

Smiles.

posted by 2193897 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Hello again, Sita.

    Christopher Pike's The Last Vampire series was one of my favorite things to read as a youngster. I purchased each book as it hit the shelves and devoured them gleefully. I was so terribly unhappy that the series ended in The Last Vampire: Creatures of Forever. That said, however, the ending of that book, the end of the series, was perfect. All the loose ends were tied up into a nice little bow. All questions answered. It was over.

    Imagine my surprise (and from what I've seen by poking around the internet, the surprise of many) when I saw that there was going to be a 7th book. What? But Sita's story was over! Done! Finished! We, her devoted fans, knew precisely what happened, we knew her story, we knew the truth, we'd read THE END. Boy were we fooled.

    Like many others I wondered how, after such a solid ending to the series, Christopher Pike could bring Sita back into the limelight. I imagined it would be stunningly brilliant, written eloquently and beautifully...the story would flow from the pages into my brain and I would sigh in utter bliss.

    Yeah, no.

    By the end of Chapter 2, I was so thoroughly and completely disgusted with the blatantly SILLY way that he brought her story back into play that I had to place my bookmark on the page, close the book, and walk away. It was that, or fly to Christopher Pike's house and ask him very plainly, "What were you THINKING?". And where was his EDITOR? Seriously?

    Of course, it's -Sita-, man. You have to find out what happens to her, you have to see. After a day or two, when my level of rage over the absolutely insanely boring way he explained things, I picked up the book again.

    Boy am I glad I did. I know that not everything Christopher Pike writes is a masterpiece. He's not the most brilliant author, at times his writing is choppy and he is repetitive in a way that makes me grit my teeth, but the story - ah the story! By the end of Chapter 3 I was hooked. I forgot, since it's been nearly a decade since I've read a Christopher Pike novel, that sometimes he starts slow. But then the flow happens and you're drawn into the tightly woven story that keeps you snugged tightly in its arms until it darn well chooses to release you. For me, that was at the very last page, the whispered words that sealed that particular portion of the novel also assured that I will be anxiously awaiting, and pre-ordering, Thirst No. 4. Yes, people, there's another coming. Summer of 2011, it says. Read stories 1 - 6 (or Thirst No 1 and Thirst No 2), Read Thirst No. 3: The Eternal Dawn. Sita dazzles, but not in that sparkly glittery craptastic way that Dear Eddie does...I promise you'll be enchanted.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Thirst

    I loved the book thirst even though its not for my age level. I love how the auther explained everything so well sure it was a bit hard to understand but, I got over that quickly. So I would rate this book 5 stars but remember start with the first one it will be alot easyer to understand the book, believe me I know how it feels.
    P.S. The Thirst books are alot better than the twilight books!
    That just my opinion o.k.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    i like thirst much better than twilight! there is more history t

    i like thirst much better than twilight! there is more history that i can grasp and really relate to!so where is the movie because these books deserve one!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Welcome Back, Sita!

    I read the first 6 books when they came out over 15 years ago and fell in love with Sita/Alisa then so I was thrilled to see her story continued. Thank you, Mr. Pike! She is an amazing character full of flaws and heart with a persistant desire to be 'good'. Christopher Pike is an awesome writer and I am glad that a new generation of readers are discovering him. I would love for him to write a new story about Shari Cooper from 'Remember Me'. If you loved Sita, you should check out Shari.......although you may have to search online. Like the original Sita books, the RM stories are oldies but goodies!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Good.

    I finally got it. The first 2 books are what happened in Seymours book, so all that stuff was in his book. So it was a book in a book if that makes sense? I love Thirst, though. There amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Great Book... but huh???

    I loved the series but didn't Alisa turn human at the end and all the history was changed? I was so sad that she decided to give up her life even though it was tough, but she had saved alot of people so I didn't get it when she threw it all away. But she did leave it so how is there another book?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Good

    The first two books should be on here but other than that great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    ??

    why dont they have all of these bokks for the nook?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you Christopher Pike

    I have to be honest I wasn't a huge fan of the first two books. So when I read that there was another book in works I was apprehensive. I was hooked as soon as I started reading :) I was captivated by the new characters and couldn't wait to see what happened next. This book doesn't disappoint, so I can't wait to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Sita!

    Cristopher Pike is a great writer. Read the whole series aout the awesome thousand year old vampire. Sita is my favorite character (obviously) since she's really wise. The series is better than Twilight, in my opinion, because it's not just about a vampire loving a human and all that mushy romace. This is more about actions amd "themes". Heck, I learned a lot from this book and the suspenseful series. READ! ; )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    THIS BOOK IS MAKING ME CURIOUS

    I wonder how good this book is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Fabulous!!

    I absolutely love everything avout this series. I have all 5 books and am now in the process of rereading every single one of them. There was alot I had forgot happened in the few books and it just feels so good to remember all of Sita's adventures! You go girl!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Carly

    Is bored.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Nya

    Kk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Dawn urgent

    At the beach she sed to tell u she loves u!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    It was okay

    It was my least favorite of the seiries but it was cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Love it!!!

    This book is a great story. But be warned, there are others (books), and you might get lost if you don't know the others. If ou haven't read them go to related titles and hit more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Wheres the first and second one does nook not have them does anyone know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Im reading it rite now! ;-)

    Its great!!!!;+)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Omg awsome book!!!!

    I luv this book i wantbto read the second one but i cant find it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13