Customer Reviews for

Thirteen Reasons Why

Average Rating 4.5
( 4194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2938)

4 Star

(694)

3 Star

(271)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(166)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

455 out of 481 people found this review helpful.

Thirteen Reasons Why You Should Read This Book

1. It's wonderfully written
2. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time
3. You'll fall in love with the characters
4. You'll hate the antagonists of the book
5. At the end, you'll be cheering for Clay
6. At the end, you'll be crying for Hannah
7. It'l...
1. It's wonderfully written
2. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time
3. You'll fall in love with the characters
4. You'll hate the antagonists of the book
5. At the end, you'll be cheering for Clay
6. At the end, you'll be crying for Hannah
7. It'll give you a greater understanding of teenage suicide
8. It's inspiring
9. It's unforgettable
10. At the end you'll be hungry for more
11. It's original and, well, quite awesome
12. You won't find books like this often
13. What are you doing reading reviews? Read the freakin' BOOK already!

posted by twilight_fanatic_01 on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

78 out of 199 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

I think I was the rare person who did NOT love Thirteen Reasons Why. Unlike much of the excellent teen fiction that is being written, Thirteen Reasons Why rang false to me. The characters seemed hollow and like caricatures of real teenagers. The teens in the story acted...
I think I was the rare person who did NOT love Thirteen Reasons Why. Unlike much of the excellent teen fiction that is being written, Thirteen Reasons Why rang false to me. The characters seemed hollow and like caricatures of real teenagers. The teens in the story acted like an adult's idea of how teenagers act. Worst of all, there is no sympathy to be found for the subject of the book, Hannah Baker, who killed herself and left behind tapes detailing why for those people who made her miserable. She came off perhaps worst of all the characters in the boo -- she seems petty and vindictive, having left tapes telling people that she killed herself because of them. We at least get to witness some of these characters experiencing remorse.

Perhaps the flattening of Hannah Baker's character is an affect of the fact that she is already dead when the book begins. We only know of her what she recorded on these tapes, but what is there isn't flattering. Hannah is the ultimate passive-aggressive, not really doing anything to help her cause. This book didn't make me feel anything but annoyance, and I would recommend many other teen titles before this one.

posted by SamGNA on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Blank

    No, just no. All that it was about was blaming people to justify an action. She could have helped herself but didn't. I found it annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Horrid I read this book and it seemed to drag on. Forever. i fin

    Horrid
    I read this book and it seemed to drag on. Forever. i finally put it down and ignored it for like a week and then took it back. Dont waste the time...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I don't really like this book, out of all the books I have read,

    I don't really like this book, out of all the books I have read, this book is probably those whom doesn't deserve its place in the bestsellers'. The most of why I dislike it is because ofits ending. It seems to me as if the author wrote the ending and the last few reasons in a rush. The last few reasons simply didn't convince me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I did not enjoy this book at all. All of my friends were saying

    I did not enjoy this book at all. All of my friends were saying that this was the best book they haver ever read, so I checked it out. The reviews were mostly good, so I decided to buy and read it. Worst decission ever made in reading history. The book was slow. When I was still at the third tape I was bored to death. I was very dissapointed because my expectation were so high. So, if you decide to read it, good luck. I hope you have a better experience reading it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Definitely recommended

    I would recommend this book to anyone in high school. It shows the possible impact one has on their peers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I know we are meant to have respect for the dead, so let's talk

    I know we are meant to have respect for the dead, so let's talk about the LIFE one of the main characters, Hannah -- the girl who committed suicide.

    It came across (the entire 65% of the novel I forced myself to read up to) that this girl took everything in the wrong way & misinterpreted things, thinking she was centre of attention. When her misplaced thoughts got too much, she killed herself. It was very hard for me to sympathise with this character. She picked on people who did nothing wrong so they'd feel guilty as the cause for her death. She made sure the entire world would hate these people who did nothing wrong to her and she believed that either indirectly or purposely they set her up to ruin her life.

    I give this novel two stars because Jay Asher is a superb writer, I loved reading the *writing* but the story let down his talent. I could have hated a minor character, but hating 1/2 of the two narrators? It made reading a struggle. I am so sad because I was really looking forward to this type of story.

    I felt like the main character was trying to make everything seem targeted to her in "poor girl" attitude. I didn't buy her story that she saw the events that occurred as targeted at her. She should have had some respect for others and realised you can't always get your way, people make jokes and they don't have cruel intentions always, so don't twist them to make them look bad for your benefit (in this case, a valid excuse for killing herself).

