BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thirsty

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful story that gripped me entirely

    Alcoholic Nina Parker has lost everything. But she's just completed her ninety days of rehab and is ready to try and put her life back together. She doesn't know if her ex-husband will ever forgive her or consider mending their relationship. So she takes her teenage daughter to her childhood home to try and rebuild that relationship as well as the one with her parents. But there are horrors in her past she isn't ready to face and a murderer loose in town. Can she deal with all this and stay sober?

    I've heard a lot of people talking about this book as a Christian Twilight. It is not that at all. Thirsty is a combination women's fiction and Brandilyn Collins-like suspense. That said, this was a powerful story, vampire subplot aside. Whereas the vampire subplot fit well with the story and had some intriguing parallels, the book would have been just as good without the vampire subplot.

    Nina's story-her life-was so real it gripped me entirely. It got me thinking about my own addictions to busyness and work, my husband's side of partnering with me in life, my father and grandfather's alcohol addictions. I was overcome with intense emotions after finishing this book. Maybe that's because it was two am. I started it at nine and had to stay up until I finished. Always a good sign of a powerful story. But through Nina's husband's points of view especially, I was able to relate to my husband a bit more. I was able to thank God for sparing me from my family's generational addiction of alcohol and was able to consider the effect my addiction to busyness might have on my family. For that, I am grateful. Perspective is a hard thing to get in life, and here Tracey Bateman has done it with fiction by writing characters you become.

    As to whether this book is a good one for teens, it depends on the teen. It is an intense book. But the characters are so real that any teen dealing with addiction-be it their addiction or a loved one's-could benefit from the perspective this novel offers. A very highly recommended book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    So awesome! Just love her writing!

    I guess i am a bit bias because i love Ms. Bateman's writing, but needless to say I loved it! If you like historical writings, read her book kansas home! Idk if it is on the nook, but its worth the find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Can't believe this was 99 cents

    This was a terrific book. A quick read and holds your interest till the very end. Amazing how Tracey Bateman can spin together a vampire story, a sobriety story and bring it together with some God. I would reccommend this a thousand times over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a recommend

    Although the start of the book seemed to sound interesting with the hopes of Markus meeting Nina in the future and the possibility of a romance, it was a letdown to know that's not how it turned out. The story primarily focuses on Nina and her struggle with alcohol addiction and the mystery of Markus is not explored enough. The fact that he is a vampire was intriguing to see how his future encounter with her would turn out, only to find he was more of a fixture in her life, always turning up whenever she went anywhere. None of the fantasy or romance ever developed between the two. And the ending was a letdown. For this I rate this book 3 stars, as the story was still interesting, but took me in a direction I was not looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book !!

    The characters and the differnt take on vampires was amazing. Very well writen and I look forward to reading other books by tracey bateman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampire with a Twist

    A nice twist on the vampire theme. Pretty cutting edge stuff for a Christian novel. The main character is unbalanced enough to keep the pages turning. Her struggle and metamorphosis are pretty realistic. This novel is not trite, but it's full of hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A really good adult vampire novel

    I really liked this book. Not only was it a vampire story (which I'm really starting to love those) but it was an adult vampire story with a great story line! It kept my attention and I got really pulled into the story. Nina, the main character, is an alcoholic who's all but lost her family. I've never really known an alcoholic, but I'm sure that the struggles Nina faced are all too common. I really liked Nina, she'd made some mistakes in her life but she was really working on turning things around. Trying to regain trust in relationships that her drinking had all but shattered, and realizing that just because she was sober didn't mean everyone just forgave her. While it is a vampire story it's so much more than that.

    The writing was great. For those of you familiar with my reviews you know descriptions and I don't always get along... This had the perfect balance of description, enough to show you what was going on but not so much that it covered the story up. Great Job! Also the writing was realistic, the reactions and dialogs were actually plausible, and it didn't feel fake. If I had to give any criticism it would be that it was easy to figure out what was going to happen. Granted I didn't know the means by which the ending would come, but I had a pretty good grasp. Although there was one major thing that I didn't expect and since I don't want to give it away I'll just leave it at that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quenches Your Thirst

    Alrighty, I requested this book after I read the publisher info, but not clearly. I'm not really a vampire genre fan so when I read that Thirsty was about an alcoholic, I stopped reading the rest of the information.

