Customer Reviews for

Thirsty

Average Rating 3.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very well written

I thought this was an awesome book I had never really read a real horror/suspense book before, but I thought it was really good, showing the perspective of a nerdy teenage boy just trying to be normal but can't because he's turning into a vampire. I defintely recommend...
I thought this was an awesome book I had never really read a real horror/suspense book before, but I thought it was really good, showing the perspective of a nerdy teenage boy just trying to be normal but can't because he's turning into a vampire. I defintely recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Horrid

This book was terrible and a disappointment. Don't waste your time.

posted by 7661282 on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Very well written

    I thought this was an awesome book I had never really read a real horror/suspense book before, but I thought it was really good, showing the perspective of a nerdy teenage boy just trying to be normal but can't because he's turning into a vampire. I defintely recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    loved it

    i sugest reading it a great book wish there was another

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Its really good!!!!

    Funny, true to life, tragic, filled with teen angst, and with a strong dose of the spernatural, Thirsty is a must-read for anyone thats a fan of the dystopian!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE!

    This book was perfect! Suspensful- but yet not too long! I really loved this book and personally felt it had a deeper meaning...for each person this meaning could be different. Read it- it'll leave you *thirsty* for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Horrid

    This book was terrible and a disappointment. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    This is probably my favorite book--check it out!

    So basically this book deserves a 5 star review because it's awesome in every way. I almost can't describe how awesome it is. MT Anderson is one of the funniest authors I know and everything in this book makes me laugh. It's supposed to have some deep metaphorical meaning about how confusing it is to grow up and act like an adult when you're young, but all that aside, this book is just funny as heck. The author is sarcastic and witty as he tells the story from the main character's point of view. Plus, it's about vampires, and who doesn't like vampires? I think this book is super underrated because I hadn't of it before I decided to read it. But it really is amazing so I recommend you find a copy right now and read it--it will change your life. Seriously. P.S. If you like the books Spook and Stiff by Mary Roach, you'll probs like this book too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Hayden mickle review on thirsty by M.T. Anderson

    I thought this book was a real thrilling book that you can never put drow because you don't know what going to happen next in the book. Aslo i thought tath it would be a very good book to recomed to other look family members or friends. I hope they make a second one because it a ciffhager a the end. Ihope you like reading the book if you do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    Dark but with a sense of humor

    The plot is very creative with many twists and events
    The characters are very funny and are not serious all the time like in every other vampire book
    The tone is dark enough to please vampire fans but not so overbearing that you feel depressed reading it
    You won't regret trying this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    I've heard great things about M.T. Anderson, but this book was

    I've heard great things about M.T. Anderson, but this book was not as popular as other works like Feed and the Octavian Nothing books. As a debut novel, I thought it was amusing, but I would have liked a stronger ending. Anderson's writing style is quick and witty, and I'll definitely check out other books.

    My take: Emerging vampirism as a metaphor for puberty=funny! Swelling teeth, thoughts of blood lust, etc.

    I also enjoyed the main character's passive aggressive frenemy and the ridiculously named Chet, the Celestial Being. The world Anderson creates is believable, but has a camp sensibility. The cover is pretty brilliant, too. I like a simple image with a sense of humor, don't you?

    I'm still wondering how to pronounce the name of the evil vampire lord, Tch'Muchgar. I've searched the internet, but can't find anything. Does anyone know? I can't get it out of my head. I wander around like a crazy person, muttering different pronunciations to myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    read when board with nothing else to do.

    It had a good story. But the ending was not good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!

    I read this book when it first came out, and I fell in love with it. You have to realize that in this society that vampirism is real and they are treating them like subhuman. The main character is dealing with trying to remain on to his humanity, well finding out if anyone knows that he is a vampire, he will be killed. Even by his own family, his own mother.

    And the ending imagery is beautiful. Well, horrible, but beautiful.

    This is not a good book if you do not like thinking or getting thrust into a different world. The writer, writes in the POINT OF VIEW of the main character, who is a younger male. You must keep this in mind. As well as illusions to other books, and history.

    I love this book and recommend it to my friends and my book group (who loved it as well).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    uhmm.. no

    okay so my friend told me about how amazing this book was and how i was not living until i read it.. she was wrong. oh my goodness! within the 3rd chapters i was like scowling aha it was pretty bad >.<
    the whole book was just... ghetto.
    it was so slow and i had to force myself to get through it
    ughhh, disappointing x654138

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    thirsty, not so good

    i regret buying this book. it took me forever to finish and it doesnt have much of a plot. i found myself wishing the book would end. it needed more details and explanations. i wouldnt re-read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    thirsty?

    I bought this book after looking at the B&N website for books related to the marked series. I came across a review that said if you like the series you should read thirsty. I'm an avid reader and read about a book a day. As such I must tell anyone interested in this book - read it in the store for 20 min before buying it. I bought this book several months ago, tried to read it and in a week got as far as chapter 7. I can't finish it because I feel the author writes as well as a 9th grader - no pull in the literature. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone, however I'm aware that there are those who enjoy it, so as I said before if your interested in judging for yourself read it in the store before you buy it.

    I did attach a few books that I would recommend if you were interested in a romantic fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    thirsty

    it was a great book, a good one for boys who may feel like Twilight is too girly for them :o) I enjoyed it all... I wish there was a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth reading third chapter

    I am obssessed with vampire books. I could not bring myself to read the third chapter of this book; thats how disappointing it was. This book is deffinately geared toward a younger audience (middleschool/freshman) that I just couldn't find the interest to involve myself in.

    Deffinatly a waste of money buying this book! borrow it from a friend or from the library before buying it outright!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    This Book was

    Pretty good im not finished but so far its good...this is one of my first fiction books and really if youre just starting to read fiction its really good :]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My review

    Kinda good not my fav book ever

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    so-so

    An ok book. not my favourite but ok. I probably won't read it again. It's just one of those books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Not too thrilled

    This book was pretty entertaining but it wasn't what I expected at all. It was more depressing than it was anything else! It, unfortunately, wasn't even close to reaching my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4