    Lots of others connected with this novel and loved it. I hope you do too. Just not for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Sample

    The sample does not even get to the first chapter! At least give us the first chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    By anonymous August 25, 2012

    Great book! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Pretty close to the worst book I've ever read

    So, my mom had this book and let me read it when I had read about it online. I started it, and couldn't even finish the 3rd tape. I was not impressed with the reasons Hannah had for killing herself. A boy touches her butt, and she does NOTHING? Heck, I'd turn around and pummel the heck out of him! I got so bored that I just flipped ahead to see if Hannah got better reasons for suicide. NOPE! She blames a boy as one reason, when it was HER who stopped kissing him, not him who cut her off! Seriously, this girl needs to get over herself and get an idea of why other girls have killed themselves. Was Hannah bullied into submission? Was she--sorry--raped? Was she told by a boyfriend that she was worthless or ugly? Was she abused in any way? The answer to all these qiestions is a BIG--FAT--NO. She spoke to a counselor, who did his absolute best to help her, and then she walked out on him after 5 minutes. People can say that this book is great, but I was not impressed. The 2nd star was given because the writing wasn't bad. That's it. If you must read it, get it from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    I Dont even know?

    I started reading this book and i thought it would be good and keep you on the edge of your seatlike everybody else says, but honestly its not that great of book. I even just stopped reading it and started The Hunger Games. (Which by the way was amazing) So i really wouldnt recomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Sample

    Dont get the sample its nothing about the book only some

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Are you cereal?

    I wish the sample was longer...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    It would depend on what you're looking for

    I would say that this book is a decent read for teens who need a little push in a "nicer" direction, but i would say that would be about it. It has no actual depth in the entire book. I would hate to just say that no one would really kill themselves for the same reasons that the main character did (because someone just might) but I would describe the girl as very petty. Going from happy go lucky to spiraling down into deep depression in a matter of what seemed like seconds....and the fact that it seems like she attracted so much negative attention and then any of the positive attention she got suddenly turned negative...I don't know...We got no real look into her mind as to how the depression got so bad or why she was so adamant about killing herself. It was almost emotionless. I didn't read it and feel any kind of way but disappointed. It actually made me kind of mad. I wonder how it would make someone SERIOUSLY regret bullying someone, spreading rumors, or just not being a support system for a friend. The people in the book who were innocent of giving her any reasons were deemed villains. That was unfair. True, people who are depressed do see things a little more extreme but the girl didn't even genuinely seem depressed.I once again use the word petty and I almost want to say selfish (which is a stereotype as it is). WHY WHY WHY? (sorry) Asher's idea was genius ,to be honest. A book like this would be powerful if executed properly. It would be a good read for younger people who act as though their actions have no consequences. But I read it and thought "unbelievable." I read that a family member of his attempted suicide but failed; she did not tell him why she attempted the suicide though. I wonder if this book came from good inspiration but with no real life reasons, was left too much to the imagination...I definitely would not advise it for someone who really wanted to know about the thoughts of suicidal people. A autobiography or a detailed biography would do better. And if you are an ADULT, you will likely be disappointed. This is definitely geared towards younger readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Best Book I've ever read

    This book is the best book I've ever read. Now that I'm done with it, I keep looking for a book that will at least come close to 13 Reasons Why. The story is so moving!!!!!!!!!!!!! The impact of this book on me will last forever. Now, what are you doing reading reviews?????? Go read 13 Reasons Why!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    I liked the idea of the book, but the actual reasons she killed herself had me shaking my head. "Someone made fun of me? Better kill myself." Completely ridiculous. The whole thing was so RIDICULOUS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    ehh

    Since it wont let me read this book after purchasingbit i give it a 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    VERY highschool

    I thought it would be an amazing book, seems like it'd lead to amazing right? not really. I mean if you're struggling with wanting to commit suicide or know someone that is, it could be the book for you. and most likely if you're in highschool you'd be able to relate. But if not, like me, you may not be too fond of it. Not horrible because there WERE times i didnt want to stop reading but after those moments. I felt lost again. sorry but not a fave of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Snowball effect? Yeah, of whininess.

    Wow, what a boring and pointless book. I like the concept, but the whole "And you're the reason you made me want to kill myself is _________" was ridiculous. It's called life: some people are jerks, some are nice. Grow up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Not as good as I thought...

    Well, it was different then any other book I've read and I couldnt stop but mostly because I hate not finishing a book. The 13 reasons Hannah gave were pretty pathetic. What she needed to do was man up and get over what people thought of her like a normal teenager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Dissapointed

    I was intriqued by the premise of this book and was anxious to read it. However, it just was not believable. I understand and appreciate the "moral" of the story, i just feel it wasn't delivered correctly. My family suffered through my brothers suicide many years ago and I have always been intersted in this subject since. This book had potential but fell WAY short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7