    Imagine my surprise when I started reading the book and found out, "Yes, Mimi, there are vampires in this story." Shoot. I was really hoping it wouldn't be scary, ridiculous, or unable to connect a Christian theme.

    Thankfully this wasn't Ted Dekker scary, but it had it's creep factor. It definitely wasn't ridiculous with the story lines that were circulating through the story. And there was an underlying Christian theme, but it wasn't in your face.

    Nina heads home to Abbey Hills and is faced with the past that has brought her to where she is right now in her life. Heading home she brings her 17 yr old daughter, Meg, with her who is furious that she has to spend time with her alcoholic mother, whom she calls Nina.

    Nina is heading back to the town that drove her away in the first place. She will eventually have to face the parents she left without a word. There she will come face to face with the man who fathered her child. Will she be able to handle it all without turning to the bottle?

    Along with Nina's story is the turmoil we see in Meg. She loves her adopted dad and has never eally questioned who her biological father is. She is very angry and has every right to be. Nina's husband, Hunt, has loved her throughout their alcoholic marriage, but to protect their children finally divorced her.

    We also meet Markus at the beginning of the story. He is the vampire. He meets Nina when she's a teenager, but she has no recollection of that meeting. Markus on the other hand hasn't forgotten that brief moment of time they shared. He has been waiting for her. He has his own demons to face in this story.

    You can see the correlation between Markus's battle against his natural tendency to drink blood and Nina's battle against alcohol, which has pretty much consumed her life. She doesn't realize it when they meet up again, but their lives are inevitably entwined as Markus tries to connect with her emotionally.

    This isn't a story about conversion or salvation, but one about the strength of love and family. Yes, there's a vampire in the story, but it doesn't take away from it. I wasn't sure that I would care for it because of the vampire element, but I was sucked into the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    Book has plenty to enjoy, just don't compare it to Twilight

    Thirsty by Tracey Bateman is not exactly Twilight for Christians. Nina Parker is struggling with her newfound sobriety after years of alcohol abuse that has destroyed her family. Divorced and without custody of her two children, she returns to the hometown she abandoned seventeen years ago. Daughter Meaghan is going with her, which doesn't please Meggie one bit, to help repair the damaged mother/daughter relationship. Their recovery is pushed to the back burner when a series of graphically brutal murders terrifies the town. Bateman meticulously renders the battle of an addict; Nina faces constant reminders of her disease, which run parallel to another character's addiction in the novel. I hope that this isn't the only book Bateman writes about Markus and his disease; it deserves a fuller treatment with explanation as to origin and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What Quenches your thirst?

    While reading this book I came across several reviews. Most of which are extreme opposites in their opinions. Some people were wanting a Christian Twilight, which I actually take offense to since I found so many Christian elements with in that story itself, but that is a conversation for another day. The only similarity here to that saga itself is the idea of a "vegetarian vampire", one who finds resentment in the idea of harming an innocent human. Other people think it is outrageous to the idea of having a Christian vampire novel, but the message behind the story is what makes it Christian. As in most things there are levels of evil within all of us that we must overcome. Be it something that we believe as from folklore or something that we know is passed down in our genetics, the importance of a lesson is learning from it and walking forward.

    There were some people who stated disappointment with this novel after having read other Tracey Bateman books. Well that is not my opinion and as an all you can not relate this to any book she has written in the past as it is entirely in a realm of it's own. I have also read reviews of people who were enthralled from page one and could not put it down or turn the pages fast enough. In my case, I definitely was not disappointed, but I was not fully captivated either. This story is good, the lesson underlying is deep, personal and important to read. I do think that the character of Markus could have been more. In saying that I am not sure if I mean more developed or more page time. I just feel that there is a lot more to his character than meets the page translation. To be honest it was about page 200 where I was truly intrigued and excited about the story, but it continued well and I overall liked it. My personal opinion is that there could have been more, but I am just not sure of what. Luckily, there will be more books to come from Tracey in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    More books like this please!

    I want to first start off by saying this is NOT a Christian vampire story. The vampire in this book is NOT a Christian.

