Customer Reviews for

Thirteen Hours (Benny Griessel Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Hard to put down

    My wife got this for me because I lived in Capetown for 3 years, many years ago. I thought this was an excellent mystery and enjoyed it greatly and found it hard to put down. It had interesting characters from all racial groups in the country and I plan to read more of Deon's work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Outstanding, couldn't be improved.

    Thirteen Hours is a superb book set in South Africa, which gives it a flavor unlike any other I have enjoyed. The action is non-stop, and the suspense is nerve wracking. The character development is also outstanding. I will be reading all of Deon MEyer's books over the next few months.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Good book!

    This was a pretty good book for free. I enjoyed it. The story kept a good pace going and you wanted to keep reading to see what was gonna happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Really Liked it

    Kept me on the edge while I read it. If you like cop shows you'll like this.
    Great character development. Left me wondering about them once the book was done. Have no desire to visit but loved reading about South Africa.

    Next I read his book Blood Safari, Like it even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    I would recommend this as a good read, an idea of security measures

    This is a free flowing story includes how our President is protected. Even though it is fiction, it may have a touch of reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Excellent quick read, draws you into Cape Town!

    Very good book, suspense, thriller and the characters are very likable and interesting especially captain Greisel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Race Against Time

    Post-Apartheid South Africa has undergone many traumatic changes. But for homicide detective Benny Griessel, nothing much changes except for the murder victims, the politics, unsettled race relations and his own personal problems. Benny is saddled with “mentoring” newly promoted black, or “colored,” detectives. Of course, he is the only experienced white.

    The plot involves two murders and a kidnapping, each a potential PR disaster for the SA government. It is up to Benny and his untested troops to save a captive American girl who witnessed the murder of her fellow tourist. Meanwhile, a well-known music executive is found shot in his home with his pistol lying at his feet, his alcoholic wife asleep in a chair.

    Deon Meyer has written six novels and “Thirteen Hours” is probably the best (not taking anything away from its predecessors). It is taut, moving and deeply memorable, and is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great book - I will buy more from Deon Meyer

    I really enjoyed this book after reading the free friday nook book. I had to order this one to see if Deon Meyer would become one of my favorite authors and now I think he will! I really enjoyed learning some of the African language and use of words and how the country is still in turmoil! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    not recommended

    very hard to follow no chapters to change and he goes from one part to another with out any introductions. the use of the language of Africa is by far the hardest to follow. the listing in the back of the book after done with the book not helpful at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Great Book, suspenseful and fast paced

    It's so great to find an inexpensive book that reads better than a New York Times Best Seller! Is that because he is writing in South Africa as opposed to being American? Deon Meyer's got a great knack for telling a story and setting a scene. I was on the edge of my seat until I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2