Customer Reviews for

Thirst No. 3: The Eternal Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hello again, Sita.

Christopher Pike's The Last Vampire series was one of my favorite things to read as a youngster. I purchased each book as it hit the shelves and devoured them gleefully. I was so terribly unhappy that the series ended in The Last Vampire: Creatures of Forever. That ...
Christopher Pike's The Last Vampire series was one of my favorite things to read as a youngster. I purchased each book as it hit the shelves and devoured them gleefully. I was so terribly unhappy that the series ended in The Last Vampire: Creatures of Forever. That said, however, the ending of that book, the end of the series, was perfect. All the loose ends were tied up into a nice little bow. All questions answered. It was over.

Imagine my surprise (and from what I've seen by poking around the internet, the surprise of many) when I saw that there was going to be a 7th book. What? But Sita's story was over! Done! Finished! We, her devoted fans, knew precisely what happened, we knew her story, we knew the truth, we'd read THE END. Boy were we fooled.

Like many others I wondered how, after such a solid ending to the series, Christopher Pike could bring Sita back into the limelight. I imagined it would be stunningly brilliant, written eloquently and beautifully...the story would flow from the pages into my brain and I would sigh in utter bliss.

Yeah, no.

By the end of Chapter 2, I was so thoroughly and completely disgusted with the blatantly SILLY way that he brought her story back into play that I had to place my bookmark on the page, close the book, and walk away. It was that, or fly to Christopher Pike's house and ask him very plainly, "What were you THINKING?". And where was his EDITOR? Seriously?

Of course, it's -Sita-, man. You have to find out what happens to her, you have to see. After a day or two, when my level of rage over the absolutely insanely boring way he explained things, I picked up the book again.

Boy am I glad I did. I know that not everything Christopher Pike writes is a masterpiece. He's not the most brilliant author, at times his writing is choppy and he is repetitive in a way that makes me grit my teeth, but the story - ah the story! By the end of Chapter 3 I was hooked. I forgot, since it's been nearly a decade since I've read a Christopher Pike novel, that sometimes he starts slow. But then the flow happens and you're drawn into the tightly woven story that keeps you snugged tightly in its arms until it darn well chooses to release you. For me, that was at the very last page, the whispered words that sealed that particular portion of the novel also assured that I will be anxiously awaiting, and pre-ordering, Thirst No. 4. Yes, people, there's another coming. Summer of 2011, it says. Read stories 1 - 6 (or Thirst No 1 and Thirst No 2), Read Thirst No. 3: The Eternal Dawn. Sita dazzles, but not in that sparkly glittery craptastic way that Dear Eddie does...I promise you'll be enchanted.

posted by Ree_Anderson on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intense

Smiles.

posted by 2193897 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    i love this seriesss!

    these are like reallllly good books!i thought they were gonna be cheesy but they arnt at all and they are very interesting! i stay up till 5AM reading because i cant put the book down! hahaha. im almost done with the 2nd one and want to buy this one on my NOOK but dont have wifi so i must wait.... :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!!! <3

    This is a great book but every book in the series is really good!!!!!!!!! I loved that in the end *spoiler* she goes into her "Daughters" body. I thought that was a really good twist to the book. Cannot wait tell The fourth book comes out. I recommond this book to anybody who is looking for an thrilling and very intense book. LOVED IT!!!!!!! <3<3<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

    I am absolutely in LOVE with this series! I just cannot express that enough. I actually stumbled upon the series by chance when browsing for a new book to read. I knew exactly what type of book I was looking for (anything with dragons, vampires, ghosts or anything along those lines) yet I did not know where to start. Thirst No. 1 caught my eye and I read the back cover. I was immediately hooked! I purchased Thirst No. 1 and No. 2 the same day. I returned later and purchased No. 3 as well. I am extremely excited that the story continues in Thirst No. 4! I will be pre-ordering very soon. Can't wait!!! (I will also be purchasing Remember Me)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Love!

    Im in love with the series. This is definantly worth your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Cant wait!

    I read all the old christopher pike books over 15 years ago. Im surprised to see new ones. I cant wait to read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!

    i read all three of these books and i absulutly LOVE them. I reccomend this book to any vampire lover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    awesome series!!!

    i bought the first three books of this series all at the same time. i had them all read in two days, which is really fast for me! i can not wait for the fourth book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Marvelous

    I read thirst no 1 and 2 and was so mad that thirst no 3 was not coming out right away. When thirst no 3 came out i was overjoyed now that i am done with the third book i am so anxious for thirst no 4 to come out this summer. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    wow..

    I absoltely adore these books. They are marvalous! I would recommend them to anyone. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    I can't wait for book 4!!

    I read the first 2 books and was sooo sad when i finished the second one. I felt completely lost! I was very excited when I came across book 3 and will definitely be getting book 4 this summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    Since I loved 1 and 2 I knew I would love 3. I was just stunned to find out who Matt was and at the ending. Now I can't wait til book 4. This is going top be intresting with Teri and all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    It just gets better and better!

    This has been the best book of the series so far. It starts off with a mystery that you would have never guessed would happen and then ends with an unexpected twist. Highly recomended series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!

    i really thought it was gonna start with new people or something, but when i started to read it i just could never put it down!!! it really throughs some curve balls at you through out the entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Must read!

    Absolutely love this book and the entire series! Definitely a great read for the young adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Loved it!

    I love these books! all of them are awesome! the twists were kind of hard to follow aat times, though. I didn't like the end where Sita had died then Teri goes and whispers to Seymore that"im Sita" or whatever and the book just ended there! going to have to wait for the next book i guess...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Best in series!

    I just found Thirst 1 and 2 and couldn't wait for Thirst 3. They are all excellent books and can't wait for the next book, due in 2011! I've enjoyed these books by Pike so much, I've starting reading his other works and they are all just as engrossing this this series. If you haven't read any of Pike's works, I suggest you read the Thirst series in order -- you will not be sorry. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best in the Series

    adding the new charecters plus keeping Seymor and Sita made this book the best in the series it was jaw dropping it has everything a good book should have i loved it and cant wait for the nest one Thirst 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    My favorite author,with yet another amaziingg book in the Thirst series!

    If you didnt read Thirst no.1,or Thirst no.2,this book may confuse you! But even confused:u will love it anyway!ive just finished reading it and intend on reading it again!(: a great book.author.and series!U MUST READ!!!! enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Completely Outdone himself.

    Pike is an amazing author to begin with. But this novel just captured me. Such imagination and depth and thought. i just finished it and am utterly hooked. i cannot wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    AMAZING! Ending kept me guessing!

    Absolutely beautiful way to bring the story of Sita back. I love Christopher Pike and am glad that he made (and is making!) more Sita books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10