    I have enjoyed Tracey's books in the past so I knew that I was going to enjoy the story. I was a bit worried though at how the vampire story was going to come into play. Would the vampires be real vampires or would they be vampire-like characters with addictive tendencies? Would they be Dracula type vampires or Twilight style vampires? Would this be a fantasy world or a realistic setting? There were many questions running through my head when I picked up the book.

    After putting down the book, my thought was that Tracey had done an extremely excellent job. The story skillfully blends a story about alcohol addiction and the dependency on the drink and what it does to a person's life. It shows how the yearning for one last drop can ruin a person's life forever and cause great damage to the relationships with people they love. Thus this is the same as what it's like for a vampire and the thirst for blood. Nina's alcohol addiction parallels Markus's vampire tendencies and the two tend to circle around each other like vultures. Markus is a real vampire who is out for blood and there's nothing fake at all about him. The place where the story takes places gives off a creepy feeling. I kept picturing lots of fog everywhere. It's a good place to set the story in. I was happy with the ending of the story, there is no "vampire conversion" scene thankfully.

    If there's any problems I had with the book, it's the switching in narration without warning. The story goes from Nina's first person past recollections like a diary, then switches to third person telling the current story and then goes to Hunt's first person recollections. The problem lies in that it's never told that it's Hunt's talking in first person, it abruptly changed and it took me a while to figure out who was doing the talking. Plus while, Nina's first person is written in italicized font, there's no change in Hunt's and looks like it's part of the regular story. It was just confusing to read at times.

    Overall I really enjoyed this book. Vampires have never been a part of Christian fiction before. Mostly likely past authors had no idea how to use them or felt them to be so evil, that they didn't want them in their stories. This book does nothing to make a vampire seem good or Christian like so really it's just a story about good vs. evil. There's just more story in between to make a statement. I feel like both fans of Twilight and other vampire lit would enjoy this book as well as fans of Christian fiction. It is NOT a light read however. It's quite intense so I don't know if I would immediately pass this one right off to teens without reading it first. HIGHLY recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thirsty: Terrific New Christian Fiction

    Having read Tracey Bateman's sweet prairie romances I wasn't really sure what to expect with her latest release, Thirsty. It's a suspense and one of the main characters IS a vampire...completely the opposite of what I'm used to reading from Tracey! Being a lover of Christian fiction and paranormal/vampire fiction I was really excited to read this and I wasn't disappointed.

    For all those leery of the whole vampire, bloodsucking, type books this novel is NOT really one of those. There are some crime scene descriptions and a hostage type situation but nothing that I haven't read in other Christian suspense. That being said even if you're not a fan of Christian books, this is not at all preachy but rather a clean story of the life of a woman facing her past and all of the problems that came from life growing up as an alcoholic from a very young age.


    I'll admit I'm not a reader of a lot of suspense books and I'm not sure if this was really a suspense. It wasn't an edge of the seat type read. Nina's story was really touching and I was thoroughly entertained while reading Thirsty! I really liked, Hunt and Markus too and the ending was terrific. Nina's story is really sad, her struggle very realistic. Tracey did an excellent job with this, I would recommend Thirsty to all readers, guys included and am very much looking forward to Tracey's next book!

    I reviewed this as part of WaterBrook/Multnomahs Blogging For Books program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing Christian vampire thriller

    Veterinarian Nina Parker fled her hometown of Abbey Hills, Missouri two decades ago with no thoughts of going back. However that is before she became an alcoholic, a divorcee and a professional failure due to intoxicated negligence when she neutered a prize horse. Unemployed, sober and single she comes home accompanied by her angry teenage daughter Megan and her eight year old son Adam stays with her sister Jill the cop. Her spouse Hunt follows them.

    As she stays sober one day at a time but filled with remorse for what her drinking did to her family and her former employees, Nina is ignorant that she is being watched by a male who believes he has found his desire. The two and a half century old vampire Markus stalks his new neighbor with plans for her.

    THIRSTY is an intriguing Christian vampire thriller starring a broken remorseful heroine, her family, and the vampire who in many ways surprisingly steals the show. The story line focuses on second chances and redemption with a few clever spins refreshing the theme. Although shifts between the past and the present are confusing as the change seems abrupt, fans will enjoy Tracey Bateman's fine inspirational as readers will wonder whether a vampire can have a soul.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2