BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thirteen Plus One

Average Rating 4.5
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(231)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

SO FUNNY- GREAT BOOK

Thirteen Plus One is the funniest of all the Winnie Years Series so far. There is a lot of changes to the characters, but nothing that changes drasticly, and we understand Winnie's feelings much better. Baby Mags is here, so Winnie, Ty, and Sandra show their nurturing s...
Thirteen Plus One is the funniest of all the Winnie Years Series so far. There is a lot of changes to the characters, but nothing that changes drasticly, and we understand Winnie's feelings much better. Baby Mags is here, so Winnie, Ty, and Sandra show their nurturing sides, and everyone is growing up. Dinah finnaly starts growing up (a little) and Cinnamon shows her feelings for males (horrible). I don't want to give away the story, but this book is full of laugh-until-your-sides-hurt funniness, sea-turtles, fork-buns, black widows, shoplifting, penguins, cupcakes, hot guys who try to make girls cheat on their boyfriends, and friendship. READ ON!!!!!!!

posted by AnimalLoverAR on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

If I hadn't read Eleven, Twelve, and Thirteen before this book, I'd say that Thirteen Plus One is awesome. But in comparison to these three books before it, Thirteen Plus One was just so ... weak. Winnie had far much more energy than usual, her older, grumpy sister Sand...
If I hadn't read Eleven, Twelve, and Thirteen before this book, I'd say that Thirteen Plus One is awesome. But in comparison to these three books before it, Thirteen Plus One was just so ... weak. Winnie had far much more energy than usual, her older, grumpy sister Sandra was no longer grumpy, and Dinah just wasn't Dinah anymore. In the older books, Winnie was laid-back more, and her sister was grumpy and OCCASIONALLY nice, plus Dinah was always the same sweet girl. I felt like I was reading a whole different story when I read Thirteen Plus One, what with the character changes and the overall weak plot. And don't get me started with the whole penguin business! Eleven, Twelve, and Thirteen were a thousand times better than Thirteen Plus One, how many times do I have to say that? I really feel like Lauren Myracle didn't put much thought into this one, and I was pretty disappointed after reading this--I wasted my money and my time. In my opinion, you don't need this book in the series at all, so you can just stop reading the series after you finish Thirteen.

posted by 2620968 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SO FUNNY- GREAT BOOK

    Thirteen Plus One is the funniest of all the Winnie Years Series so far. There is a lot of changes to the characters, but nothing that changes drasticly, and we understand Winnie's feelings much better. Baby Mags is here, so Winnie, Ty, and Sandra show their nurturing sides, and everyone is growing up. Dinah finnaly starts growing up (a little) and Cinnamon shows her feelings for males (horrible). I don't want to give away the story, but this book is full of laugh-until-your-sides-hurt funniness, sea-turtles, fork-buns, black widows, shoplifting, penguins, cupcakes, hot guys who try to make girls cheat on their boyfriends, and friendship. READ ON!!!!!!!

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Disappointment

    If I hadn't read Eleven, Twelve, and Thirteen before this book, I'd say that Thirteen Plus One is awesome. But in comparison to these three books before it, Thirteen Plus One was just so ... weak. Winnie had far much more energy than usual, her older, grumpy sister Sandra was no longer grumpy, and Dinah just wasn't Dinah anymore. In the older books, Winnie was laid-back more, and her sister was grumpy and OCCASIONALLY nice, plus Dinah was always the same sweet girl. I felt like I was reading a whole different story when I read Thirteen Plus One, what with the character changes and the overall weak plot. And don't get me started with the whole penguin business! Eleven, Twelve, and Thirteen were a thousand times better than Thirteen Plus One, how many times do I have to say that? I really feel like Lauren Myracle didn't put much thought into this one, and I was pretty disappointed after reading this--I wasted my money and my time. In my opinion, you don't need this book in the series at all, so you can just stop reading the series after you finish Thirteen.

    21 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Great book... but could be better

    I really enjoyed the Winnie years series... but i didn't love this book as much as the others. For one thing, the other books had a chapter representing each month, which i thought was very clever and helped me visualize the setting and date better. Also, the whole penguin thing was a chip off of writer's block. The thing about Dinah stealing... that was just not Dinah. I really wanted to be able to see Winnie go into high school and have it end the way it did. I feel that this book was to exaggerated. Sandra was not that nice to Winnie in the other books. Dinah was never a bad girl. Winnie and Lars were never that deeply in love. Your probably thinking... should i read this? Well, I'd
    say give it a try! You may enjoy more than i did.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    AWesome book!read it

    this series is the best i have read. i love them so much i have everyone. I lov lauren myracles books. i think this book is good for the ages of 10,11,12 and if they want to 13 and 14.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWSOMNESS!

    I cant wait to read this book, Iv read 11 12 and 13 but I didnt hear about this book till after iv read Peace love and baby ducks(Witch was awsome) And I was so excited!!!! Cuz the winnie years are my ultement FAVE!!! LOVE YOU LAUREN MYRACLE!! your the only one I read and when you dont have anymore books left; I just dont know what ill do...
    -Alissa, 11 year old.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Best Books Ever

    I loved Eleven, Twelve, and Thirteen! I'm sure I'll love this book too!!! I am super excited!

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    O

    The books and the seriez r fantastic they totally rock! I dont get at the end, for those of u who read the book know wat im talking about, it needs another book iwant to know wat happens nxt, i feel like it still needs ... something!!! At the end i didnt get it, it was like "okay, thats the end of the book/series and there is more waiting till the nxt book" but it wasnt like becayse theres NO nxt book so this is it, when i got to the last page i thought they robbed me but i figured no this cant be possible
    Myracle: plz make a nxt book i felt like thiw book kinda sucked so umm ya winnnie entering hs and THATS IT???!!! srry but u really need another book or when everyone is finishe with the book they will feel dissapointed even though it was a good book it needed more it needs more so ya u need another book in the series kkz?
    Peace out
    -CC

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    TBBE

    TBBE means the best book ever

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    ADDICTED TO THIS SERIES!

    I love this series so muc. Out of al, of them, this is by far one of the best. You will probably love it too!!!!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I can't wait!!

    OMG I luv Lauren Myracle's books. I hope this one is just as great.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    "Thirteen Plus One" is awesome.

    "Thirteen Plus One" is funny and tottaly great.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Ehh..

    I did like the whole series before, but I kind of feel like the books give an unrealistic expectation for real life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Like

    I like it but it is NOT the best book in the series

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Adorable!

    These are really entertaining books. I read the whole Winnie Years series, and I adore them. As a thirteen year old myself, I can relate to my stories and not feel so embaressed when I think about them again, or share tge story with my peers. A big 2 thumbs up and 5 stars for a story about love, friendship, and family!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    I love this book

    It is an awesome book! I love this and I want a FIFTEEN book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Anouymous82

    Awesome book get it because its a very interesting book about a girl.Who is in middle school she is having fun with her two best friends.Loved this book now give aways and dont say aww.Awesome book.The End

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Very good

    All of her books are great!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Tehe best book ever

    I wish lauren myracle would make another book of winnie called fifteen!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Awsome

    I started from ten to this book! It's awsome!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    A fan of the winnie series

    Dear lauren myracle,
    Please oh please make more books they are very relatable to me and I want to read more of them for good advice! What would be even better would be a movie i would definetly watch it! I love your winnie series lots!:)
    Sincerely, a fan of the winnie series
    P.S. i love the winnie series i highly recommend it!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18