Customer Reviews for

Thirteen Moons

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

charles frazier does it again

Cold Mountain is still one of my very favorite books, after 10 years and many many books read. It remains the only book ive read where apon comming to its end I threw the book across the room and openly and auditably cussed the author. It riped my heart to shreds. I eve...
Cold Mountain is still one of my very favorite books, after 10 years and many many books read. It remains the only book ive read where apon comming to its end I threw the book across the room and openly and auditably cussed the author. It riped my heart to shreds. I even thought about writing the author to complain about what seemed to be his total disregard for the emotions and heartache of one of his readers. I then went outside and contemplated the book in full. I came to the conclusion that raw and powerful emotions created by his wonderful piece of fiction instead proved to me how beautyful a book this really was.... Anyway, I went into reading Thirteen Moons with a mind determined not to compare this new book with Cold Mtn. And I was not let down one bit. This was another book that will go on my top shelf - books that are the most cherished - with haste. I loved it. Wonderful Characters and some of the most beautyful language Ive come across in modern lit. Read the book.

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cold Mountain fan

I'm one of the biggest Cold Mountain fans that I know of. I even visited Asheville, N.C. and the Cold Mountain vicinity. I waited for years for this novel and was expecting greatness only to be completely let down. The imagery is still stunning, but the characters an...
I'm one of the biggest Cold Mountain fans that I know of. I even visited Asheville, N.C. and the Cold Mountain vicinity. I waited for years for this novel and was expecting greatness only to be completely let down. The imagery is still stunning, but the characters and story line left me cold. How did Will develop such an inflated image of himself? I could never really understand what he did to deserve his fabulous titles and honors. I can suspend belief for the sake of a story as much as anyone, but his life never once touched an emotional chord because of the unbelievability and lack of real character development. The historical aspect of the relocation of the local Native Americans and the so called reconstruction era was tragic and very enlightening. Wouldn't recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    charles frazier does it again

    Cold Mountain is still one of my very favorite books, after 10 years and many many books read. It remains the only book ive read where apon comming to its end I threw the book across the room and openly and auditably cussed the author. It riped my heart to shreds. I even thought about writing the author to complain about what seemed to be his total disregard for the emotions and heartache of one of his readers. I then went outside and contemplated the book in full. I came to the conclusion that raw and powerful emotions created by his wonderful piece of fiction instead proved to me how beautyful a book this really was.... Anyway, I went into reading Thirteen Moons with a mind determined not to compare this new book with Cold Mtn. And I was not let down one bit. This was another book that will go on my top shelf - books that are the most cherished - with haste. I loved it. Wonderful Characters and some of the most beautyful language Ive come across in modern lit. Read the book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    I traveled through this novel with the author

    I could feel the story like I was there to see, taste, and breathe in the smells from campfire to death, feel the pain from the history the Native Americans indured from their removal from their homelands. This novel had life and death, love and hate, and survival brusting forth. Looking for a great novel....read this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    To Echo: Not Cold Mountain

    Thirteen Moons is, to echo a previous reviewer, not a carbon copy of Frazier's first novel. The biggest difference to me was this: When I read CM, I literally could not put it down. I read until I slept from fatigue. With TM, I enjoyed it, but it didn't keep me from sticking to my normal schedule. Some have said here that CM took a few pages to warm up to the story, and I couldn't disagree more. From the time Inman walks out of the hospital, I was hooked on the mystery of where he was going and how he would get there. With TM, however, it took me a few chapters to gain any interest, and were this not a book by the masterful Charles Frazier, I probably would have given it up. There is no literal path for the protagonist of TM to walk, nor destination for him to reach. That actual journey is taken by the Cherokee, and of that story in this book we read none. Will Cooper's destination, while he does spend his life traveling the country, is not one to be reached by on foot or horseback, his journey is the story of how he started out an orphan and became a chief. This book, to me, is like reading the Biblical book of Eccleciastes, in which the author comes to the end of his spectacular life and realizes it has been for naught, he has gained nothing. Will's resignation to abandonment and hopelessness feels identical.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    Beautiful imagery

    I enjoyed every word of this beautifully descriptive novel. I didn't want it to end. I could feel the dampness of the mountains, hear the birds, smell the woods.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Cold Mountain fan

    I'm one of the biggest Cold Mountain fans that I know of. I even visited Asheville, N.C. and the Cold Mountain vicinity. I waited for years for this novel and was expecting greatness only to be completely let down. The imagery is still stunning, but the characters and story line left me cold. How did Will develop such an inflated image of himself? I could never really understand what he did to deserve his fabulous titles and honors. I can suspend belief for the sake of a story as much as anyone, but his life never once touched an emotional chord because of the unbelievability and lack of real character development. The historical aspect of the relocation of the local Native Americans and the so called reconstruction era was tragic and very enlightening. Wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    A Mere Ridge Compared to 'The Mountain'

    First, as always, the disclaimer. I am a regional author (Suomalaiset: People of the Marsh ISBN 0972005064) and, like all authors, prone to fighting fits of envy. So, take what I am about to write with a grain of salt. I loved 'Cold Mountain'. Loved the premise,the historical truth, the characters, the setting, and the writing. I looked forward to the much hyped second effort by Mr. Frazier. The good news is that his writing is still exemplary. By that, I mean the man certainly knows how to turn a phrase. But that's about all I can say, in terms of positives, about this effort. The plot seems overblown and quite frankly, totally preposterous. The main character, Will, is thrown into wars, and disasters, and inclement weather, and every other kind of malady, only to survive, essentially unchanged and unscathed, while all those around him fall or fail. His ability to amass a fortune and hundreds of thousands of acres of land seems, given his humble beginnings, to strain even my vivid imagination. The descriptions of the landscape are lovely but lost in a plot that has no point. The first quarter of the book, the beginnings of a love affair between Will and Claire, the love of Will's life, has promise. Then, for the greater part of half of the novel, we are immersed endlessly in tedium surrounding Will and his adopted Indian tribe, the only point of which seems is to convince us that Will's greed isn't selfish, but done for the good his Red Brothers and Sisters. Far too late, and in a strained and surrealistic manner, the story comes back to Will and Claire. But by then, my patience was worn thin and the return to the real story, the interpersonal struggle between the lovers, had lost its appeal. Two stars might be a little light but that's how I see it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Step Into the Chilling Past

    Frazier does a wonderful job of digging into the interior of a white man who was rasied Cherokee. He becomes an Everyman to us in his quest for wisdom, love, land and honor. The best section is on the Cherokee Trail of Tears. Another moving account of the Trail of Tears is WALKING THE TRAIL by Jerry Ellis, the first person in modern history to walk the 900 mile route of the Trail. That book was nominated for a Pulitzer and National Book Award and is required reading in some US high schools and colleges.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Snooki

    I gtg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Lindsay

    Ok res 5..illl be there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    To shel by from sophia

    Are u talking on here too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Starry

    &hearts &spades &infin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Swagkit

    In rl shes older by a year shes 13 shes pouring water on me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Rockstar

    :) great. I gtg bbl ...you can go with Icestatic to camp. -&#8476&#9390

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Jadeheart

    Is on!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Honeykit

    Sleeps.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Medow

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Thunderlark

    She dips her head respectively to Lightglow. "Nice to meet you. Whats wrong?" She focuses on Ninjastar again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Spiritstar to ninjastorm

    So who did you pick as your mate?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Boring.

    I made myself finish it because the author's first book was so well received. The story could have been told in 1/3 of the amount of pages. It was an interesting time in U.S. history told by an interesting hero - just went on too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Alex

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5