Customer Reviews for

Thirteen (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(310)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

GREAT!!

my friend showed me these books and i couldn't be any happier that she did the eleven twelve and thirteen are just amazing
I [heart] thirteen because even though it has the same comedy and thrilling-ness it is down rright awesome i love that it is very sophisticated a...
my friend showed me these books and i couldn't be any happier that she did the eleven twelve and thirteen are just amazing
I [heart] thirteen because even though it has the same comedy and thrilling-ness it is down rright awesome i love that it is very sophisticated and way more mature then the others
its is very emotional and actually made a few tears pop out Winnie Perry is growing up and knows great things now that are inspiring
Lauren Myracle has really donee fabu in this one
It captures the essense of a thirteen yeaar old perfectly

Also this book is way more interesting becuase whilee i reaad it i just couldnt stop so i kept reading and i noticed

i noticed it was 5 pm when i started reading was around 12 in the morning
I read for 5 hours non-stop and i loved it

Even when i had to eat i was making a sandwhich in one hand and reading in the other

Yes this book really awed me.

posted by Margarita_L on April 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE the Winnie Years series...I do or at least ten, eleven, a

I LOVE the Winnie Years series...I do or at least ten, eleven, and twelve. Winnie seemed very relatable to me then (except towards the end of twelve). Lars is kind of annoying and a douche bag. I also don't like how they break up and Winnie is complaining and then they ...
I LOVE the Winnie Years series...I do or at least ten, eleven, and twelve. Winnie seemed very relatable to me then (except towards the end of twelve). Lars is kind of annoying and a douche bag. I also don't like how they break up and Winnie is complaining and then they get back together and everything is all happy and cliche. Overall though Thirteen and Thirteen plus one were very downhill for me BIG DISAPOINTMENT!

posted by 5588288 on January 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT!!

    my friend showed me these books and i couldn't be any happier that she did the eleven twelve and thirteen are just amazing
    I [heart] thirteen because even though it has the same comedy and thrilling-ness it is down rright awesome i love that it is very sophisticated and way more mature then the others
    its is very emotional and actually made a few tears pop out Winnie Perry is growing up and knows great things now that are inspiring
    Lauren Myracle has really donee fabu in this one
    It captures the essense of a thirteen yeaar old perfectly

    Also this book is way more interesting becuase whilee i reaad it i just couldnt stop so i kept reading and i noticed

    i noticed it was 5 pm when i started reading was around 12 in the morning
    I read for 5 hours non-stop and i loved it

    Even when i had to eat i was making a sandwhich in one hand and reading in the other

    Yes this book really awed me.

    39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    good read for pre-teens

    my daughter liked it a lot. the book is written in plain language and it is pleasant story telling. it also addresses some issues that pre-teens might be uncomfortable talking to their moms about, so it is a nice way to introduce certains subjects, like first kiss, etc.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Luv winnie!

    This book is almost like a girls bible to growing up!It tells you the ups and downs of being a tween. I read this book when i first got my nook...two days later, the book was finished!I could not put this book down. There really wasn't anything inapropreite, just descriptive.I would recomend this book for girls who have already been through the teen cycle or going into it. Probably ages 11 to 14. Please take my advise! Just went through the cycle myself and I feel sertain about my choice!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love this book<3

    I am 12 and absolutley fell in love with this book. It is the best of all the Winnie years. If you are thinking about reading this- you definitley should. Hope this helps(:

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is great!

    I loved the book thirteen! This story was the final book of eleven, twelve, and thirteen. It is about a girl who is growing up and learning how to be a teenager. This book is hilarious because this girl doesn't want to become a teenager, but she is and she doesn't even know it. She starts to like a guy and eventually starts to date him and then she realizes that growing up isn't that bad. I liked them so much that I wish that Lauren Myracle would write another one. I have loved all of her books so far. I highly recommend this book.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    The Ten Years (Must Read Book)

    Thirteen is about this girl named, Winnie. Winnie is going through her teen years. She has a boyfriend and two friends that are totally different. This story starts on the month of her birthday and ends the month before her next birthday. It tells everything that happens to Winnie throughout these months.
    Winnie has hard times and exciting times throughout these months. This book starts with her teen years of her life. Winnie tries to do a lot with her boyfriend, but also a lot with her best friends. She is not a popular girl, at all. Winnie does have fun, though.
    Thirteen has many characters. Some of which are Winnie, Lars, Dinah, and Cinnamon. The setting is modern or present day. It takes place at Winnie¿s school and sometimes her house. This book is a very good book. It shows what could happen in a teen¿s life. Thirteen is an interesting book, also.
    Winnie is thirteen and in her teen years. She has a boyfriend, which you can tell she loves hanging out with. They have so much fun together. This book shows that you can have some hard times, but mostly happy times. Winnie does have a lot of fun during her life.
    Thirteen is a wonderful book. This book makes me want to compare my life to Winnies. I think part of what Winnie is like is just like me. I love how there is a book for each year of her life, starting at ten. Having the books like this makes me want to see what is going to happen the next year of her life. This book has to be my favorite book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    ?

    Is this book appropriate? I'm ten. Shld i read it ?

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Love these books

    They r amazing. I have re read them each 5 times at minimum. LOVE these books. I just hope LM would write a thirteen plus two. That would be awesome but amazing books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Read!

    This book is soooo good i love it so much the parts with lars are so powerful. I would not mind a book of all winnie and lars. But that is crazy because this book is amazing just how it is. The last sentence is one of the most powerful. All the endings are so powerful and make you crave for more winnie. Please read! You will thank ur lucky stars you did!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Thirteen

    This is a story about a thirteen year old girl named Winnie who is encountering many changes, such as her last year of middle school and gaining a new boyfriend named Lars, who doesn't know how to tell other girls he's already taken. I laughed and cringed along with Winnie throughout the whole book. The only reason I didn't give this book five stars is because it moves a little slowly, and I didn't like that Winnie forgives Lars for acting like a jerk toward her because... you'll just have to read the book to find out! I recommend this book to any girl twelve and older.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book is Truely AMAZiNG&lt;3!

    This book is very good and it is the best book for girls that are thirteen or becoming thirteen. I love it!&lt;333

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    I LOVE the Winnie Years series...I do or at least ten, eleven, a

    I LOVE the Winnie Years series...I do or at least ten, eleven, and twelve. Winnie seemed very relatable to me then (except towards the end of twelve). Lars is kind of annoying and a douche bag. I also don't like how they break up and Winnie is complaining and then they get back together and everything is all happy and cliche. Overall though Thirteen and Thirteen plus one were very downhill for me BIG DISAPOINTMENT!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Bad sample

    You see when you want a free sampole it is becuse you want to know about the book not just read a small paragrah that tells you hardly anything : (

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Coll

    This book is foe teens only

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Good but....

    Thogh this book was really good and romantic, i thought it might not be appropriate for some people.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Such a great book!

    Read these books if you really need advice when you are growing up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    ok

    it waz unrealistic but entertaining

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrificul

    This book totally helps you with middle school and boyfriends. Winnie gets a boyfriend and has to learn to trust him. She also makes some friends. If you need some advice or entertainment READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    One of the best books I've ever read!

    If your 13 years old, this is a great book for you. I absolutely love the Winnie Years Series of books. I have read them all according to my age and I have been sucked into every book. I just finished Thirteen yesterday, and I loved it so much that it only took me a week to read! The juciest book is Twelve, but Thirteen is just as terrific! I highly, highly, highly recommend this book. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Free Sample

    The free sample is less than 60 words, do not purchase the free sample!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21